![]() |
|
|
|||
You don't need player control in the frontcourt.
Though that is the way the rule is worded, that's not what the NFHS means, and you can see that in their Backcourt case plays. You need player control to have been established inbounds and a ball with frontcourt status. They really need to reword the rule. Very poorly done. |
|
|||
Misty Water Color Memories ...
Not back when the NFHS first adapted the three point shot. If, in the judgment of the official, it was indeed a "pass", then it would have counted as only two points. I don't recall that rule, or interpretation, lasting very long.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I think I'm counting that one.
I forwarded the clip to a friend and he says BC violation. Either way, it was a very poor pass attempt. And it was a very poor shot attempt. I think a question to ask is, "does intent have any factor in our ruling", or "does the the mere fact that it hit the backboard make it a shot"? I think we give the benefit of the doubt and hammer it home.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
My $0.02....
From the times on the clip it seems like there were about six seconds remaning at the start of the play and #3 released the ball with about four. From what I can tell, when #3 jumped into the air he was intending to pass the ball to #1. Take a look at his head/eyes. He's looking straight ahead until he's in mid-air then he changes to look at the goal. At some point it appears he realized #1 was covered and then launched the ball towards the goal. Now, am I going to be able to tell all this while I'm on the court? Possibly. If the C was even with the play he might've seen it. If I was on the court I most likely would've given #3 the benefit of the doubt and ruled he shot the ball, factoring in the time remaining and where he was when he released it.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 5-2-1. A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points.The fact that they list it as a 3rd option in addition to a try or tap implies that it is not actually a try or a tap. If it was, they would have said that a successful thrown ball is a try and therefore 3 points. But, they don't. It is just declared directly as 3 points without making it a try so none of the other element that related to be being a try come into play.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Feb 02, 2013 at 01:20pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Need help from the pros - Can the winner of the | kidclutch | Football | 36 | Thu Mar 15, 2007 06:50pm |
bracket winner? | xxssmen | Basketball | 8 | Tue Apr 06, 2004 05:08pm |
We have a winner!!! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Tue Apr 22, 2003 08:54pm |
And the Winner Is..... | rainmaker | Basketball | 7 | Thu Aug 29, 2002 03:15pm |