The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2013, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 37
Does the ball go to the defense, or the defense?? Need to settle a bet.

GJrHi game, I was lead and handed the ball off to an inbouder, stepped away and started a count. She slaps the ball and yells "GO", knocking the ball out of her own hand, bounces off the top of her foot and lands in bounds, where a defensive player recovers.
I let play go on, but my partner blew it dead, thinking that we had a bad hand off and the girl fumbled.
We gather and I explained what happened. He says "it cannot bounce out of bounds before it bounces in bounds, it is the defense ball." I say, it did not bounce out of bounds, it bounced off her foot and directly in bounds.
Still defenses ball. But Who was right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2013, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnyd View Post
GJrHi game, I was lead and handed the ball off to an inbouder, stepped away and started a count. She slaps the ball and yells "GO", knocking the ball out of her own hand, bounces off the top of her foot and lands in bounds, where a defensive player recovers.
I let play go on, but my partner blew it dead, thinking that we had a bad hand off and the girl fumbled.
We gather and I explained what happened. He says "it cannot bounce out of bounds before it bounces in bounds, it is the defense ball." I say, it did not bounce out of bounds, it bounced off her foot and directly in bounds.
Still defenses ball. But Who was right?
You were right, check out Billy's Most Misunderstood Rules:
"
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a throwin violation, not traveling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may “dribble” the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in, or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

9-2-2 makes you right too. Basically throwin needs to be passed directly onto the court.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2013, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Then, of course, there's the question "Why the heck was your partner watching a throw-in on your line?"
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2013, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,842
1. I would not call something like this directly in front of a partner because I wouldn't be looking there.
2. Based upon your description, there was an inadvertent whistle. Possession should be awarded to whichever team had control. That would be the throwing team if no player had yet gained control inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 07:42am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Silly Rabbit ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Then, of course, there's the question "Why the heck was your partner watching a throw-in on your line?"
How else could he call a five second throw in violation if the lead is not watching the throwin on his partner's line?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blocked Ball - Defense Question Texasbock Softball 4 Tue Feb 01, 2011 02:29pm
Ball contacts runner, defense shorthanded NCASAUmp Softball 27 Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:13pm
NFHS: defense slaps ball as it is being snapped Winkley Football 6 Mon Oct 01, 2007 08:20am
Defense kicking the ball IRISHMAFIA Softball 5 Mon Aug 12, 2002 06:45am
NCAA--Alternating Possession Rule when the Defense Causes Held Ball??? MREUROREF Basketball 10 Fri May 11, 2001 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1