![]() |
Quote:
However, this is a good exercise in criticial/logical thinking, so...to follow your lead, let me alter my example and ask further questions of you. 1. While A1 is holding a live ball inbounds near the FT line, A2 and B2 are battling for position near the basket. B2 excessively swings his arms/elbows and strikes A2 in the face. How are you penalizing this action? a. Excessive arm/elbow swinging violation with a technical foul for intentional/flagrant dead ball contact. b. A common personal foul or an intentional/flagrant personal foul. 2. During a throw-in while A4 is holding the ball out-of-bounds, B4 steps across the boundary plane and punches A4 in the face. How are you penalizing this action? a. A breaking the plane violation by Team B and a dead ball flagrant technical foul. b. A flagrant personal foul. In both cases, who may attempt the FTs is different depending upon your answer, so this does matter and must be clearly covered by the rules. I hope that you find these examples more satisfactory for comparison to MS's line of thinking. |
Quote:
However, in #1, the elbow violation is still a judgement call. So, you could easily ignore it, and be within the rules, and then call a personal foul of any type. There is also nothing in the rules that says you can't call the swing and then call the contact as a T. So, there is no rules justification for saying either one is the right call over the other one. There may be interpretations or philosophies that direct us to call it as a live ball foul, but it isn't required in the rules. Breaking the plane, on the other hand, is black/white, no judgement needed. They player either crossed the line or they didn't. #2 is a much better example IMHO. (While that opens up the rules conflict where a punch is defined as a fight and a fight is declared to be a technical foul while live ball contact is defined as a personal foul, I'm going to ignore that issue). We do have a case play that says if it is one act, to treat it as the most severe of the possibilities. However, if it is clearly two actions, where B steps across the line and then in a 2nd movement, punched A4, I've got a plane violation and then a T. If, however, B4 swings from inbounds and through the plane and connecting in one motion, I have a flagrant T....per the case play directing us to treat one action as one infraction of the more severe type. |
Camron, in the case where you'd call a violation followed by a T, would you be ok with two Ts if there had already been a DOG warning?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Ok, I don't think two incidents really contradicts Rut's main point here.
|
And I Hope That I Never Have To Call A Blarge ...
Quote:
|
I sWon't Call Goal Tending, Travelling, & Time Outs...Oh, and Held Balls. You?
Quote:
If there were a LIKE button here I would not click on it. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
While I don't want to be the first guy in Colorado to call a ten second violation on a ft in a high school game, I've got no problem with other rare calls. |
You mean not this DoG?
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4OGdkoeqG0Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
That's funny. That's a mole...as in whack a mole.
|
Unsporting ???
Would anyone consider the barking dog play unsporting, and deserving of a technical foul?
|
Quote:
|
Woof woof !!!!!!
+1.... I hope that the AD would suspend that coach a game for that behavior!!!! But anyway a good technical foul is in order !!!!
Note from AllPurposeGamer: Keep the politics out of this thread |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm. |