The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93163-team-control.html)

SAK Sat Dec 08, 2012 05:40pm

Team Control
 
T/F Team A is in control while the ball is loose after B1 deflects a pass from A1 to B2.

Thinking True and using 4-12-2b and 4-12-3b as my citations. Please confirm or give new citations.

APG Sat Dec 08, 2012 05:44pm

Coach should reconsider having A1 in the game if he/she is passing the ball to B2 ;)

Anyhow, you have it correct.

SAK Sat Dec 08, 2012 05:48pm

would have to agree with you on the reconsideration especially if it is an easy pass from his PG.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 08, 2012 05:58pm

Are we taking an exam or are you taking an exam, SAK? :)

SAK Sat Dec 08, 2012 06:03pm

I have gone through the exam and am looking for confirmation when I cannot find the rule in the book.

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2012 07:33pm

When you say "gone through" the exam, what does this mean? You taking it online about to hit submit, or you got your finished exam back and going over what you missed, or what?

BballRookie Sat Dec 08, 2012 08:55pm

Just another ref,

Since the OP is listing citations do you think it necessary to grill him on what his motives are? All of us are in different stages of our careers, and maybe he needs help with this question.

A lot of people in our association have studied the exam and then met with groups to bounce ideas off of each other and learn from other officials. I guess a test purist could say this is "cheating" but if the end goal is to become a better official why would getting help with questions be that big of a deal?

Personally, I learn a lot more from a group talking things through than I do with a text book. If he listed every single T/F question and asked for an answer that is one thing, but a few questions is no big deal.

Raymond Sat Dec 08, 2012 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 865728)
T/F Team A is in control while the ball is loose after B1 deflects a pass from A1 to B2.

Thinking True and using 4-12-2b and 4-12-3b as my citations. Please confirm or give new citations.

What is the definition of team control? What teminates TC?

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2012 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BballRookie (Post 865763)
Just another ref,

Since the OP is listing citations do you think it necessary to grill him on what his motives are? All of us are in different stages of our careers, and maybe he needs help with this question.

A lot of people in our association have studied the exam and then met with groups to bounce ideas off of each other and learn from other officials. I guess a test purist could say this is "cheating" but if the end goal is to become a better official why would getting help with questions be that big of a deal?

Personally, I learn a lot more from a group talking things through than I do with a text book. If he listed every single T/F question and asked for an answer that is one thing, but a few questions is no big deal.

An open book test to me is still a test. If I were in charge of a group of officials, (or group of anything for that matter) I would like to know how they rank in ability based each on his own test score, without assistance. If you are not able to make a strong grade on any rules test on your own with books in hand, I would want to know it.

I will help you all day long as you prepare for the test, but I will not knowingly help you as you actually take the test.

AKOFL Sun Dec 09, 2012 02:41am

Not to hijack the post, but i have another team control question. it came up in discussion tonight. A1 has his dribble interrupted. While trying to recover the ball A1 and B1 are called for a double foul. NO shots and POI. Do we give the ball back to team A as they had team control last or AP throw in? thoughts

Raymond Sun Dec 09, 2012 02:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865792)
Not to hijack the post, but i have another team control question. it came up in discussion tonight. A1 has his dribble interrupted. While trying to recover the ball A1 and B1 are called for a double foul. NO shots and POI. Do we give the ball back to team A as they had team control last or AP throw in? thoughts


What changes the status of team control?

APG Sun Dec 09, 2012 02:48am

4-36-2-a answers your question

BktBallRef Sun Dec 09, 2012 09:58am

For those with questions, all you guys need to do is read, understand and learn when team control ends.

Last week, I had a 10 second count going when I saw a volleyball roll into the backcourt and a lady chasing it. Of course, before I can kill the play, B1 gets a hand on the dribble and knocks it away as I blow the whistle.

A know it all asst. coach for Team B told me the team with the arrow should get the ball back. :rolleyes:

I gave the ball back to Team A.

AKOFL Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 865808)
For those with questions, all you guys need to do is read, understand and learn when team control ends.

Last week, I had a 10 second count going when I saw a volleyball roll into the backcourt and a lady chasing it. Of course, before I can kill the play, B1 gets a hand on the dribble and knocks it away as I blow the whistle.

A know it all asst. coach for Team B told me the team with the arrow should get the ball back. :rolleyes:

I gave the ball back to Team A.

not sure who you were talking to exactly, but part of learning and understanding for some, involves asking questions and discussing things with others.

Raymond Sun Dec 09, 2012 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865840)
not sure who you were talking to exactly, but part of learning and understanding for some, involves asking questions and discussing things with others.

Exactly. So I'm waiting for an answer to the question i asked you. :)

Me personally, I don't ask a question until I first look up pertinent rules.

The_Rookie Sun Dec 09, 2012 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865847)
Exactly. So I'm waiting for an answer to the question i asked you. :)

Me personally, I don't ask a question until I first look up pertinent rules.

Team Control ends in 3 ways:

1) on a shot or tap for goal

2) opponent secures da ball

3) Dead Ball

A loose ball remains in control of the team whose player last had control

SAK Sun Dec 09, 2012 06:31pm

Team control exists on an in-bounds pass, pass between players and when a teammate has control of the ball. Team control also extends to a ball that is loose on the floor until it is secured by the opposing team.

There are three situations where there is no team control, rebound, jump ball, and dead ball.

See 4-12-3

Adam Sun Dec 09, 2012 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 865890)
Team control exists on an in-bounds pass, pass between players and when a teammate has control of the ball. Team control also extends to a ball that is loose on the floor until it is secured by the opposing team.

There are three situations where there is no team control, rebound, jump ball, and dead ball.

See 4-12-3

Not quite.. Team control ends when the try is released, not when the rebound begins.

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865847)
Exactly. So I'm waiting for an answer to the question i asked you. :)

Me personally, I don't ask a question until I first look up pertinent rules.

sorry. i couldn't see the question through the condescending comments. team control ends on a shot, dead ball, or when the other team gains control.
never said i didn't know the answer. just seeing how many others might be confused by this play. good to know u ask questions after you have the answer as well.

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865941)
sorry. i couldn't see the question through the condescending comments. team control ends on a shot, dead ball, or when the other team gains control.
never said i didn't know the answer. just seeing how many others might be confused by this play. good to know u ask questions after you have the answer as well.

Oh, so now we're supposed to know you're quizzing us with your questions? It was a basic question with a no doubt about it answer.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865792)
Not to hijack the post, but i have another team control question. it came up in discussion tonight. A1 has his dribble interrupted. While trying to recover the ball A1 and B1 are called for a double foul. NO shots and POI. Do we give the ball back to team A as they had team control last or AP throw in? thoughts

What are we supposed to be thinking about?

Since when did we become your little experiment on team control?

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865942)
Oh, so now we're supposed to know you're quizzing us with your questions? It was a basic question with a no doubt about it answer.



What are we supposed to be thinking about?

Since when did we become your little experiment on team control?

u were the one who said you ask questions after look up the answer so why can't we? hypocrite

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865945)
I ask ONLY after I look it up myself.

I don't come in here testing others just because I learned something new...especially something I already should have already known in the first place.

u continue to type of assumption. embarrassing really. wasn't testing anyone. Seeing if it wasn't as simple as i thought it was. Quite a few in our association had never thought about that play. I did learn something though. ill keep that to myself. no sense 2 of us looking silly

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865946)
u continue to type of assumption. embarrassing really. wasn't testing anyone. Seeing if it wasn't as simple as i thought it was. Quite a few in our association had never thought about that play. I did learn something though. ill keep that to myself. no sense 2 of us looking silly

Then your association needs some more rules study. An interrupted dribble doesn't meet any of the 3 items that terminates TC.

AKOFL Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865947)
Then your association needs some more rules study. An interrupted dribble doesn't meet any of the 3 items that terminates TC.

agreed

Raymond Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865947)
Then your association needs some more rules study. An interrupted dribble doesn't meet any of the 3 items that terminates TC.


Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 865948)
agreed

Which is the only reason I asked this question:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 865793)
What changes the status of team control?



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1