![]() |
Quote:
Fixed it for ya'. |
Quote:
Rant: Being new and reading a lot of the old threads to glean information, I realize that the communication on this board is rather unclear. A big part of our job as officials is to clearly and effectively communicate. Sarcasm and jokes are funny, but as we all know, text has an acute inability to communicate tone and inference. I suggest that we all try to be more clear in our writing, which I think would solve some of the communication problems I have noticed. Thoughts? |
Quote:
My suggestion, if you have a question, ask it. Especially, as a new official, that should give those answering your question the proper mindset in answering your question (including being more explicit). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Since this thread started with my question, I'll ask a few more.
Regarding 3-seconds in the lane. Is there anything that causes a 3-second count to restart, similarly to how a closely guarded count is terminated? If player A1 goes into the paint for a shot, misses, and keeps putting up the rebound (and missing) for the next four seconds, what happens? Do I call the 3 seconds or is the count terminated upon a shot attempt? As the trail, does it matter which arm I use for the 10-second count? I typically use the inside arm, but I watched a few varsity games on tv this week and all the officials used the outside arm. |
Quote:
2) Doesn't really matter (unless in your area it does). Some say outside, some say table side. Some say whichever you didn't use to count the previous 5-seconds for inbouonding (if applicable). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Here's a bit of advice from a guy who's been around a while -- don't make the 3-second violation your best call. Don't avoid it when it needs to be called, but if you're calling them more than once or twice a week you should probably think about the spirit and intent of the rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The count, by rule, doesn't start until the ball is inbounds and there is team control in the frontcourt. Out of bounds for a throw-in does not equal frontcourt. No good official is looking to nail teams on three second violations. It's time to stop looking to do so, IMO. |
Quote:
The rule requires (a) TC (b) in the FC. You have (a) during a throw-in, but not (b). The inbounds spot is OOB; it's neither in the FC nor in the BC. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14am. |