The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 11:03am
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,380
1. Defender slides in after shooter is airborne. Block.
2. The very last camera angle is the best evidence of an illegal screen. Defender leans forward slightly...initiates contact.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 11:12am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
1. Clearly a RA call that should have been a block. Not sure that I would have called a PC foul without the RA

2. I have no problem with the no-call. This was just the case of a bigger player being run into by a smaller player. I do not think McGary needs to lower his shoulder to cause that kind of contact.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
#1. Regarding the RA, but didn't someone recently state that only the initial position in the RA is disallowed. If moving to maintain position takes the player into the RA, they fine? If that is the case, he started out of the RA and shifted to maintain position into the RA. Maybe not an RA play. ff that is wrong, then it is a block by being in the RA. It was close but I think he was in the path before the shooter jumped too....so no block for that reason.

#2. Legal screen. He may have firmed up at contact but didn't throw his shoulder into the screened player.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
#1. Regarding the RA, but didn't someone recently state that only the initial position in the RA is disallowed. If moving to maintain position takes the player into the RA, they fine? If that is the case, he started out of the RA and shifted to maintain position into the RA. Maybe not an RA play. ff that is wrong, then it is a block by being in the RA. It was close but I think he was in the path before the shooter jumped too....so no block for that reason.
This was sent to NCAAW in December. I would assume it's the same for NCAAM:

A secondary defender can establish guarding position in the restricted area then can re-establish legal guarding position outside the restricted area before the ball handler gets to (them). After re-establishing a guarding position outside the restricted area, the defender can then guard the ball handler legally and take a charge either inside or outside the restricted area.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 01:12pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
This was sent to NCAAW in December. I would assume it's the same for NCAAM:
You would likely be assuming incorrectly. Not because it might not be sent, but many things stated by the NCAA do not get sent to the other side or gender.

It was like that issue with the mat being close to the floor. I have never seen that video but on this site.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
You would likely be assuming incorrectly. Not because it might not be sent, but many things stated by the NCAA do not get sent to the other side or gender.

It was like that issue with the mat being close to the floor. I have never seen that video but on this site.

Peace
Why does that not shock me? In a thread from last month someone thought you guys must have seen the traction mat video since the clip was taken from an NCAAM game!
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 01:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Why does that not shock me? In a thread from last month someone thought you guys must have seen the traction mat video since the clip was taken from an NCAAM game!
I cannot speak for what others see, but these things were rare in my experience. Then again I do not work D1 basketball either where the video came from.

But you do realize that both genders have their own committees and supervisors?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 25, 2013, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
#1. Regarding the RA, but didn't someone recently state that only the initial position in the RA is disallowed. If moving to maintain position takes the player into the RA, they fine? If that is the case, he started out of the RA and shifted to maintain position into the RA. Maybe not an RA play. ff that is wrong, then it is a block by being in the RA. It was close but I think he was in the path before the shooter jumped too....so no block for that reason.

#2. Legal screen. He may have firmed up at contact but didn't throw his shoulder into the screened player.
+1

I would add that in Play #1, we can't see the defender's left foot, and his right foot looks to be "just" outside the semi-circle. As for timing, I think the defender is just there. He buckles his right knee a bit, but he's not shifting after the shooter is airborne IMO
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memphis-Michigan State clips JetMetFan Basketball 6 Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:37pm
Indiana v. Michigan State Clips APG Basketball 43 Wed Feb 20, 2013 09:18pm
Too Many Ejection Clips gordon30307 Baseball 46 Mon Aug 10, 2009 02:16pm
Virginia Tech/Virginia refTN Basketball 13 Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1