The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 04:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Manhattan-Iona MAAC Final.

Iona leading by 5 gets TF for its subs running on court with 0.1 to go. Manhattan converts both.

Then Iona inbounds ball and game ends and Iona player decides to hang on Manahattans basket. Now officials, as I would be, were long gone but incredibly stupid acts by a team.

My first automatic pick in the brackets pool, Iona loss no matter who they play.
I'm confused.

Assuming some 'out of his mind' official somewhere makes this call......

If the game is over, by rule, how does this specific act even qualify as a post game T?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 05:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
I'm confused.

Assuming some 'out of his mind' official somewhere makes this call......

If the game is over, by rule, how does this specific act even qualify as a post game T?
NCAA 2-4-4
When all three officials leave the visual confines of the playing area at the end of the game, the officials’ jurisdiction has ended and the score has been approved.

combined with...

NCAA 10-6-1f
Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the officials’ jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to self or others.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 07:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
NCAA 2-4-4
When all three officials leave the visual confines of the playing area at the end of the game, the officials’ jurisdiction has ended and the score has been approved.

combined with...

NCAA 10-6-1f
Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the officials’ jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to self or others.
Maybe he was grasping the rim b/c he went to cut down the net and fans were underneath the basket.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
NCAA 2-4-4
When all three officials leave the visual confines of the playing area at the end of the game, the officials’ jurisdiction has ended and the score has been approved.

combined with...

NCAA 10-6-1f
Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the officials’ jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to self or others.
I guess what I'm implying is that (for any rule set) perhaps there should be some distinction between what's covered under the phrase "official's jurisdiction".....pre-game, during the game, and post game.

Yes, you'd have to be a complete knucklehead to call it, but there's a knucklehead aspect of the rules that allow you to do it.

Last edited by KJUmp; Tue Mar 12, 2013 at 10:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 10:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
I guess what I'm implying is that (for any rule set) perhaps there should be some distinction between what's covered under the phrase "official's jurisdiction".....pre-game, during the game, and post game.

Yes, you'd have to be a complete knucklehead to call it, but there's a knucklehead aspect of the rules that allow you to do it.
It's defined already.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
It's defined already.
Of course it is.
You're missing my point....which is to take out the part of the rule that would give some OOO the authority to call a T for a player grasping the rim AFTER the game is over.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 03:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Of course it is.
You're missing my point....which is to take out the part of the rule that would give some OOO the authority to call a T for a player grasping the rim AFTER the game is over.
You're right, I missed your point. But now that I caught it, I still disagree.

Because it keeps coaches from being able to get stupid and say whatever they want after the final horn. It happens occasionally anyway. I'd rather leave the rule and allow a few OOOs to screw up than take it out and allow every howler monkey a free pass after the final horn. The OOOs are going to screw up anyway.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
You're right, I missed your point. But now that I caught it, I still disagree.

Because it keeps coaches from being able to get stupid and say whatever they want after the final horn.
That part needs to be there. I was only referring to the rim grasping part.

Bob made the best point in his post when he referenced a player doing it to taunt the opposing team after the horn sounded.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Of course it is.
You're missing my point....which is to take out the part of the rule that would give some OOO the authority to call a T for a player grasping the rim AFTER the game is over.
I still like the rule. I'm (in theory) more likely to call it if the hang is to taunt than I am if the hang is to celebrate.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I still like the rule. I'm (in theory) more likely to call it if the hang is to taunt than I am if the hang is to celebrate.
Agree, thats a point I had not considered.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2013, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
I'm confused.

Assuming some 'out of his mind' official somewhere makes this call......

If the game is over, by rule, how does this specific act even qualify as a post game T?
Because there might be another T, and then the FTs would be shot.

(Not suggesting that the call would be "correct for the game" as described in the OP)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yep, I'm dumb... grantsrc Football 1 Sat Oct 01, 2005 04:26pm
Dumb Question (how to use Forum)...wait, education...no dumb Qs Luv4Asian8 Basketball 17 Fri Sep 19, 2003 09:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1