![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I initially disagreed with the ruling of Situation 10. However, when I heard from Peter and Art, I changed my mind. I'm not trying to convince you. |
|
|||
|
Doesn't have backcourt status at the time of the violation? That's an easy one.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That is a violation while the ball has FC status. And it is not a stretch at all. You're confusing the OOB rules with backcourt rules. They are not not the same. Causing the ball to be OOB is a violation. Causing the ball to have backcourt status is nothing. The primary part of the backcourt rule that is ignored by this interpretation is that the backcourt rule defines an order of events that are needed to have a violation. To have a violation, A must be the last to touch BEFORE it gains backcourt status and the first to touch AFTER it gains backcourt status (regardless of what the status is at the time of each touch). Before and After are not the same as simultaneous.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Feb 26, 2013 at 01:50pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
My take on the rule is FAR from unique and that was the way it was called for decades before someone pulled situation 10 out of thin air. The situation just flat out contradicts the rule. It wouldn't be the first time someone in high places made a ruling contrary to the actual rules. Usually, they either admit their error or change the rule to make themselves correct. If they wanted to change the rule to mean that, they should rewrite the rule, not write a situation that disagrees with the rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Ding ding ding. And that is why this interp is just plain stupid (IMHO) per the written rules in both books. You could change Adam's play here and say A1, holding the ball in the FC near the division line throws a pass that is deflected by B1 who is standing in the backcourt near the division line, and the ball is then caught in the air from the deflection by any A player. That, by the interp's logic, should also be a BC violation. It shouldn't be, though, per the written rules of what's required for BC violations.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Back Court Violation? | shishstripes | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 23, 2009 05:59pm |
| back court violation | tag46176 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Nov 02, 2008 03:12am |
| yet another back court violation | sny1120 | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:08pm |
| Back court violation?? | mwalker13004 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jan 06, 2004 03:22pm |
| Back court Violation? | jerrydon | Basketball | 5 | Tue May 01, 2001 05:43pm |