The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Celtics/Sixers Game 7 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91381-celtics-sixers-game-7-a.html)

JRutledge Wed May 30, 2012 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 843968)
You're going to ask a former NBA official to review a call by a current NBA official? How do you think he'll respond? I'll save you the time. He's going to concur: "they made the right call...charging".

Do you really think he's going to go against any call a current crew in the post season makes, especially if he know's you are going to take that opinion back to a public discussion board?

Considering he is a current NBA evaluator and someone we go to for training in my area, I think he will give his honest answer. He told me what he felt about a play last year that was a block/charge call and I asked him about before the playoffs were over last year. He has in the past used video and examples from the NBA to teach officials at camps and meetings with his knowledge. I already have a good idea what he is going to say anyway, but I would like to confirm that feeling. I also did not necessarily say I was going to bring it to the entire board either.

Peace

JetMetFan Wed May 30, 2012 09:45am

Here are Pierce and Young as Young establishes LGP

http://i47.tinypic.com/2lwvz7m.jpg

Young and Pierce right before contact.

http://i50.tinypic.com/o32aq.jpg


So...what did Young do that was illegal? BTW, if I took a shot from two frames later Young gets hit in the chest.

Camron Rust Wed May 30, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 843944)
Sorry fellas - watched it again. And again. I disagree that (a) defender was straight in front of the dribbler and (b) had both feet on the floor for LGP.
Really?

If he isn't straight in front of him with two feet down, I guess that is an impossible requirement. The still shot by JetMetFan above , or just slightly before that when the dribbler is turning his path from right to left, crossing the defender, is exactly that. Nothing says he has to have his feet down and be in his path for anything more than an instant....he doesn't have to be SET in his path as the dribbler comes at him as it seems you and a couple of others are implying.


Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 843944)
Also disagree that any movement was "in the path" (definitely sideways). Not saying it wasn't a bang-bang play, but neither is it as obvious as you're making it out to be.

Uh, sideways is in the path if the path is shifting sideways.


Your can certainly disagree with the conclusion but your descriptions of what the player is required to do to get and maintain LGP don't match the rules.

Camron Rust Wed May 30, 2012 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 843985)
So...given these definitions, what did the defender do on this play that was illegal?

To the letter even.

He more than got to "the spot" first since the contact was more on his trailing side than his leading side. He was there before the dribbler. And his movement was not toward the dribbler...it was away from him.

Welpe Wed May 30, 2012 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843617)
Textbook charge....not even close.

I agree. This is not that close.

Adam Wed May 30, 2012 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 844039)
I agree. This is not that close.

I agree with Camron.

Camron Rust Wed May 30, 2012 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 844039)
I agree. This is not that close.

At least it is not if you judge the play by the actual rules instead of by common misconceptions of what a defender can or can't do.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1