The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93164-throw.html)

SAK Sat Dec 08, 2012 05:55pm

throw-in
 
T/F During a throw-in, B1 has violated if thrower A1 passes the ball into the court and it is first touched by B1 who has one foot on a boundary line.

Thinking true but this is not a throw-in violation merely an OOB violation.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 08, 2012 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 865732)
Thinking true but this is not a throw-in violation merely an OOB violation.

Why does it matter which it is? It's still true.

SAK Sat Dec 08, 2012 06:00pm

Going through the test, and some of the questions seem to make me think because I am not on the court. Know how to administer the rule.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 08, 2012 06:02pm

Again, what does it matter what type of violation it is? It's still a violation so the answer is true.

KyKatsFan Sat Dec 08, 2012 07:53pm

The difference
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 865741)
Again, what does it matter what type of violation it is? It's still a violation so the answer is true.

The difference could be the throw in spot location and whether or not the thrower in can run the end line.
If considered a throw in violation, reset the original throw in conditions. If just OOB, designated spot would be in effect and possibly in a new location.

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2012 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KyKatsFan (Post 865754)
The difference could be the throw in spot location and whether or not the thrower in can run the end line.
If considered a throw in violation, reset the original throw in conditions. If just OOB, designated spot would be in effect and possibly in a new location.

None of which makes a difference when the two choices are true or false.

KyKatsFan Sat Dec 08, 2012 08:39pm

Answering your question
 
I was answering your question as to what difference it makes... and I agree that is doesn't change the T/F answer.

Adam Sat Dec 08, 2012 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KyKatsFan (Post 865754)
If considered a throw in violation, reset the original throw in conditions.

??

A throw in violation on B?

Camron Rust Sat Dec 08, 2012 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 865755)
None of which makes a difference when the two choices are true or false.

Maybe not, but trying to understand more than just T/F is certainly admirable.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KyKatsFan (Post 865754)
The difference could be the throw in spot location and whether or not the thrower in can run the end line.
If considered a throw in violation, reset the original throw in conditions. If just OOB, designated spot would be in effect and possibly in a new location.

That has nothing to do with whether an exam question is True or False.

Sharpshooternes Sun Dec 09, 2012 02:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KyKatsFan (Post 865754)
The difference could be the throw in spot location and whether or not the thrower in can run the end line.
If considered a throw in violation, reset the original throw in conditions. If just OOB, designated spot would be in effect and possibly in a new location.

Also, if the original throw in in the OP is an AP throw in, does the arrow change or stay the same?

BillyMac Sun Dec 09, 2012 09:48am

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 865732)
During a throw-in, B1 has violated if thrower A1 passes the ball into the court and it is first touched by B1 who has one foot on a boundary line.

Maybe the test is trying to confuse old timers. This used to be a throwin violation on A1.

That's my observation on the possible rationale behind this test question.

For those who would like a shorter, Twitter (less than 140 characters) version of the answer: True.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 09, 2012 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 865804)
Maybe the test is trying to confuse old timers. This used to be a throwin violation on A1.

When was this ever a violation by A? Rule reference please?

BillyMac Sun Dec 09, 2012 09:57am

... Of The Way We Were ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 865732)
During a throw-in, B1 has violated if thrower A1 passes the ball into the court and it is first touched by B1 who has one foot on a boundary line.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 865806)
When was this ever a violation by A? Rule reference please?

Yes, about twenty-five, or thirty years, ago. The throwin violation was for A1 not throwing the ball directly to a player on the court. Team B would then get possession with a new throwin at the spot of the original throwin. It's true. It's true.

I'll let Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. climb up the stairs into his cold, attic, library to get the proper citations.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 865807)
Yes, about twenty-five, or thirty years, ago. The throwin violation was for A1 not throwing the ball directly to someone on the court. Team B would then get possession with a new throwin at the spot of the original throwin. It's true. It's true.

I'll let Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. climb up the stairs into his cold, attic, library to get the proper citations.

I hope he does. I've been watching basketball since 1970 and officiating it since 1985 and I don't ever recall that being the rule.

Me thinks you didn't know the rules twenty-five or thirty years ago. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1