The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Just getting back to the board guys. I have not made him aware of the case play. I am looking at my 2012-13 rule book, and I honestly do not have 10.6.1 (E). I have 10.6.1 (a,b,c), however nothing beyond that. Possibly that's the disconnect? I don't know. I'll dig a little deeper and see what I can find.

Certainly not looking for an argument here. It's obvious there are two different interpretations of this rule. Again, I have my NFHS casebook in front of me, and I do not have that 10.6.1 E scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
10.6.1 (E) has appeared in previous Case Books. One of those plays that appears, disappears, reappears. Still valid though, has nothing has changed with the NF rule interp.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2013, 07:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Inquiring Minds Want to Know ...

Caseplays appear, and then disappear, usually due to a rule change, or a lack of space in the casebook. I do not believe that there has been a rule change that changes the interpretation of the caseplay in question. Please copy and paste the caseplay, and send it to Mr. Webb. I'm sure that many of us would be very interested to hear his reasoning behind his interpretation, especially in regard to the previously published caseplay.

10.6.1 SITUATION E: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor.

RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down. (7-4-1, 2)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2013, 08:08am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Are we sure we have the right case number? There is no such case in the books for 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, or 2012-13.

Just where is that case from?
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Trip so cal lurker Football 14 Sat Dec 18, 2010 01:12pm
Let's take a trip.. ManInBlue Baseball 17 Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:59pm
2nd trip by coach ggk Baseball 11 Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:37am
U-Trip Balls Dukat Softball 6 Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:18am
Trip/or no trip? J_Biz Lacrosse 2 Mon May 14, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1