The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sideline position? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93182-sideline-position.html)

OKREF Mon Dec 10, 2012 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 866047)

4-37 applies to stationary players (in a spot), and having both feet in bounds is not a listed requirement. It's only listed in the LGP section, so I don't see how it applies to a stationary player.

Yes it is..."every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court." If you have one foot OOB you are OOB, and not on the playing court.

Adam Mon Dec 10, 2012 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 866057)
Yes it is..."every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court." If you have one foot OOB you are OOB, and not on the playing court.

Then you should call the violation, as this is surely not an authorized reason.

If you can't call the violation when done intentionally (most of the time it is), then you can't say B1 isn't on the playing court.

This issue really needs to be clarified, and I admit if it is, it may well be clarified to your position.

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 866035)
Was that player guarding anyone and thus needing to fit that part of the definition of LGP?

In the OP he was.

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 865979)
Looking for rule pertaining to defensive positioning on this play: A1 is advancing ball up sideline in backcourt. B1 takes a position (established) in front of A1, but with one foot on out of bounds line. Contact then occurs when A1 attempts to go around B1, but does not have enough room without going out of bounds himself. Is it legal or not for B1 to have the one foot oob?


OKREF Mon Dec 10, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 866060)
Then you should call the violation, as this is surely not an authorized reason.

If you can't call the violation when done intentionally (most of the time it is), then you can't say B1 isn't on the playing court.

This issue really needs to be clarified, and I admit if it is, it may well be clarified to your position.

I can say he isn't on the playing court. His foot on the line puts him OOB , which means he isn't on the playing court. I would say the playing court is inbounds.

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 866047)
LGP isn't an ussue when the player isn't moving. Show me where a stationary player is required to have LGP.

4-37 applies to stationary players (in a spot), and having both feet in bounds is not a listed requirement. It's only listed in the LGP section, so I don't see how it applies to a stationary player.

Why is 4-37 part of this discussion, it applies to rebounding?

OKREF Mon Dec 10, 2012 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 866066)
Why is 4-37 part of this discussion, it applies to rebounding?

It does say everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. Maybe no one is entitled to a spot.

rockyroad Mon Dec 10, 2012 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 866061)
In the OP he was.

Yep...but the thread took a left turn after that. Try to keep up, will ya? :p

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 866067)
It does say everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. Maybe no one is entitled to a spot.

10-6 ART. 11

A player shall adhere to the rules pertaining to illegal contact, including but not limited to, guarding as in 4-23, rebounding as in 4-37, screening as in 4-40, and verticality as in 4-45.

Adam Mon Dec 10, 2012 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 866056)
It may be, but it is also something I rarely see and would not go with a violation if a player just steps out of bounds.

Peace

And I don't think you should. I don't understand, however, how it's a block if he hasn't left the court, though.

JRutledge Mon Dec 10, 2012 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 866076)
And I don't think you should. I don't understand, however, how it's a block if he hasn't left the court, though.

The original post had the defender with a foot on the out of bounds line. That buy rule and interpretation is a block if there is a block charge call to be made. I will admit I did not read carefully through ever debate or issue.

Peace

Adam Mon Dec 10, 2012 05:48pm

Frankly, I could just as easily take either side in this debate.

BillyMac Mon Dec 10, 2012 05:52pm

Anybody Seen Chuck Elias ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 866093)
Frankly, I could just as easily take either side in this debate.

http://ts4.mm.bing.net/th?id=I.49476...80511&pid=15.1

Camron Rust Mon Dec 10, 2012 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 866035)
Was that player guarding anyone and thus needing to fit that part of the definition of LGP?

Hey, something isn't right here.....you and I agree! :)

DLH17 Mon Dec 10, 2012 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 866009)
Like I said, unless you're willing to call the violation for leaving the court, I don't think you can say B1 has left the playing court. IOW, you either have a defensive violation (thus an immediate dead ball), or a pc.

I think it's important to remember that there are situations when players may legally leave the floor without violating. One example would be a player sprinting towards the end line to retrieve a ball headed out of bounds - throwing it back in bounds, then letting his momentum carry him OOB. He's fine if he immediately reenters. No violation.

Perhaps the player in the OP situation is OOB for a non violating reason.

If so, and there's contact, it's "on him" and not the offensive player regardless of his right to a spot on the court.

rockyroad Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 866097)
I think it's important to remember that there are situations when players may legally leave the floor without violating. One example would be a player sprinting towards the end line to retrieve a ball headed out of bounds - throwing it back in bounds, then letting his momentum carry him OOB. He's fine if he immediately reenters. No violation.

Perhaps the player in the OP situation is OOB for a non violating reason.

If so, and there's contact, it's "on him" and not the offensive player regardless of his right to a spot on the court.

Sigh...if he is oob and attempts to draw a charge, then it's "on him". If he is just standing there looking at the ball he just attempted to save and the offensive player mows him down you can not seriously say you are going to put that "on him".

Too many people are taking one small statement in the rule book and trying to apply it to everything...it doesn't work that way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1