The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   DoG on Inbound throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92341-dog-inbound-throw.html)

Adam Sat Sep 08, 2012 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jrutledge (Post 853636)
+1

peace

+2

Freddy Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:12am

I'll Pile On
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 853655)
+2

+7(3.14/(number of officials in the crew + x))-(23(level of contest/timeouts left) + (# of jersey numbers over 55)) :)

(slow day at work today :o)

BillyMac Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:33am

Things That Make You Go Hmmm ...
 
Situation A: Team A prepares to make a "run the endline throwin". Only two Team A players are in the backcourt, A1, standing out of bounds, with the ball, and A2, standing inbounds, on the weak side, below the bottom lane space block, just a few inches off the endline. A1 releases a pass to A2 and B1 crosses the endline to knock away the pass. What's the call? I'm sure that we would all agree that this is a legal defensive play since the inbounds pass had already been released.

Situation B: Team A prepares to make a "run the endline throwin". Only two Team A players are in the backcourt, A1, standing out of bounds, with the ball, and A2, standing out of bounds, on the weak side. A1 releases a pass to A2 and B1 crosses the endline to knock away the pass. What's the call? I'm sure that we would all agree that B1 would be charged with a technical foul, with no warning, for crossing the endline and touching the ball before the inbounds pass had already been released. And, of course, the technical foul would also "count" as a warning for any further delay of game situations.

Now the fun starts.

Situation C: Team A prepares to make a "run the endline throwin". Only three Team A players are in the backcourt, A1, standing out of bounds, with the ball; A2, standing out of bounds, on the weak side (A2 arrived in this position after his momentum, while defending a Team B player, took him out of bounds); and A3, standing inbounds, on the weak side, below the bottom lane space block, just a few inches off the endline, and just a few inches away from A2, who is on the other, out of bounds side, of the endline. A1 releases a pass, in the general direction of both A2, and A3, and B1 crosses the endline to knock away the pass. What's the call?

Freddy Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:48am

Well..........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 853659)
Situation B: Team A prepares to make a "run the endline throwin". Only two Team A players are in the backcourt, A1, standing out of bounds, with the ball, and A2, standing out of bounds, on the weak side. A1 releases a pass to A2 and B1 crosses the endline to knock away the pass. What's the call? I'm sure that we would all agree that B1 would be charged with a technical foul, with no warning, for crossing the endline and touching the ball before the inbounds pass had already been released.

Not sure whether I agree. This sitch seems like a 10-1-5c which would result in a 4-47-1.
Or am I missing something?

Still trying to fathom Situation C.....

BillyMac Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:04am

9-2-Penalty 3 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853661)
Not sure whether I agree (Situation B). Or am I missing something?

If an opponent(s) reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and
touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being
passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical
foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. See
10-3-10 Penalty.

10-3-10: A player shall not: Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or
dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3.

Adam Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:16am

With C, it would have to be excruciatingly obvious that the pass was destined for the OOB teammate before I call the T (or DOG).

Camron Rust Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 853659)
Situation C: Team A prepares to make a "run the endline throwin". Only three Team A players are in the backcourt, A1, standing out of bounds, with the ball; A2, standing out of bounds, on the weak side (A2 arrived in this position after his momentum, while defending a Team B player, took him out of bounds); and A3, standing inbounds, on the weak side, below the bottom lane space block, just a few inches off the endline, and just a few inches away from A2, who is on the other, out of bounds side, of the endline. A1 releases a pass, in the general direction of both A2, and A3, and B1 crosses the endline to knock away the pass. What's the call?

I have nothing. If the situation is truly ambiguous, I'm going with the legal option over calling a T. We simply have to make a judgement about whether it was an inbound pass or not.

APG Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:21am

In situation C I'm giving the benefit of the doubt to the defense.

Freddy Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:44am

Oh Yeah...A Duh
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 853664)
If an opponent(s) reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and
touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being
passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical
foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. See
10-3-10 Penalty.

10-3-10: A player shall not: Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or
dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3.

Thanx for the missing component as stated in your first citation. I knew that. Where did I leave my keys?

BillyMac Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:48am

Now, Why Did I Walk Into This Room ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853678)
Where did I leave my keys?

If you find them, please let me know if my reading glasses are in the same place.

Nevadaref Sat Sep 08, 2012 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 853519)
OK just for kicks..........

If I reach across the plane AND touch the ball, "BY RULE"...........didn't I violate first.........

I swing my elbow and clock you in the face. Didn't I violate first?

zm1283 Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 853535)
Honestly you cannot speak for everyone here, but I have not seen a player at the high school level even get close to a technical or intentional foul on a throw-in. The times when I have had to actually call this were a middle school and below and that was early in my career.

Peace

I think I have given two technicals for slapping the ball while the thrower had it in his hands. Both were obvious and couldn't and shouldn't have been ignored.

Apparently you have not seen how bad some of the basketball is in places far from you.

Adam Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 853747)
I think I have given two technicals for slapping the ball while the thrower had it in his hands. Both were obvious and couldn't and shouldn't have been ignored.

Apparently you have not seen how bad some of the basketball is in places far from you.

In high school games?

JRutledge Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 853747)
I think I have given two technicals for slapping the ball while the thrower had it in his hands. Both were obvious and couldn't and shouldn't have been ignored.

Apparently you have not seen how bad some of the basketball is in places far from you.

There is bad basketball everywhere and I see a lot of it during every season. A lot of very bad coached teams I will see every season as well.

But you said that this was ignored as if that it was only not being called because people decided not to call this violation of the rules. I just do not work a lot of basketball where this is even an issue. And I think it is more the case because older players know better, than how well coached they are.

Peace

Camron Rust Sun Sep 09, 2012 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 853707)
I swing my elbow and clock you in the face. Didn't I violate first?

Not a valid comparison.

It is still a foul, a technical foul specifically, to clock someone in the face with an elbow even during a dead ball.

However, there is nothing illegal about contacting a ball that is dead.

That, of course, is not to say that the case play on this topic is wrong.....just that your example doesn't work.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1