The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS Bonus 1 & 1 question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93187-nfhs-bonus-1-1-question.html)

referee50 Mon Dec 10, 2012 02:15pm

NFHS Bonus 1 & 1 question
 
If team a & b are in the bonus, 8 fouls a piece:

Does any foul by team A or team B, while the ball is in flight, or after it hits the rim and is ready to be rebounded, does each of these result in a 1 & 1?

Considering that after a try or tip there is no team or player control.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 10, 2012 02:17pm

Correct reasoning and correct result (assuming it's a single foul and not a double foul)

rockyroad Mon Dec 10, 2012 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee50 (Post 866023)
If team a & b are in the bonus, 8 fouls a piece:

Does any foul by team A or team B, while the ball is in flight, or after it hits the rim and is ready to be rebounded, does each of these result in a 1 & 1?

Considering that after a try or tip there is no team or player control.

Basically, yes.

But be careful when you say "any foul" results in bonus...you could certainly have an Intentional foul, a T, a flagrant , etc., etc. Those would obviously not be bonus situations.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Dec 10, 2012 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 866024)
Correct reasoning and correct result (assuming it's a single foul and not a double foul)

Or not an intentional foul or flagrant foul.

MTD,Sr.

HawkeyeCubP Mon Dec 10, 2012 08:31pm

Or a player control foul by an airborne shooter.

The_Rookie Mon Dec 10, 2012 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee50 (Post 866023)
If team a & b are in the bonus, 8 fouls a piece:

Does any foul by team A or team B, while the ball is in flight, or after it hits the rim and is ready to be rebounded, does each of these result in a 1 & 1?

Considering that after a try or tip there is no team or player control.

Lets modify slightly and say the shot you mention in your OP is in flight and is GOOD. If A2 commits a push off while the ball is in flight, do you count the basket?

Sharpshooternes Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 866109)
Lets modify slightly and say the shot you mention in your OP is in flight and is GOOD. If A2 commits a push off while the ball is in flight, do you count the basket?

I vote count the basket and then OOB at the spot closest to the foul, 1 and 1 or double bonus for B.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 866108)
Or a player control foul by an airborne shooter.

Or a foul against an airborne shooter.

APG Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 866122)
I vote count the basket and then OOB at the spot closest to the foul, 1 and 1 or double bonus for B.

Would Team B be able to run the end line if the spot of the foul is on the end line and there's a throw-in?

Sharpshooternes Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 866124)
Would Team B be able to run the end line if the spot of the foul is on the end line and there's a throw-in?

I would say that they could not run the end line. If the foul was outside the three point line the ball would be taken out on the side line. I think (but definately could be wrong) that you count the basket and penalize everything else as if the basket never happened and penalize accordingly.

Sharpshooternes Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 866123)
Or a foul against an airborne shooter.

This is just a foul in the act of shooting. Ball goes through, count the basket and 1 FT. Try is no good 2 (or 3) FTs.

just another ref Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 866129)
This is just a foul in the act of shooting. Ball goes through, count the basket and 1 FT. Try is no good 2 (or 3) FTs.

We all realize that. It is just one of the examples of a foul in the OP question which does not result in a 1 and 1.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 866131)
We all realize that. It is just one of the example of a foul in the OP question which does not result in a 1 and 1.

Sorry. This would be a good time to realize that a . is not a ? and that your post was a statement and not a question. My apologies.

APG Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sharpshooternes (Post 866126)
i would say that they could not run the end line. If the foul was outside the three point line the ball would be taken out on the side line. I think (but definately could be wrong) that you count the basket and penalize everything else as if the basket never happened and penalize accordingly.

7.5.7 Situation E

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 866134)
7.5.7 Situation E

I stand corrected.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 866123)
Or a foul against an airborne shooter.

I'm stumped. How would a foul against an airborne shooter (A1) ever result in a 1-and-1 (for A1)?

JRutledge Tue Dec 11, 2012 01:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 866141)
I'm stumped. How would a foul against an airborne shooter (A1) ever result in a 1-and-1 (for A1)?

It could in NCAA rules.

Peace

JugglingReferee Tue Dec 11, 2012 03:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 866145)
It could in NCAA rules.

Peace

He asked how, not which ruleset is needed. Could you please describe the play's actions so that we all know?

JRutledge Tue Dec 11, 2012 03:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 866149)
He asked how, not which ruleset is needed. Could you please describe the play's actions so that we all know?

All I said was in NCAA it was possible. Not sure why that is a bad thing? I was not the one that stated it could happen in NF Rules.

BTW, a airborne shooter that has released the ball, buy rule has not committed a PC foul, but could commit a common foul that would result in a 1 and 1 (Men's Rules).

Now do you feel better? :rolleyes:

Peace

JugglingReferee Tue Dec 11, 2012 04:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 866150)
All I said was in NCAA it was possible. Not sure why that is a bad thing? I was not the one that stated it could happen in NF Rules.

BTW, an airborne shooter that has released the ball, by rule has not committed a PC foul, but could commit a common foul that would result in a 1 and 1 (Men's Rules).

Now do you feel better? :rolleyes:

Peace

Thank you for actually answering the question.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 11, 2012 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 866150)
All I said was in NCAA it was possible. Not sure why that is a bad thing? I was not the one that stated it could happen in NF Rules.

BTW, a airborne shooter that has released the ball, buy rule has not committed a PC foul, but could commit a common foul that would result in a 1 and 1 (Men's Rules).

Now do you feel better? :rolleyes:

Peace

That's a foul BY an airborne shooter. BktBallRef asked about a foul ON (against) an airborne shooter.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 866181)
That's a foul BY an airborne shooter. BktBallRef asked about a foul ON (against) an airborne shooter.

This is what I was asking. Sorry if I was unclear. (Thanks, Bob.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1