The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kentucky/Ole Miss Video Request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93795-kentucky-ole-miss-video-request.html)

Camron Rust Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:20pm

I thought that screen was illegal when it happened and I still do now after seeing the replays.

After seeing the replay on the rebound, non-traval, non-OOB, I think a foul was the right call. Blue-12 came into White-10's legs as he was coming down and caused him to fall. In the end, the right team got that ball, but it sure was an ugly way to get to the right result.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 875928)
I was also going to bring this up...I also think the lead needs to get this play. Not sure what he was concentrating on..

The other blue player in his area when the play started was cutting across the lane and being defended. He was watching this (and that, in and of itself, is not wrong. That player might have been held and maybe the play was a screen to the other side and a swing pass for a 3-point shot)

zm1283 Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 875928)
I was also going to bring this up...I also think the lead needs to get this play. Not sure what he was concentrating on.

On play two, I have an undercut by the defender.

I'm with you.

I have an illegal screen on the first play that the Lead needs to get.

Definitely looks like a foul on Blue in the second clip, but if you're going to pass on that, don't compound it by no-calling the travel and OOB.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 30, 2013 05:14pm

#1 = Illegal screen. It happened in L's PCA so he's the one who needs to get it first, though it's not impossible for the T to get it since no one was near the shooter when he got the ball.

#2 = Foul on Kentucky #12.

Blindolbat Thu Jan 31, 2013 02:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 875968)
#1 = Illegal screen. It happened in L's PCA so he's the one who needs to get it first, though it's not impossible for the T to get it since no one was near the shooter when he got the ball.

#2 = Foul on Kentucky #12.

Definitely agree on both parts. In addition, there is no way the bucket should've counted on #1.

canuckrefguy Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:59am

1. Illegal screen

2. Blue foul - it's not a full undercut, but it's contact that causes a player to hit the floor and/or commit a violation (OOB). If you're going to have the balls to no-call it, have the bigger balls to call the white player OOB. Doing nothing just looks wrong.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 01, 2013 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blindolbat (Post 876038)
Definitely agree on both parts. In addition, there is no way the bucket should've counted on #1.

I just watched it again and I am with you about the bucket not counting. The illegal screen was definitely before the shot. Should have gone the other way without points.

APG Fri Feb 01, 2013 05:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 876292)
I just watched it again and I am with you about the bucket not counting. The illegal screen was definitely before the shot. Should have gone the other way without points.

Well if you had an illegal screen, then that came clearly before the ball was released...if you had a defensive foul, from the trail's position, since he probably picked up on the contact a little late, I have no problem with counting the basket...it was a bang bang play.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 01, 2013 05:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 876294)
Well if you had an illegal screen, then that came clearly before the ball was released...if you had a defensive foul, from the trail's position, since he probably picked up on the contact a little late, I have no problem with counting the basket...it was a bang bang play.

I had an illegal screen.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 01, 2013 06:35am

Illegal screen by the offense, and rebounding foul.

Raymond Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blindolbat (Post 876038)
Definitely agree on both parts. In addition, there is no way the bucket should've counted on #1.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 876292)
I just watched it again and I am with you about the bucket not counting. The illegal screen was definitely before the shot. Should have gone the other way without points.

Glad I'm not the only who thought that. A2 definitely had not brought the ball up to shoot when B1 and A1 collided.


Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 875925)
Play #1: Either an illegal screen or it was a pushing foul on B1 PRIOR to A2 starting his habitual shooting motion.

...



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1