The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Batting ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93540-batting-ball.html)

BillyMac Wed Jan 16, 2013 06:02pm

Blast From The Past ...
 
Check this out:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post723613

just another ref Wed Jan 16, 2013 06:22pm

Unless I'm forgetting something, once the ball is on the floor, there is nothing illegal that can happen to it before it's picked up except a kick, hit with a fist, or out of bounds.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by evictor24 (Post 872464)
Sounds like you COULD say he gained possession by tapping it in the direction and speed he wanted it to go.

You COULD but you would be incorrect. A player gains control of the ball (possession) when he is HOLDING or DRIBBLING the ball. Tapping it is not possession.

jlhull14 Thu Jan 17, 2013 05:12pm

When a ball is INTENTIONALLY tapped by a player or "rolled" along the floor it constitutes a dribble. In this case once the player tapped the ball forward he used his "dribble" to get the ball from point A of the tap to point B where he then picked it up. He can gain control but he simply canNOT dribble. He can make a pass from the spot where he picks the ball up, he obviously can pivot but he cant dribble, that would constitute a violation-Double Dribble.

APG Thu Jan 17, 2013 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jlhull14 (Post 872739)
When a ball is INTENTIONALLY tapped by a player or "rolled" along the floor it constitutes a dribble. In this case once the player tapped the ball forward he used his "dribble" to get the ball from point A of the tap to point B where he then picked it up. He can gain control but he simply canNOT dribble. He can make a pass from the spot where he picks the ball up, he obviously can pivot but he cant dribble, that would constitute a violation-Double Dribble.

Rule 4, Section 15

ART. 1 . . . A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a\ player’s own backboard.

How does one bat or push the ball to the floor when it's already on the floor?

MD Longhorn Thu Jan 17, 2013 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jlhull14 (Post 872739)
When a ball is INTENTIONALLY tapped by a player or "rolled" along the floor it constitutes a dribble.

Incorrect.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1