The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Carry, or No Call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91977-carry-no-call.html)

Adam Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:39pm

Carry, or No Call?
 
A1 dribbling, commits a clear carry as she tries to go around B1.

As I blow the whistle, B1 slaps the ball before it hits the ground following the ball coming to rest in A1's hand.

The ball has come to rest, and A1 has brought her hand around top again and begun pushing it to the floor. I thought my whistle was quick, but wanted to bring the play here for the good of the cause.

Camron Rust Mon Jul 09, 2012 01:43am

Interesting. But if you break it down, it is really just the oft ask question..."when does a dribble become a dribble?"

Fundamentally, the carry is really either an illegal dribble or a travel. For several years, that was all we had as a carry was not defined in the rule book. Either the player ended the dribble by catching the ball and started another dribble or has moved the feet while holding the ball.

So, would you have called a travel with any variation on this play, probably not.

That leaves illegal dribble. Did they start a new dribble after ending the first? Does releasing the ball constitute the start of a dribble? I think it does. Thus, I think they started a new dribble and violated.

It is just that sometimes, when it is ambiguous, we wait to see what happens next to declare it a dribble. In this case, I think it is fine to have called the violation. The fact that he dribble was intercepted by the defense doesn't make it something other than dribble.

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2012 05:59am

From Your Friendly Neighborhood Mythbusters ...
 
Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 848482)
Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

????

Where was the myth in my post?

26 Year Gap Mon Jul 09, 2012 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848470)
A1 dribbling, commits a clear carry as she tries to go around B1. (This happened)
As I blow the whistle(so you did this), B1 slaps the ball before it hits the ground following the ball coming to rest in A1's hand.(Then, after the violation which was why you sounded the whistle, this happened).
The ball has come to rest, and A1 has brought her hand around top again and begun pushing it to the floor. I thought my whistle was quick, but wanted to bring the play here for the good of the cause.

I think you may be making more of this than needs to be.

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 848573)
I think you may be making more of this than needs to be.

Maybe, but Camron's response is interesting, in that I was firmly in the "it's not a dribble until it hits his hand again" camp. Yet this particular play seemed obvious to me.

Besides, it's summer.

Raymond Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848578)
Maybe, but Camron's response is interesting, in that I was firmly in the "it's not a dribble until it hits his hand again" camp. Yet this particular play seemed obvious to me.

Besides, it's summer.

To me it's just a summer lesson in not being too quick with your whistle. If it were a camp and B1 ended up with ball you would be getting a speech from an observor about the benefits of a patient whistle.

Toren Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:33pm

I'm confused
 
I'm picturing A1 "about" to committ a carry as their hand is underneath the ball and they are "about" to continue their dribble, but B1 deflects the ball before the dribble hits the ground.

Is this correct?

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 848585)
I'm picturing A1 "about" to committ a carry as their hand is underneath the ball and they are "about" to continue their dribble, but B1 deflects the ball before the dribble hits the ground.

Is this correct?

No, her hand went under the ball, but had come back around to the top and she'd start the push downward when B1 clipped it.

tref Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:53pm

To-ma-to / To-mah-to
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 848585)
I'm picturing A1 "about" to committ a carry as their hand is underneath the ball and they are "about" to continue their dribble, but B1 deflects the ball before the dribble hits the ground.

Is this correct?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848586)
No, her hand went under the ball, but had come back around to the top and she'd start the push downward when B1 clipped it.

If a player is "about" to gain an advantage by carrying the ball, but its stolen prior to the violation, who does our whistle put at a disadvantage?

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:16pm

Once Upon A Time ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848527)
Where was the myth in my post?

No myth, just highlighting Camron Rust's statement, "Fundamentally, the carry is really either an illegal dribble or a travel."

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 848587)
If a player is "about" to gain an advantage by carrying the ball, but its stolen prior to the violation, who does our whistle put at a disadvantage?

Good question, but the ball wasn't stolen. She was continuing her dribble and would have gone around the defender. The ball was deflected only slightly, and the defender was leaning the wrong way.

tref Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:32pm

Lean Back
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848593)
Good question, but the ball wasn't stolen. She was continuing her dribble and would have gone around the defender. The ball was deflected only slightly, and the defender was leaning the wrong way.

Sounds like a nasty position to be in, officiating-wise.
Thank God "I'm not a good womens official" keeps me off of those games for the most part.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:46pm

Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.

just another ref Mon Jul 09, 2012 06:22pm

The touch by the opponent is not relevant to the dribble unless it causes a loss of control. Did it? Even it it did, if the touch occurs after the release, which is the start of the second dribble, it is still a violation.

Camron Rust Mon Jul 09, 2012 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 848605)
The touch by the opponent is not relevant to the dribble unless it causes a loss of control. Did it? Even it it did, if the touch occurs after the release, which is the start of the second dribble, it is still a violation.

Agree.

JetMetFan Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848470)
A1 dribbling, commits a clear carry as she tries to go around B1.

As I blow the whistle, B1 slaps the ball before it hits the ground following the ball coming to rest in A1's hand.

The ball has come to rest, and A1 has brought her hand around top again and begun pushing it to the floor. I thought my whistle was quick, but wanted to bring the play here for the good of the cause.

So...the ball had left the dribbler's hand? If that's the case the violation took place before the ball was touched by the defender.

Adam Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 848635)
So...the ball had left the dribbler's hand? If that's the case the violation took place before the ball was touched by th defender.

No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.

just another ref Tue Jul 10, 2012 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848636)
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.

It was still in contact with the hand while the touch by the defender occurred, then released, then you had a whistle?

So, in your judgment, the touch had no effect on the release, correct?

Camron Rust Tue Jul 10, 2012 02:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848636)
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.

In that case, I think you may have jumped the gun a bit.

I don't think it is a dribble until it is released (if not even later). Why? The pivot foot restrictions as they relate to the dribble are relative to the release of the ball to "start" a dribble.

What if she had, somehow, caught the ball before it was clear from the hand (perhaps scooping it back to her self to catch it)? Ignoring the carry rule, would you have called that an illegal dribble? Doesn't that more resemble an awkward looking but fully legal way to end the dribble.

A player can even toss the ball into the air and catch it and as long as they don't move, that isn't a dribble (illegal or legal) and it isn't a travel.

JetMetFan Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848636)
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.

Okay, that's why I asked the question.

To follow CR's point, there wasn't anything until the ball came out of her hand again. At best it could have been a travel since - I'm assuming - her feet were still moving in whatever direction she was going and she might have taken a couple of steps after the ball came to rest in her hand. With the ball still in contact with her hand it couldn't have been an illegal dribble.

Adam Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 848672)
Okay, that's why I asked the question.

To follow CR's point, there wasn't anything until the ball came out of her hand again. At best it could have been a travel since - I'm assuming - her feet were still moving in whatever direction she was going and she might have taken a couple of steps after the ball came to rest in her hand. With the ball still in contact with her hand it couldn't have been an illegal dribble.

It happened more quickly than that, and I'll add that B1's touch didn't affect the ball in any material way. My whistle may have been early, but I don't think it was incorrect. Unless you think B1's touch gives A1 another dribble.

Imagine if A1 had actually picked up her dribble and as she started a new, illegal, dribble, B1 clips the ball while it is still touching her hand but on its downward thrust. No affect on the ball's movement.

BillyMac Tue Jul 10, 2012 06:49pm

Ah Ha, The Plot Thickens ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848675)
Imagine if A1 had actually picked up her dribble and as she started a new, illegal, dribble, B1 clips the ball while it is still touching her hand but on its downward thrust. No affect on the ball's movement.

How does an official know that the action described above is not the start of a legal bounce pass to a teammate?

just another ref Tue Jul 10, 2012 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 848717)
How does an official know that the action described above is not the start of a legal bounce pass to a teammate?

How does an official know anything? You see the play and you make a judgment. Most of the time, a pass and the start of a dribble look nothing alike.

BillyMac Wed Jul 11, 2012 06:03am

Start Me Up ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 848724)
Most of the time, a (bounce) pass and the start of a dribble look nothing alike.

(My parenthesis above)

Aren't the start of both exactly the same, by definition? They certainly have a different ending, but I'm only talking about the start of both.

BillyMac Wed Jul 11, 2012 06:44am

What A Jerk ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 848738)
Aren't the start of both exactly the same, by definition? They certainly have a different ending, but I'm only talking about the start of both.

Hey BillyMac. This is, by far, the stupidest post, ever, in the history of Al Gore's internet. One important difference is that a player can legally lift the pivot foot at the start of a bounce pass, but cannot legally lift the pivot foot to start a dribble.

Rob1968 Wed Jul 11, 2012 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 848597)
seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that b did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - i'd have no call in either case.

+1

Adam Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 848597)
Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.

Actually, it did come back to her hand, directly. 1. B1's contact did not alter the ball, and it happened while the ball was in A1's hand. This sort of contact would not grant a player a new dribble, so why should it absolve her of the carry?

My whistle was, perhaps, early, but I don't think it was incorrect.

Adam Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 848649)
In that case, I think you may have jumped the gun a bit.

I agree.

jump stop Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 848597)
Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.

+2
If the player catches dribble by putting hand under ball (i.e. carries) and then pushes ball out of hand to floor there is no violation unless player touches ball after release. Who is to say player wasn't going to pass ball??
So I have no call.

tref Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jump stop (Post 848760)
If the player catches dribble by putting hand under ball (i.e. carries) and then pushes ball out of hand to floor there is no violation unless player touches ball after release. Who is to say player wasn't going to pass ball??
So I have no call.

As jar mentioned earlier:

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 848724)
Most of the time, a pass and the start of a dribble look nothing alike.

The rulebook definition of a dribble & when it begins doesnt support your ruling on this play either. 4-15 Art 1 & 3 in particular.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848758)
My whistle was, perhaps, early, but I don't think it was incorrect.

That's what we all say! The CC as well as the easy out here should've a defensive foul for reaching :D

Camron Rust Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 848597)
Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.

The touch by B doesn't give A a new dribble unless A lost control of the ball as part of it. A no call is not an option.

just another ref Wed Jul 11, 2012 06:54pm

A second touch is not necessary to constitute a dribble. Read the definition:

......a player pushes the ball to the floor, once or several times......

See the play, judge the action, then make the call if necessary.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1