The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Celtics/Sixers Game 7 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91381-celtics-sixers-game-7-a.html)

canuckrefguy Sun May 27, 2012 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 843605)
I've heard Ronnie Nunn say time and time again that when the guard and the dribbler arrive at the same spot at the same time, it's a block. I don't think the defender beats him to the spot. Tough call either way.

+1

Block

Camron Rust Sun May 27, 2012 02:22pm

Textbook charge....not even close.

Bad Zebra Mon May 28, 2012 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843617)
Textbook charge....not even close.

Not even close? Really? I doubt we'd be having this debate if it wasn't a lttle bit close.

JugglingReferee Mon May 28, 2012 10:02am

PC and the T buys the slot a beer.

Raymond Mon May 28, 2012 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 843593)
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/lbDHPqfki9A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I agree with the call but don't agree with the Slot having the whistle. Lead and Trail both had a clear view of the play and the Slot had a body directly in between him and the play.

Raymond Mon May 28, 2012 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843617)
Textbook charge....not even close.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 843689)
Not even close? Really? I doubt we'd be having this debate if it wasn't a lttle bit close.

We are having thiis debate b/c some officials just aren't honest with themselves. :D

JetMetFan Mon May 28, 2012 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843617)
Textbook charge....not even close.

CR, I'm with you. I didn't even need to look at the slo-mo on this one. Contact in the torso. Defender established then maintained LGP. I know we're having debate on it in the string but there really isn't much question.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 843553)
Defender was not set.

BZ, what does the defender not being "set" have to do with anything? Pierce was dribbling so that has no bearing.

Toren Mon May 28, 2012 11:05am

Wow, takes guts to make that call on Pierce.

I liked the PC here, using Fed rules. I'm no NBA official so I don't know if NBA rules differ. But in High School, that's a PC 100% of the time (or should be)

twocentsworth Mon May 28, 2012 12:02pm

if anyone EVER needs evidence that there are NOT enough player control/charging calls made, simply read through this thread......here is your evidence.

LGP was established by the defender, he moved laterally to maintain LGP, & the offensive player moved into and thru the defender.....all of that makes this a charge.

The fact that there is so much disagreement means that we ALL need more rule and video review to call these correctly.

Take away the time/score of the game, take away the offensive player (and the # of personal fouls he has), and forget that this is Game 7......

In any game, on any level....this is a player control foul.

dahoopref Mon May 28, 2012 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 843697)
I agree with the call but don't agree with the Slot having the whistle. Lead and Trail both had a clear view of the play and the Slot had a body directly in between him and the play.

I can see your point but sometimes (and I think in this case) the Slot has the best "open look" at the play. The T and L are looking at the backs of the players and thus have a "closed look."

As others have said, I've heard many evaluators echo the "if 2 players arrive at a spot at the same time, it's a block" theory. My supervisor also says that if he has to look at a play 2x's when bodies end up on the floor, then he is fine with whatever call was made on the floor as long as a whistle blew.

A great crew saving call either way.

Camron Rust Mon May 28, 2012 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 843689)
Not even close? Really? I doubt we'd be having this debate if it wasn't a lttle bit close.


He was only in his path with 2 feet down a whole 4 steps before contact . I'm not sure what else he needed to to to obtain LGP. After that, he moved, but did so legally and even got 2 feet down in Pierce's path once (maybe twice) more. The only thing he didn't do was satisfy the myth of needing to be "set". But last time I check, most of us didn't rule based on myths.

Bad Zebra Mon May 28, 2012 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843712)
He was only in his path with 2 feet down a whole 4 steps before contact . I'm not sure what else he needed to to to obtain LGP...

Thats not the way I see it. Defender looked like he slid into Pierce's path right before contact and did not establish LGP before he got clobbered. Maybe I've got green colored glasses on...but he was not in Pierce's path 4 steps away.

JRutledge Mon May 28, 2012 01:11pm

What did the defender do wrong? He is back up and gets in front of the ball handler. This is a charge all the way, every day and all day and twice on Sunday.

This is not about getting to a spot at the same time, the defender was there and got RTFOd.

I am calling a charge all the time on this play, even if it is close.

Peace

ballgame99 Tue May 29, 2012 03:38pm

I have a charge.

KMBReferee Tue May 29, 2012 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 843694)
PC and the T buys the slot a beer.

Exactly, because the T should have called the PC. The C called that out of his area. PC happened off the opposite elbow and the slash originated from the wing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1