The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Water on the court... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92339-water-court.html)

BigT Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:26am

Water on the court...
 
I have several questions. Been looking and can't find the rule so I am doubting myself.

Team A is shooting two free throws. Coach brings over the guard to chat with him and the kid is thirsty. Coach hands him a drink while his teammate is shooting.

I thought this was dis-allowed but I cant seem to find anything to support it.

He drops the water bottle and water goes everywhere what is the procedure?

We have a 30 second time out and the girls coach is letting them drink on the court. Time to start the game and coach motions me over and there is water every where on the court.

Delay of game warning? A technical? What is the spirit and letter of the law here? What do you guys do.

Thanks in advance,

Adobe search for the lose..

BillyMac Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:40am

God Spelled Backwards ...
 
DOG warning, unless they've already been warned for any type of delay of game, in which case, it's a technical foul. If not previously warned for any type of delay, next delay, of any type, I believe that there are four types of delays, is a technical foul.

BigT Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:47am

Where does it say in the rules that trying to drink on the court is a delay of game?

Thanks again for being the first to get back to me

PG_Ref Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:56am

See rule 10-1-5 b & f.

In your first case, there is nothing that I can recall that says the player can't have a drink while free throws are being attempted. However, you could assess a Tech for delay for spilling water on the court since it was not after a time out. In your second case, since it was after a time out, you issue a delay of game warning first. After that, any subsequent delay violation would be a Tech.

Raymond Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 853373)
Where does it say in the rules that trying to drink on the court is a delay of game?

...

I don't believe Billy said it was.

BillyMac Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:28pm

Timeout ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853375)
it was not after a time out ... since it was after a time out.

I don't have my rule book here at work. How important is the fact that the spillage is after a timeout, or not after a timeout, in terms of assessing penalties, either a DOG warning, or a DOG technical foul? Is the difference (timeout, no timeout) inconsequential, or is the difference important?

Also, can the coach avoid a delay warning, or a delay technical foul, by requesting, and being granted, a timeout to clean up the spillage?

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853375)
In your first case, there is nothing that I can recall that says the player can't have a drink while free throws are being attempted. However, you could assess a Tech for delay for spilling water on the court since it was not after a time out.

Rule reference please?

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:09pm

Not a 4-47, but a 10-1-5 "Similar Act"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853398)
Rule reference please?

The second situation is a 4-47 DoG situation, for which 10-1-5 prescribes the penalty.

The first situation shouldn't be confused with the precise prerequisites for a 4-47 DoG situation, methinks --sorry BMac :). The fact that this did not occur after a timeout is significant.
The "water on the court" episode in the OP seems to fit best under 10-1-5, "and similar acts:". However, since it did not occur after a time-out, ala 4-47, no written warning is necessary for a team technical to be given, if indeed that is what best suits the situation.

That 4-47 DoG and its oft-confused 4-38 ROP is detailed in an article found here (written for an association rules meeting), about which you are invited to make constructive comment:
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...TcxOGEyYmQ3ODk

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853408)
Best not to allow this to be confused with the precise prerequisites for a 4-47 situation, methinks.
The "water on the court" esisode in the given situation seems to fit best under 10-1-5, "and similar acts:". However, since it did not occur after a time-out, ala 4-47, no written warning is necessary for a team technical to be given, if indeed that is what best suits the situation.



IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:29pm

Don't Do Text Speak
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853409)
IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.

I guess the original question wasn't "would you pass on this?", but "where is it in the rulebook?"

Does "IDK" stand for "I Don't Know"?

Adam Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853409)
IDK Freddy, they get a pass in my games. Just wipe it up, coach.

I think Freddy is right. You don't need to use a warning. But I would give him one informal warning. Players are expected to drink during time outs. If they want to drink during play, they should be more careful about spilling.

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853411)
I guess the original question wasn't "would you pass on this?", but "where is it in the rulebook?"

Does "IDK" stands for "I Don't Know"?

Yesssir & I'm not sure the intent & purpose of the rule quite fits this situation.

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:51pm

Fine Line Between Confidence and Cockiness
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853413)
Yesssir & I'm not sure the intent & purpose of the rule quite fits this situation.

Cocky Response which I Won't Give: Well, I do know and am sure the intent & purpose of the rule fits this situation. :D

More Tactful and Reasonable Response: I guess it seems wise to always know what the rule is so as to be fully aware of what one is passing on when making a judicious decision to do so, which is sometimes fits the situation best. :)

tref Thu Sep 06, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 853419)
Cocky Response which I Won't Give: Well, I do know and am sure the intent & purpose of the rule fits this situation. :D

More Tactful and Reasonable Response: I guess it seems wise to always know what the rule is so as to be fully aware of what one is passing on when making a judicious decision to do so, which is sometimes fits the situation best. :)

Okay, I guess I'll rule that way when I see a rule or caseplay that says, when a player spills water on the floor during a FT the officials shall assess a T.

Until then, wipe it up coach.

BigT Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:11pm

ART. 5 . . . Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes
the following and similar acts:

I am getting ready to bounce the ball to the free-thrower and notice the kid getting a drink. He is not ready to play preventing the game from going on. That is why its illegal? That makes sense to me. If he spills it is a technical?

How rough you want to be on a coach for allowing a mess to be made during a 30 second time out is up to you? It could be a warning, DoG, or technical depending?

I have developed a lot of grey becoming an official. I am wondering if they are even allowed to bring water onto the court during a 30 second time out or ever just for the purpose of delaying the game due to a mess. Maybe you let them hang themselves and give a quick DoG for being stupid. Then how to do phrase a T could happen?

Thanks for the responses and help.

PG_Ref Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 853398)
Rule reference please?

10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.

Multiple Sports Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:49pm

ACC Tourney
 
Years ago (90's) Larry Rose called a technical foul in the ACC tourney for water on the floor and Fred Barakat (super of ACC) said he was wrong....

It was coming out of a TO and it took about 2 minutes to dry floor......

BNR - Do you remember this ?????? The game was NC State vs. ????

APG Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 853425)
ART. 5 . . . Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes
the following and similar acts:

I am getting ready to bounce the ball to the free-thrower and notice the kid getting a drink. He is not ready to play preventing the game from going on. That is why its illegal? That makes sense to me. If he spills it is a technical?

If a kid wants to drink water off to the side, he's not preventing the anything from happening. It becomes an issue if you have to delay the game because water has been spilled on the court. If the spillage and subsequent delay are coming out of a timeout, then a delay of game warning is appropriate. If not, by the strictest of reading, a technical foul could be issued. This would be something I'd see check to see what is "done in Rome."


Quote:

How rough you want to be on a coach for allowing a mess to be made during a 30 second time out is up to you? It could be a warning, DoG, or technical depending?

I have developed a lot of grey becoming an official. I am wondering if they are even allowed to bring water onto the court during a 30 second time out or ever just for the purpose of delaying the game due to a mess. Maybe you let them hang themselves and give a quick DoG for being stupid. Then how to do phrase a T could happen?

Thanks for the responses and help.
Assuming it's not something that can be cleaned up quickly, I'll hit the team with a delay of game warning. There's nothing that prohibits water being drunk on the court during a timeout but they run a risk of being hit with a DOG/or T (if they've already had a DOG warning). I can honestly say, I've called only one DOG warning for water on the court and it was something that couldn't be cleaned up quickly.

Raymond Thu Sep 06, 2012 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 853432)
Years ago (90's) Larry Rose called a technical foul in the ACC tourney for water on the floor and Fred Barakat (super of ACC) said he was wrong....

It was coming out of a TO and it took about 2 minutes to dry floor......

BNR - Do you remember this ?????? The game was NC State vs. ????

Yep, I remember the situation. Larry Rose was right by rule but still disciplined by Mr. Barakat.

Freddy Thu Sep 06, 2012 03:15pm

Oops!
 
Verify if this is relevant to the one point in the original question:

Coach: With his team needing a break and no time outs remaining, calls a player over to the bench during a free throw to talk to him and give him some water. Oops :rolleyes:, the water spilled all over the floor. "Hey ref, give us time to clean this up over here."

Ref: "Okay, go ahead."

Coach: Has time now to gather a couple of players to give them needed instructions for the waning minutes of the game.

Other Coach :mad: : "Hey, what the . . . ? ? ?"

Naw, I guess if any of us observed malicious intent, we'd take care of it accordingly. This probably isn't so relevant after all. Though it's not above one or two coaches around here.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 06, 2012 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853429)
10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.


The ball was already live (in the OP)....it was "during" a FT. So, if the player misses, it is nothing, but if they make it creating a dead ball it becomes a T since a new live ball is being delayed???? I don't think so. The result should be the same regardless of the status of the ball.

The water spillage rule that has been referenced is for the resumption of play following a timeout.

The real question, ruleswise, is not whether it is delaying the game but whether the water bottle/cup is legal to be on the court whether it spills or not. If it is not legal, the player is not legally equipped, send them off the court. Would you let them play the game while walking around with an empty water bottle? If it is legal, you don't have any rule to enforce even if it happens to spill.

I believe that, technically, the a cup or bottle on the court is illegal equipment. Not allowed. The team can take a timeout, substitute, or wait until the end of the period.

Adam Thu Sep 06, 2012 09:19pm

I understand your point, Camron, but would you really prevent a player from taking a quick swig of water at his bench during a free throw? Assuming, of course, there haven't been any issues up to that point.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 853464)
I understand your point, Camron, but would you really prevent a player from taking a quick swig of water at his bench during a free throw? Assuming, of course, there haven't been any issues up to that point.

Probably not....but I'm sure not issuing a T if they spill it unless there are additional circumstances.

Adam Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 853469)
Probably not....but I'm sure not issuing a T if they spill it unless there are additional circumstances.

I agree. The rule is there if we need it, but I can't imagine not being able to fix it before needing the T.

Nevadaref Fri Sep 07, 2012 01:46am

PG Ref is 100% correct on the rule.
Camron posts exactly what I thought about for preventing a player from bringing water onto the court. It is illegal and players should not be doing this.
I would verbally warn first if there isn't a spill. If there is, then I would not hesitate to issue a T. What if no official saw the spill and the game continued with a player or official slipping and falling causing an injury? The coach and player jeopardized the safety of everyone on the court. That is unacceptable behavior.
The only formal warning for a spill comes after a time-out or intermission.

Multiple Sports Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:19pm

PG Ref - Joe Mitchell would be proud !!!!!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853429)
10-1-5

ART. 5

Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

In the OP, the scenario was that the player spilled water "everywhere". If there's water on the court and the game is being delayed to clean it up, it would fall under 5b. Whether to enforce it or not is each crew's call to make.

PG Ref,

Your rule knowledge is excellent.

PG_Ref Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:39pm

Thanks :) ... Excellent training at our association.

BigT Mon Sep 10, 2012 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 853462)
The ball was already live (in the OP)....it was "during" a FT. So, if the player misses, it is nothing, but if they make it creating a dead ball it becomes a T since a new live ball is being delayed???? I don't think so. The result should be the same regardless of the status of the ball.

The water spillage rule that has been referenced is for the resumption of play following a timeout.

The real question, ruleswise, is not whether it is delaying the game but whether the water bottle/cup is legal to be on the court whether it spills or not. If it is not legal, the player is not legally equipped, send them off the court. Would you let them play the game while walking around with an empty water bottle? If it is legal, you don't have any rule to enforce even if it happens to spill.

I believe that, technically, the a cup or bottle on the court is illegal equipment. Not allowed. The team can take a timeout, substitute, or wait until the end of the period.

Camron

If he drinks and hands the drink back before play continues you are ok with this? If he drops the bottle on the court you would call a DoG? If he spills water everywhere you would call a T?

MD Longhorn Mon Sep 10, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 853555)
Thanks :) ... Excellent training at our association.

Excuse me, sir - I believe you have a small spot of brown on your nose there... :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1