![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
My kid threw the ball inbounds, and went through my other players hands, He chased it to the sideline and knocked it back inbounds, he stepped back on the court and started dribbling. He blew the whistle and called oob. I asked why, he said you couldnt do that, so I bet him a million that he could. all friendly, no words as I said he is a good friend, and I thought a pretty good official. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
BigT "The rookie" |
|
|||
Huh?
Quote:
![]() I have a questions on your questions.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in Page 59 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Case Rule 7 (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
__________________
BigT "The rookie" |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Most of the time (in my experience) that's not a dribble. So, gathering the ball (after the player comes inbounds) is not ending the dribble. So the "next" dribble is legal. |
|
|||
He batted the ball back inbounds with one hand.
|
|
|||
![]()
It gets a little better today.
He called me today and left me a voicemail : He believes that since his momementum didnt carry him out of bounds, that the right call was OOB. I asked him two questions in an email that I havent heard back from him yet. 1) In that situation, what advantage was gained when he left the court and then returned? 2) A nine year old kid chasing a loose ball toward the line, does not constitute momentum? I could give two hoots in georgia about the bet, this has happened two weeks in a row and 4 different officials missed this, I just want them to get it right. What other questions can I ask that can shed the light? help me out fellas! If he believes that he left the court on purpose, should that be a warning or a technical? I believe beyond a shadow of a doubt that it should never be an OOB call, correct? |
|
|||
![]()
I agree that it is a violation, but not an OOB violation, correct?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
1st to touch | Ch1town | Basketball | 9 | Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm |
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm |
First to touch | ripcord51 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm |
First to touch | RefTip | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am |
Can't be the first one to touch it? | dub3 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am |