The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kentucky/Ole Miss Video Request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93795-kentucky-ole-miss-video-request.html)

MOofficial Wed Jan 30, 2013 01:39pm

Kentucky/Ole Miss Video Request
 
I'm thinking this was about 7:55 second half.

Jim Burr was the calling official.

Ole Miss gets a rebound and my initial reaction was that's a foul on the Kentucky player going underneath the Ole Miss player on the rebound. As that happens the Ole Miss player falls to the ground with clear possession of the ball all the way down, so now I'm thinking travel. Well that's what I get for thinking as neither was called. So I rewind it and upon further review when the Ole Miss player fell to the floor he was half way out of bounds and you guessed it, no call.

Play on boys we're going the other way. 2 wrongs don't make a right so what about 3 wrongs?

I just started scratching my head then flipped back over to US Of Bacon.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 875874)
I'm thinking this was about 7:55 second half.

Jim Burr was the calling official.

Ole Miss gets a rebound and my initial reaction was that's a foul on the Kentucky player going underneath the Ole Miss player on the rebound. As that happens the Ole Miss player falls to the ground with clear possession of the ball all the way down, so now I'm thinking travel. Well that's what I get for thinking as neither was called. So I rewind it and upon further review when the Ole Miss player fell to the floor he was half way out of bounds and you guessed it, no call.

Play on boys we're going the other way. 2 wrongs don't make a right so what about 3 wrongs?

I just started scratching my head then flipped back over to US Of Bacon.

I saw that....at a minimum two calls were missed (the travel and the OOB). Even if he judged the player wasn't holding the ball when he fell (he was holding it) there is no reason to ignore a guy clearly laying such that a good part of his arm and shoulder were OOB.

If he wanted to not call a foul and let a little bit go, I can see that. But things that obvious, you really can't ignore those...you must take a step back and get the foul if the foul causes that.

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:14pm

In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.

MOofficial Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 875896)
In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.

4-72-6
It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.

I know in the NBA you are allowed to fall to the court but I'd never heard that for NCAA

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 875903)
4-72-6
It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.
...

An airborne player has not yet established a pivot foot, so there is no pivot foot to maintain.

In fact, by rule, I don't see why it is travelling in the NFHS. But when doing HS I call it a travel and when doing college rule set I no-call it.

rockyroad Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 875896)
In NCAA an airborne player can fall to the ground and it is not travelling. I believe there is a subtle difference in how the travelling rules are written between NFHS and NCAA that accounts for this. I'll have to look it up later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.

I believe that only applies to an airborne player who falls directly to the floor without landing on their feet first. If they land awkwardly on their feet (foot) and then go to the ground, it should be a travel.

APG Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:53pm

Two plays from this game:

First play and one I was going to post myself:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/su444NDA7a4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Illegal screen or pushing foul for going through the screener?

Second play and the one the OP asked for:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/AKqMyYFE0mQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 875913)
I believe that only applies to an airborne player who falls directly to the floor without landing on their feet first. If they land awkwardly on their feet (foot) and then go to the ground, it should be a travel.

Agreed. But in HS we call a travel even if the feet don't hit the ground, correct?

maven Wed Jan 30, 2013 02:59pm

Play 1: I like the pushing foul on the defender.

Play 2: Wow. Hard to tell about the foul from the angle, but not hard to tell about the travel or OOB. And where the heck was the L going?

maven Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 875917)
Agreed. But in HS we call a travel even if the feet don't hit the ground, correct?

NFHS 4-44-5: "A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than
hand or foot."

OKREF Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:01pm

Play 1--illegal screen to me.

Play 2--I would go with a foul on blue, and if no foul, definately travel or out of bounds. Has to be something on this.

jeschmit Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:08pm

Play 1 - I would've liked to have seen an illegal screen called here, but I can understand why the T would only be able to see the push. The L had no one between him and this play, and he needs to see and call the illegal screen. The bucket definitely counts with what was called though.

Play 2 - He was definitely pushed, and it caused him to go to the ground. If a foul isn't called here, the travel or OOB should have been. I can see getting away without calling a travel if the official passed on the foul, but the OOB is too obvious...

REFANDUMP Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 875920)
Play 1--illegal screen to me.

Play 2--I might go with a foul on blue, and if no foul, definately travel or out of bounds. Has to be something on this.

Agree on both counts.

Raymond Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:14pm

Play #1: Either an illegal screen or it was a pushing foul on B1 PRIOR to A2 starting his habitual shooting motion.

Play #2: Can't tell if there is a push, but there is definitely a travel and an OOB violation.

APG Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 875921)
Play 1 - I would've liked to have seen an illegal screen called here, but I can understand why the T would only be able to see the push. The L had no one between him and this play, and he needs to see and call the illegal screen. The bucket definitely counts with what was called though.

I was also going to bring this up...I also think the lead needs to get this play. Not sure what he was concentrating on.

On play two, I have an undercut by the defender.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:20pm

I thought that screen was illegal when it happened and I still do now after seeing the replays.

After seeing the replay on the rebound, non-traval, non-OOB, I think a foul was the right call. Blue-12 came into White-10's legs as he was coming down and caused him to fall. In the end, the right team got that ball, but it sure was an ugly way to get to the right result.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 875928)
I was also going to bring this up...I also think the lead needs to get this play. Not sure what he was concentrating on..

The other blue player in his area when the play started was cutting across the lane and being defended. He was watching this (and that, in and of itself, is not wrong. That player might have been held and maybe the play was a screen to the other side and a swing pass for a 3-point shot)

zm1283 Wed Jan 30, 2013 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 875928)
I was also going to bring this up...I also think the lead needs to get this play. Not sure what he was concentrating on.

On play two, I have an undercut by the defender.

I'm with you.

I have an illegal screen on the first play that the Lead needs to get.

Definitely looks like a foul on Blue in the second clip, but if you're going to pass on that, don't compound it by no-calling the travel and OOB.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 30, 2013 05:14pm

#1 = Illegal screen. It happened in L's PCA so he's the one who needs to get it first, though it's not impossible for the T to get it since no one was near the shooter when he got the ball.

#2 = Foul on Kentucky #12.

Blindolbat Thu Jan 31, 2013 02:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 875968)
#1 = Illegal screen. It happened in L's PCA so he's the one who needs to get it first, though it's not impossible for the T to get it since no one was near the shooter when he got the ball.

#2 = Foul on Kentucky #12.

Definitely agree on both parts. In addition, there is no way the bucket should've counted on #1.

canuckrefguy Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:59am

1. Illegal screen

2. Blue foul - it's not a full undercut, but it's contact that causes a player to hit the floor and/or commit a violation (OOB). If you're going to have the balls to no-call it, have the bigger balls to call the white player OOB. Doing nothing just looks wrong.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 01, 2013 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blindolbat (Post 876038)
Definitely agree on both parts. In addition, there is no way the bucket should've counted on #1.

I just watched it again and I am with you about the bucket not counting. The illegal screen was definitely before the shot. Should have gone the other way without points.

APG Fri Feb 01, 2013 05:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 876292)
I just watched it again and I am with you about the bucket not counting. The illegal screen was definitely before the shot. Should have gone the other way without points.

Well if you had an illegal screen, then that came clearly before the ball was released...if you had a defensive foul, from the trail's position, since he probably picked up on the contact a little late, I have no problem with counting the basket...it was a bang bang play.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 01, 2013 05:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 876294)
Well if you had an illegal screen, then that came clearly before the ball was released...if you had a defensive foul, from the trail's position, since he probably picked up on the contact a little late, I have no problem with counting the basket...it was a bang bang play.

I had an illegal screen.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 01, 2013 06:35am

Illegal screen by the offense, and rebounding foul.

Raymond Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blindolbat (Post 876038)
Definitely agree on both parts. In addition, there is no way the bucket should've counted on #1.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 876292)
I just watched it again and I am with you about the bucket not counting. The illegal screen was definitely before the shot. Should have gone the other way without points.

Glad I'm not the only who thought that. A2 definitely had not brought the ball up to shoot when B1 and A1 collided.


Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 875925)
Play #1: Either an illegal screen or it was a pushing foul on B1 PRIOR to A2 starting his habitual shooting motion.

...



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1