The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interrupted Dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92377-interrupted-dribble.html)

Camron Rust Fri Sep 14, 2012 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb (Post 854561)
9-5-3 does not fit if A1's actions are deemed an interrupted dribble.

This rule allows A1 to dribble a second time, if AFTER ending their initial dribble the ball is fumbled...

In the OP, the ball was touched prior to the dribble ending. 4-15-4

Did A2's touching change the A1's interrupted dribble, into a fumble? As it was not a momentary loss of control (4-15-5)? If it is ruled a fumble, then the dribble has ended and 9-5-3 applies.

Or when A2 touches the ball, can that be considered a pass? Thus 9-5-3 allows a second dribble.

Only if it touches another player after the fumble.

The play in the OP is an interrupted dribble. When it touches A2, it becomes a pass. A1 lost control of a ball in the form of a pass that touched another player (9-5-3...the first part rather than the 2nd part that everyone is talking about). A1 is no longer limited and can start a new dribble.

Camron Rust Fri Sep 14, 2012 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 854563)
4-21: A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp

Sure sounds like A1 fumbled to me.

Nope...A1 wasn't grasping the ball. A fumble can't happen during a dribble. It happens as a result of unsuccessfully trying to hold the ball.

Camron Rust Fri Sep 14, 2012 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 854520)
Double Dribble violation. Even if the ball was touched by an opponent it is still a violation. 4-15-4d only applies if the opponent causes the dibbler to lose control. The OP states the dribbler causes the loss of control.

4-15-4: The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control.

The dribble also ends in other ways that are not mentioned. This list is how a dribble usually ends and defines that if these happen, the dribble has ended. However, I can think of several situations where a dribble ends without any of the above happening.

BillyMac Sat Sep 15, 2012 08:24am

It's A Pass ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 854566)
A1 wasn't grasping the ball. A fumble can't happen during a dribble. It happens as a result of unsuccessfully trying to hold the ball.

Good point. I guess that that's why there is a lot of fumbling in football, football players don't usually dribble the football. Something to do with the shape of the football.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1