The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Caught Up in the Moment? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94104-caught-up-moment.html)

Rob1968 Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:04am

OK, I'll bite. . .
 
Why is it not a try?

APG Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 880611)
Why is it not a try?

What's the definition of a try?

Rob1968 Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:15am

Colour blind
 
Oh, my gosh! That's what I get for staying-up/getting-up so late!

Sharpshooternes Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 880513)
This play triggered a disappointing discussion for me locally. :(

Care to elaborate?

Adam Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:57am

Not publicly.

jdd1172 Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:41pm

I see the definition of try 4-41-2, but if you look at scoring 5-2-2 and 5-2-3 then it would count. A1 gets the shot off before the shot clock violation then B1 rebounds and puts it back in...basket counts.

What is the difference A1 shoots and misses then B1 trys to rebound but taps it in his own goal. Do you wave off the basket or count it?

Adam Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdd1172 (Post 880948)
I see the definition of try 4-41-2, but if you look at scoring 5-2-2 and 5-2-3 then it would count. A1 gets the shot off before the shot clock violation then B1 rebounds and puts it back in...basket counts.

What is the difference A1 shoots and misses then B1 trys to rebound but taps it in his own goal. Do you wave off the basket or count it?

No, you would wave off that tip (assuming your situation involves time expiring after the ball is tipped but before it goes through the basket).

The part you need to look at is what makes the ball dead. The ball is dead when time expires, unless a try in in progress. 6-7-6 (exception)

jdd1172 Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 880951)
No, you would wave off that tip (assuming your situation involves time expiring after the ball is tipped but before it goes through the basket).

The part you need to look at is what makes the ball dead. The ball is dead when time expires, unless a try in in progress. 6-7-6 (exception)

To me it looks like B1's try was clearly in flight during the final horn sounding...i count the basket. 6-7-9a

Adam Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdd1172 (Post 880957)
To me it looks like B1's try was clearly in flight during the final horn sounding...i count the basket. 6-7-9a

It's not a try, as a try is an attempt to score "by throwing the ball into a team's own basket." 4-41-2 The exception doesn't apply, so the ball is dead.

MD Longhorn Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdd1172 (Post 880957)
To me it looks like B1's try was clearly in flight during the final horn sounding...i count the basket. 6-7-9a

Sure it was. It just wasn't a try. By definition, this is not a try... so the ball is dead the instant the horn sounds.

I suspect this referee was motivated by the "penalize stupidity wherever possible" mantra... it's just not possible here. Hope this got fixed by his partner.

Kind of sad that every single one of us (with one late exception) knew right away without looking it up that this is not a try, and had to pass through the basket before the buzzer to count... yet the guy getting paid big bucks for a televised game did not.

VaTerp Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 880960)
Kind of sad that every single one of us (with one late exception) knew right away without looking it up that this is not a try, and had to pass through the basket before the buzzer to count... yet the guy getting paid big bucks for a televised game did not.

What makes you think these officials were paid "big bucks" for this game or that the game was televised?

Looks like a JUCO or DIII game and depending on where it is, most likely is not anywhere near big bucks.

And I see nothing indicating the game is televised, which doesnt mean much either. I've done HS games televised on local access TV and guess what? They paid the same as all of the other varsity games I do.

I agree the officials should know the rules but not with your reasoning here. Officials should know the rules because it's our job, regardless of the level you are working.

jdd1172 Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 880960)
Sure it was. It just wasn't a try. By definition, this is not a try... so the ball is dead the instant the horn sounds.

I suspect this referee was motivated by the "penalize stupidity wherever possible" mantra... it's just not possible here. Hope this got fixed by his partner.

Kind of sad that every single one of us (with one late exception) knew right away without looking it up that this is not a try, and had to pass through the basket before the buzzer to count... yet the guy getting paid big bucks for a televised game did not.


I understand now. I am first year guy and still learning the ins and outs of the rule book. Thanks.

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 21, 2013 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdd1172 (Post 880963)
I understand now. I am first year guy and still learning the ins and outs of the rule book. Thanks.

Let's say that the player who "shot" that ball into the wrong basket, did so by releasing the ball behind the 3-point line, AND it went through the basket before the game clock buzzer sounded/light went on.

Are there points scored, and if so, how many?

letemplay Thu Feb 21, 2013 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 880962)
What makes you think these officials were paid "big bucks" for this game or that the game was televised?

Looks like a JUCO or DIII game and depending on where it is, most likely is not anywhere near big bucks.

And I see nothing indicating the game is televised, which doesnt mean much either. I've done HS games televised on local access TV and guess what? They paid the same as all of the other varsity games I do.

I agree the officials should know the rules but not with your reasoning here. Officials should know the rules because it's our job, regardless of the level you are working.

W&J on court..is this Washington and Jefferson a D3 in Pennsylvania?

jdd1172 Thu Feb 21, 2013 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 880964)
Let's say that the player who "shot" that ball into the wrong basket, did so by releasing the ball behind the 3-point line, AND it went through the basket before the game clock buzzer sounded/light went on.

Are there points scored, and if so, how many?

It would be 2 pts. (5-2)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1