![]() |
Quote:
(Side question: Was there a countdown timer on the clock? Was it counting down?) If I whacked a team every time they weren't ready to go by the posted start time, I'd have to call technicals 80% of the time when the JV game ran over. While that might be fun, it certainly isn't the right thing to do. |
I would never issue a T for this. If the team is on the court, dressed, and then refuses to come out - sure ... that's what the rule is for.
But for some sort of unforeseen pre-game snafu? No. If it was protracted, I might inform my assignor of what happened, so they can be aware ... perhaps it's an ongoing problem at that school - who knows. But penalizing the team in the actual game? No. (And as to the visitors trying to play players in 2 games at 2 sites? They have to be aware that there are a great number of things that could cause the game to end late (including simple things like overtime) - if they intend to have players play in 2 different places on the same day, they assume the risk.) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
My point is that you need to be flexible and there's no reason to be "that guy" if something unusual happens. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'd rather stay out of it if possible. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You wouldn't just ignore the T for adding a player during the game, especially if the coach demanded you apply the rule and for me this is a similar enough situation. I don't have a problem with it not being that way for you. It's never happened to me. In fact, I've even had a team refuse to accept a T for adding a player during a game. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, this is twice you seemed to intimate that "especially if the coach demanded..." matters to you. It should not. Ever. If you decided it was a T, it's a T. If you decided it's not, it's not. Opposing coach's insistence is completely and entirely irrelevant, and honestly it irks me to some degree that you seem to consider it relevant. |
Quote:
The visiting team's coach in this instance is demonstrating that he does not agree to the rescheduling and so it is a T. If he doesn't ask for it, he is agreeing to the rescheduling so there is no infraction. Whether or not there is a T depends on whether the scheduled start time is changed which depends on the other coach agreeing to the change. So, yes, the T is up to the offended coach, imo. For my part, I'm going to try to talk him into agreeing to just start the game. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm. |