The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Water on the court... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92339-water-court.html)

PG_Ref Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853398)
Rule reference please?

10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.

Multiple Sports Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:49pm

ACC Tourney
 
Years ago (90's) Larry Rose called a technical foul in the ACC tourney for water on the floor and Fred Barakat (super of ACC) said he was wrong....

It was coming out of a TO and it took about 2 minutes to dry floor......

BNR - Do you remember this ?????? The game was NC State vs. ????

APG Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 853425)
ART. 5 . . . Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes
the following and similar acts:

I am getting ready to bounce the ball to the free-thrower and notice the kid getting a drink. He is not ready to play preventing the game from going on. That is why its illegal? That makes sense to me. If he spills it is a technical?

If a kid wants to drink water off to the side, he's not preventing the anything from happening. It becomes an issue if you have to delay the game because water has been spilled on the court. If the spillage and subsequent delay are coming out of a timeout, then a delay of game warning is appropriate. If not, by the strictest of reading, a technical foul could be issued. This would be something I'd see check to see what is "done in Rome."


Quote:

How rough you want to be on a coach for allowing a mess to be made during a 30 second time out is up to you? It could be a warning, DoG, or technical depending?

I have developed a lot of grey becoming an official. I am wondering if they are even allowed to bring water onto the court during a 30 second time out or ever just for the purpose of delaying the game due to a mess. Maybe you let them hang themselves and give a quick DoG for being stupid. Then how to do phrase a T could happen?

Thanks for the responses and help.
Assuming it's not something that can be cleaned up quickly, I'll hit the team with a delay of game warning. There's nothing that prohibits water being drunk on the court during a timeout but they run a risk of being hit with a DOG/or T (if they've already had a DOG warning). I can honestly say, I've called only one DOG warning for water on the court and it was something that couldn't be cleaned up quickly.

Raymond Thu Sep 06, 2012 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 853432)
Years ago (90's) Larry Rose called a technical foul in the ACC tourney for water on the floor and Fred Barakat (super of ACC) said he was wrong....

It was coming out of a TO and it took about 2 minutes to dry floor......

BNR - Do you remember this ?????? The game was NC State vs. ????

Yep, I remember the situation. Larry Rose was right by rule but still disciplined by Mr. Barakat.

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 03:15pm

Oops!
 
Verify if this is relevant to the one point in the original question:

Coach: With his team needing a break and no time outs remaining, calls a player over to the bench during a free throw to talk to him and give him some water. Oops :rolleyes:, the water spilled all over the floor. "Hey ref, give us time to clean this up over here."

Ref: "Okay, go ahead."

Coach: Has time now to gather a couple of players to give them needed instructions for the waning minutes of the game.

Other Coach :mad: : "Hey, what the . . . ? ? ?"

Naw, I guess if any of us observed malicious intent, we'd take care of it accordingly. This probably isn't so relevant after all. Though it's not above one or two coaches around here.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 06, 2012 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853429)
10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.


The ball was already live (in the OP)....it was "during" a FT. So, if the player misses, it is nothing, but if they make it creating a dead ball it becomes a T since a new live ball is being delayed???? I don't think so. The result should be the same regardless of the status of the ball.

The water spillage rule that has been referenced is for the resumption of play following a timeout.

The real question, ruleswise, is not whether it is delaying the game but whether the water bottle/cup is legal to be on the court whether it spills or not. If it is not legal, the player is not legally equipped, send them off the court. Would you let them play the game while walking around with an empty water bottle? If it is legal, you don't have any rule to enforce even if it happens to spill.

I believe that, technically, the a cup or bottle on the court is illegal equipment. Not allowed. The team can take a timeout, substitute, or wait until the end of the period.

Adam Thu Sep 06, 2012 09:19pm

I understand your point, Camron, but would you really prevent a player from taking a quick swig of water at his bench during a free throw? Assuming, of course, there haven't been any issues up to that point.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 853464)
I understand your point, Camron, but would you really prevent a player from taking a quick swig of water at his bench during a free throw? Assuming, of course, there haven't been any issues up to that point.

Probably not....but I'm sure not issuing a T if they spill it unless there are additional circumstances.

Adam Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 853469)
Probably not....but I'm sure not issuing a T if they spill it unless there are additional circumstances.

I agree. The rule is there if we need it, but I can't imagine not being able to fix it before needing the T.

Nevadaref Fri Sep 07, 2012 01:46am

PG Ref is 100% correct on the rule.
Camron posts exactly what I thought about for preventing a player from bringing water onto the court. It is illegal and players should not be doing this.
I would verbally warn first if there isn't a spill. If there is, then I would not hesitate to issue a T. What if no official saw the spill and the game continued with a player or official slipping and falling causing an injury? The coach and player jeopardized the safety of everyone on the court. That is unacceptable behavior.
The only formal warning for a spill comes after a time-out or intermission.

Multiple Sports Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:19pm

PG Ref - Joe Mitchell would be proud !!!!!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853429)
10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.

PG Ref,

Your rule knowledge is excellent.

PG_Ref Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:39pm

Thanks :) ... Excellent training at our association.

BigT Mon Sep 10, 2012 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 853462)
The ball was already live (in the OP)....it was "during" a FT. So, if the player misses, it is nothing, but if they make it creating a dead ball it becomes a T since a new live ball is being delayed???? I don't think so. The result should be the same regardless of the status of the ball.

The water spillage rule that has been referenced is for the resumption of play following a timeout.

The real question, ruleswise, is not whether it is delaying the game but whether the water bottle/cup is legal to be on the court whether it spills or not. If it is not legal, the player is not legally equipped, send them off the court. Would you let them play the game while walking around with an empty water bottle? If it is legal, you don't have any rule to enforce even if it happens to spill.

I believe that, technically, the a cup or bottle on the court is illegal equipment. Not allowed. The team can take a timeout, substitute, or wait until the end of the period.

Camron

If he drinks and hands the drink back before play continues you are ok with this? If he drops the bottle on the court you would call a DoG? If he spills water everywhere you would call a T?

MD Longhorn Mon Sep 10, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853555)
Thanks :) ... Excellent training at our association.

Excuse me, sir - I believe you have a small spot of brown on your nose there... :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1