![]() |
|
|||
fc/bc
Posting this as a favor for another official in our area.
Two situations listed...ruling in each situation and differnce between the two please. sit 1 A1 spot throw in from the FC area. Throws the ball in and it is tipped by B1 in the front court, then tipped by A2 in the front court causing the ball to go to the backcourt where A2 then goes and retrieves the ball. A1 spot throw in from the same FC area. Throws the ball in and it is tipped by B1 in the front court then A2 jumps from front court controls the ball and lands in the back court. thanks in advance BBR I am counting on you here ![]()
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
Why didn't you help your buddy out?
The 2nd play is a casebook play I believe. The first one has been discussed so much any forum member should know the answer to that one just based off the conversations.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Dec 13, 2012 at 01:27pm. |
|
|||
#1. Legal
#2. Backcourt Violation. Reasons... #1. No team control while the ball had frontcourt status. Thus, no backcourt violation. Despite the confusion created by the NFHS, the redux is there is effectively/essentially no team control on a throwin. However, a foul that occurs during a throwin is considered a team control foul. This is not unlike how a foul by an airborne shooter who has released the try is still a player control foul even though there is no player control. #2. Team control was established by A2 when A2 caught the ball while haivng frontcout status (A2 jumped from A's frontcount). The exception on the throwin ended when B1 tipped the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
thanks
BNR thanks for the help........
![]() I am helping my buddy out by posting here, as he wants to hear other opinions. Yes I know the answer and the differences, but didn't want to taint the water by posting them in my post. Cameron thanks for the response...this part of the crux of our discussion back here in ole wyo.....what exception are you talking about ![]() However the key isn't that team control is established by what A2 does in situation two...it is that player control is established and his location when it is established???
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
Quote:
Forget the current wording of the backcourt rule...go back 2-3 years and use that wording for team control issues as it relates to anything except fouls.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Fire Up The Flux Capacitor ...
Have fun with this advice rookies.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 13, 2012 at 05:14pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
1) Throw in 2) Jump ball 3) Defensive player. The first two apply only to the first person to touch the ball. So in your play, B2 tipped the ball, then A2 grabbbed it in the air (from the FC) and landed in the BC. The exception does not apply -- violation. If B2 had not tipped the ball, then the exception would apply and it would be a legal play. |
|
|||
thanks Bob
What you are saying is the exception involves the jumping from front to back court correct? in either of those three situations you listed, IE jump ball throwin and defensive player...
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
Why would that player need an exception?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|