The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Game ending err (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93477-game-ending-err.html)

loners4me Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:25pm

Game ending err
 
2 man crew....3 seconds left in the game, team A down by one. Endline throw-in in As frontcourt. Spot throw in. Im trail. Partner tells kid he can run endline. He takes 3 steps to the left, hit A2 cutting in the lane who made the layup and horn sounds. A1 celebrating. B's coach irate since A moved on a spot throw in. I talk to partner who said " my bad, what do we do now?". B's coach says regardless of partners mistake its still a violation. A's coach says you cant tell my kid he can.run the endline and then penalize him when he does. Partner left it up to me to correct.

I waived off the basket, gave it back to A1 for a spot throwin and put time back.on the clock. They failed to score. Team B won.

Was I right? Wrong?

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:28pm

Referee error. Game over. There are no do-overs. He buys the pitcher of beer AND the wings.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:29pm

Or, award 1 point and go to overtime. :D

Adam Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 871458)
Referee error. Game over. There are no do-overs. He buys the pitcher of beer AND the wings.

Yep, A wins. B still had a chance to play defense.

VaTerp Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:46pm

Wow. That's bad X 2.

Did you guys communicate with each other before the ball was put in play for the throw in? In my games we make a point to always communicate whether its a spot or the inbounder has the endline coming out of a timeout. Especially critical in a late game situation.

But to answer you question, yes you were wrong. Don't know how you justified a "do-over."

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 871464)
Wow. That's bad X 2.

Did you guys communicate with each other before the ball was put in play for the throw in? In my games we make a point to always communicate whether its a spot or the inbounder has the endline coming out of a timeout. Especially critical in a late game situation.

But to answer you question, yes you were wrong. Don't know how you justified a "do-over."

They justified it by virtue that both coaches were correct. It is a violation and it's also true that you can't tell a player one thing and then whistle it dead as a violation. That's why it is an official's error. But, the no do-over rule is pretty clear.

VaTerp Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 871465)
They justified it by virtue that both coaches were correct. It is a violation and it's also true that you can't tell a player one thing and then whistle it dead as a violation. That's why it is an official's error. But, the no do-over rule is pretty clear.

So again, don't know how they justified it. It's clear how they attempted to justify it but.....that's pretty bad.

just another ref Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:03pm

What level was this? Obviously a big goof for the official, but you would think even a player might have recognized that he couldn't run the endline in the frontcourt.

stiffler3492 Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 871467)
What level was this? Obviously a big goof for the official, but you would think even a player might have recognized that he couldn't run the endline in the frontcourt.

I'm always surprised when a high school player (let's say sophomore or above) asks me if he/she has the baseline. They've watched/played enough ball by then to know that rule. Maybe I expect too much

VaTerp Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:14pm

Wow just realizing this was in the frontcourt.

I'd rather see the T whistle and stop play when the kid left the spot thanend up with the outcome you did.

At least that way you could have prevented your partner from completely screwing both of you.

Mark Padgett Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by loners4me (Post 871457)
He takes 3 steps to the left...

Was the total distance more than 3 feet?

Rich Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 871472)
I'm always surprised when a high school player (let's say sophomore or above) asks me if he/she has the baseline. They've watched/played enough ball by then to know that rule. Maybe I expect too much

Are you kidding? Players ask whose BALL it is after a timeout. And at halftime. And at the quarter break. You'd think they'd know how to read the possession arrow. And that the coach would mention something to them.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871494)
Are you kidding? Players ask whose BALL it is after a timeout. And at halftime. And at the quarter break. You'd think they'd know how to read the possession arrow. And that the coach would mention something to them.

A mechanic that I invented around here is at the end of a quarter (or half), I stand in the centre-circle and verbalize and point whose ball it on the ensuing DL throw-in to start the next quarter. I do this so that each coach can coach their players with knowing who we're giving the ball to.

Even with that, so many times at the start of that next quarter, "whose ball is it"? :cool:

Rich Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 871502)
A mechanic that I invented around here is at the end of a quarter (or half), I stand in the centre-circle and verbalize and point whose ball it on the ensuing DL throw-in to start the next quarter. I do this so that each coach can coach their players with knowing who we're giving the ball to.

Even with that, so many times at the start of that next quarter, "whose ball is it"? :cool:

We go into the huddle on the first horn and tell them whose ball it is -- when the players come out, they STILL ask.

Adam Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871494)
Are you kidding? Players ask whose BALL it is after a timeout. And at halftime. And at the quarter break. You'd think they'd know how to read the possession arrow. And that the coach would mention something to them.

The coaches ask, too.

just another ref Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871494)
Are you kidding? And at halftime. And at the quarter break. You'd think they'd know how to read the possession arrow.



+1 When time allows, when a player asks "whose ball is it?" I often answer,
"I don't know. How do you tell?"

At ALL LEVELS, some look sheepish and look at the arrow, but many look like I asked them for the secret to the mysteries of the universe.

BillyMac Fri Jan 11, 2013 08:03am

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
I fondly remember the do-overs in the sandlot baseball games of my youth. No umpires. We eventually figured everything out. Seldom did anybody stop the game, pick up their taped over baseball, and taped up bat, and go home after a "debate". It's was a much simpler time.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 11, 2013 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 871464)
Wow. That's bad X 2.

Did you guys communicate with each other before the ball was put in play for the throw in? In my games we make a point to always communicate whether its a spot or the inbounder has the endline coming out of a timeout. Especially critical in a late game situation.

But to answer you question, yes you were wrong. Don't know how you justified a "do-over."

While I agree in general, I don't know how much communication (on this issue) you should need on a FC throw-in -- that's NEVER a time when a player is allowed to "run the endline."

Andy Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 871473)
Wow just realizing this was in the frontcourt.

I'd rather see the T whistle and stop play when the kid left the spot thanend up with the outcome you did.

At least that way you could have prevented your partner from completely screwing both of you.

Let's say this happened....as soon as the T saw the thrower move and realized the L wasn't blowing the whistle, T blows the whistle to kill the play.

At that point, after the officials realize the error, can you justify a do over? This assumes that the ball was not inbounded prior to the whistle.

maven Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 871595)
Let's say this happened....as soon as the T saw the thrower move and realized the L wasn't blowing the whistle, T blows the whistle to kill the play.

At that point, after the officials realize the error, can you justify a do over? This assumes that the ball was not inbounded prior to the whistle.

I can't imagine your scenario happening. As T, I'm not watching the thrower, I'm watching some of the other 8 or 9.

I CAN imagine seeing my partner signal "run the line" to the thrower, and I would stop him at that point and fix it.

VaTerp Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 871573)
While I agree in general, I don't know how much communication (on this issue) you should need on a FC throw-in -- that's NEVER a time when a player is allowed to "run the endline."

Agreed. When I typed this response I did not realize it was a FC throw in. Poor reading comp on my part.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 871595)
Let's say this happened....as soon as the T saw the thrower move and realized the L wasn't blowing the whistle, T blows the whistle to kill the play.

At that point, after the officials realize the error, can you justify a do over? This assumes that the ball was not inbounded prior to the whistle.

If the T blows the whistle to kill the play when the inbounder and leaves the designated spot, he can then go to the lead with information. The L should then realize he erred in telling the player he had the endline and re-administer the throw in properly.

Still dicey but I'd much rather have to deal with a "do over" that doesn't involve time running off of the clock or taking away a scored basket.

OKREF Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:34am

2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.

stiffler3492 Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871494)
Are you kidding? Players ask whose BALL it is after a timeout. And at halftime. And at the quarter break. You'd think they'd know how to read the possession arrow. And that the coach would mention something to them.

Haha. Now that's bad.

By the way, love the little caption under your screen name.

Raymond Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 871604)
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.

The officials didn't erroneously count a score. They failed to call a violation and the team scored afterwards. Same as if the kid had double-dribbled or travelled and we missed it.

PG_Ref Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 871604)
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.

No, this does not fall under the CE guidelines. The error was the erroneous information relayed to the player by the official. And as has been already mentioned, if the thrower didn't move beyond the allowed three FT box, no violation occured. A lot of coaches think that players can't move at all.

OKREF Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 871611)
No, this does not fall under the CE guidelines. The error was the erroneous information relayed to the player by the official. And as has been already mentioned, if the thrower didn't move beyond the allowed three FT box, no violation occured. A lot of coaches think that players can't move at all.


I was just thinking of some way to justify the do over. I believe that they just have to go on and end the game.

just another ref Fri Jan 11, 2013 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 871461)
Yep, A wins. B still had a chance to play defense.


This is very true. Lets not overstate the advantage gained here.

maven Fri Jan 11, 2013 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 871610)
The officials didn't erroneously count a score. They failed to call a violation and the team scored afterwards. Same as if the kid had double-dribbled or travelled and we missed it.

Not exactly the same: if you had TOLD him that he was allowed to travel before shooting and then "missed" it.... ;)

There's an issue with why anyone would believe an official who said you could run the end line in the FC, and this example brings that out. All the same, the official DID say that.

JRutledge Fri Jan 11, 2013 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871494)
Are you kidding? Players ask whose BALL it is after a timeout. And at halftime. And at the quarter break. You'd think they'd know how to read the possession arrow. And that the coach would mention something to them.

They even ask when you are pointing in the direction with your arm.

Peace

MD Longhorn Fri Jan 11, 2013 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 871604)
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.

This says you can fix it if someone counts a score that shouldn't be counted or vice versa... it doesn't mean you can correct any other error there may be so long as a score happens afterward.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1