The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS Bonus 1 & 1 question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93187-nfhs-bonus-1-1-question.html)

referee50 Mon Dec 10, 2012 02:15pm

NFHS Bonus 1 & 1 question
 
If team a & b are in the bonus, 8 fouls a piece:

Does any foul by team A or team B, while the ball is in flight, or after it hits the rim and is ready to be rebounded, does each of these result in a 1 & 1?

Considering that after a try or tip there is no team or player control.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 10, 2012 02:17pm

Correct reasoning and correct result (assuming it's a single foul and not a double foul)

rockyroad Mon Dec 10, 2012 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee50 (Post 866023)
If team a & b are in the bonus, 8 fouls a piece:

Does any foul by team A or team B, while the ball is in flight, or after it hits the rim and is ready to be rebounded, does each of these result in a 1 & 1?

Considering that after a try or tip there is no team or player control.

Basically, yes.

But be careful when you say "any foul" results in bonus...you could certainly have an Intentional foul, a T, a flagrant , etc., etc. Those would obviously not be bonus situations.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Dec 10, 2012 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 866024)
Correct reasoning and correct result (assuming it's a single foul and not a double foul)

Or not an intentional foul or flagrant foul.

MTD,Sr.

HawkeyeCubP Mon Dec 10, 2012 08:31pm

Or a player control foul by an airborne shooter.

The_Rookie Mon Dec 10, 2012 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee50 (Post 866023)
If team a & b are in the bonus, 8 fouls a piece:

Does any foul by team A or team B, while the ball is in flight, or after it hits the rim and is ready to be rebounded, does each of these result in a 1 & 1?

Considering that after a try or tip there is no team or player control.

Lets modify slightly and say the shot you mention in your OP is in flight and is GOOD. If A2 commits a push off while the ball is in flight, do you count the basket?

Sharpshooternes Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 866109)
Lets modify slightly and say the shot you mention in your OP is in flight and is GOOD. If A2 commits a push off while the ball is in flight, do you count the basket?

I vote count the basket and then OOB at the spot closest to the foul, 1 and 1 or double bonus for B.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 866108)
Or a player control foul by an airborne shooter.

Or a foul against an airborne shooter.

APG Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 866122)
I vote count the basket and then OOB at the spot closest to the foul, 1 and 1 or double bonus for B.

Would Team B be able to run the end line if the spot of the foul is on the end line and there's a throw-in?

Sharpshooternes Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 866124)
Would Team B be able to run the end line if the spot of the foul is on the end line and there's a throw-in?

I would say that they could not run the end line. If the foul was outside the three point line the ball would be taken out on the side line. I think (but definately could be wrong) that you count the basket and penalize everything else as if the basket never happened and penalize accordingly.

Sharpshooternes Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 866123)
Or a foul against an airborne shooter.

This is just a foul in the act of shooting. Ball goes through, count the basket and 1 FT. Try is no good 2 (or 3) FTs.

just another ref Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 866129)
This is just a foul in the act of shooting. Ball goes through, count the basket and 1 FT. Try is no good 2 (or 3) FTs.

We all realize that. It is just one of the examples of a foul in the OP question which does not result in a 1 and 1.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 866131)
We all realize that. It is just one of the example of a foul in the OP question which does not result in a 1 and 1.

Sorry. This would be a good time to realize that a . is not a ? and that your post was a statement and not a question. My apologies.

APG Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sharpshooternes (Post 866126)
i would say that they could not run the end line. If the foul was outside the three point line the ball would be taken out on the side line. I think (but definately could be wrong) that you count the basket and penalize everything else as if the basket never happened and penalize accordingly.

7.5.7 Situation E

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 866134)
7.5.7 Situation E

I stand corrected.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1