The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93163-team-control.html)

The_Rookie Sun Dec 09, 2012 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865847)
Exactly. So I'm waiting for an answer to the question i asked you. :)

Me personally, I don't ask a question until I first look up pertinent rules.

Team Control ends in 3 ways:

1) on a shot or tap for goal

2) opponent secures da ball

3) Dead Ball

A loose ball remains in control of the team whose player last had control

SAK Sun Dec 09, 2012 06:31pm

Team control exists on an in-bounds pass, pass between players and when a teammate has control of the ball. Team control also extends to a ball that is loose on the floor until it is secured by the opposing team.

There are three situations where there is no team control, rebound, jump ball, and dead ball.

See 4-12-3

Adam Sun Dec 09, 2012 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 865890)
Team control exists on an in-bounds pass, pass between players and when a teammate has control of the ball. Team control also extends to a ball that is loose on the floor until it is secured by the opposing team.

There are three situations where there is no team control, rebound, jump ball, and dead ball.

See 4-12-3

Not quite.. Team control ends when the try is released, not when the rebound begins.

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865847)
Exactly. So I'm waiting for an answer to the question i asked you. :)

Me personally, I don't ask a question until I first look up pertinent rules.

sorry. i couldn't see the question through the condescending comments. team control ends on a shot, dead ball, or when the other team gains control.
never said i didn't know the answer. just seeing how many others might be confused by this play. good to know u ask questions after you have the answer as well.

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865941)
sorry. i couldn't see the question through the condescending comments. team control ends on a shot, dead ball, or when the other team gains control.
never said i didn't know the answer. just seeing how many others might be confused by this play. good to know u ask questions after you have the answer as well.

Oh, so now we're supposed to know you're quizzing us with your questions? It was a basic question with a no doubt about it answer.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865792)
Not to hijack the post, but i have another team control question. it came up in discussion tonight. A1 has his dribble interrupted. While trying to recover the ball A1 and B1 are called for a double foul. NO shots and POI. Do we give the ball back to team A as they had team control last or AP throw in? thoughts

What are we supposed to be thinking about?

Since when did we become your little experiment on team control?

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865942)
Oh, so now we're supposed to know you're quizzing us with your questions? It was a basic question with a no doubt about it answer.



What are we supposed to be thinking about?

Since when did we become your little experiment on team control?

u were the one who said you ask questions after look up the answer so why can't we? hypocrite

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865945)
I ask ONLY after I look it up myself.

I don't come in here testing others just because I learned something new...especially something I already should have already known in the first place.

u continue to type of assumption. embarrassing really. wasn't testing anyone. Seeing if it wasn't as simple as i thought it was. Quite a few in our association had never thought about that play. I did learn something though. ill keep that to myself. no sense 2 of us looking silly

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865946)
u continue to type of assumption. embarrassing really. wasn't testing anyone. Seeing if it wasn't as simple as i thought it was. Quite a few in our association had never thought about that play. I did learn something though. ill keep that to myself. no sense 2 of us looking silly

Then your association needs some more rules study. An interrupted dribble doesn't meet any of the 3 items that terminates TC.

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865947)
Then your association needs some more rules study. An interrupted dribble doesn't meet any of the 3 items that terminates TC.

agreed

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865947)
Then your association needs some more rules study. An interrupted dribble doesn't meet any of the 3 items that terminates TC.


Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865948)
agreed

Which is the only reason I asked this question:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865793)
What changes the status of team control?



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1