The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Celtics/Sixers Game 7 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91381-celtics-sixers-game-7-a.html)

Scrapper1 Sat May 26, 2012 09:30pm

Celtics/Sixers Game 7
 
So what do we think of the offensive foul that DQ'd Pierce?

bainsey Sat May 26, 2012 09:51pm

I'm a Celtics fan (and a happy one right now), and I thought it was a charge. Defender obtained LGP and was moving obliquely, and Pierce caused the contact.

Bad Zebra Sat May 26, 2012 10:07pm

I'm also a Celts fan and I thought it was a block. Defender was not set..stepped in late. Brutal call on Pierce for a SIXTH foul. Overall, the crew seemed inconsistent. I saw a couple felonies (from both teams) go uncalled...and a couple minor brushes draw a whistle. Not a big fan of this crew.

I hope to see (Joey) Crawford & Co. in Miami Monday

Adam Sat May 26, 2012 11:06pm

I asked APG to pull the video, but I rewound the game (I missed that part when putting my kids to bed) when I saw a Celtics fan on FB ask about the foul.

I liked the call. Defender doesn't have to be set, he had LGP, IMO, and was moving within the restrictions provided in the rules.

BillyMac Sun May 27, 2012 05:14am

A Tommy Award For The Officials ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 843540)
So what do we think of the offensive foul that DQ'd Pierce?

More importantly, what did Tommy Heinsohn think about it?

referee930 Sun May 27, 2012 08:36am

Unfortunately Joe Crawford and Marc Davis are working Game 1 of Thunder/Spurs.

APG Sun May 27, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee930 (Post 843578)
Unfortunately Joe Crawford and Marc Davis are working Game 1 of Thunder/Spurs.

Joe Crawford, Marc Davis, Greg Willard with John Goble as the alternate...that's an excellent crew.

Jay R Sun May 27, 2012 10:44am

I have no problem with the charge here. Bang bang play.

The no call I didn't like was about 60 seconds before Pierce fouled out. Rondo was defending a 76ers player (I forget who) and the Sixer two handed Rondo into another player to free himself up. I rewound that one to make sure and yes McCutchen was looking right at it and he had no call. In fact he was giving Rondo the "get up" signal while Doc Rivers was ready to lose it.

Scrapper1 Sun May 27, 2012 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 843586)
the Sixer two handed Rondo into another player to free himself up. I rewound that one to make sure and yes McCutchen was looking right at it and he had no call. In fact he was giving Rondo the "get up" signal

Agree. I'm sure they'll review it and ask what Monty saw on the play, but I have to think it goes down as and NCI.

Another NCI came just a little later when Brand and a Celtic got very slightly tangled on the right side block. Brand pulls the Celtic defender to the floor, no whistle, Brand gets up and flashes to the RA arc on the left side of the lane gets a pass completely undefended, turns to the basket for the lay-up and gets fouled by the defender who had been on the ground.

My guess is that there was no whistle because both players went to the ground, but on replay, it sure looked to me like Brand clamped and pulled to bring the Celtic defender down.

APG Sun May 27, 2012 11:32am

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/lbDHPqfki9A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

twocentsworth Sun May 27, 2012 12:34pm

That was ABSOLUTELY an offensive foul on Pierce.

BillyMac Sun May 27, 2012 12:40pm

Opinionated ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843596)
That was ABSOLUTELY an offensive foul on Pierce.

... says "Bizarro World" Tommy Heinsohn.

APG Sun May 27, 2012 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 843553)
I'm also a Celts fan and I thought it was a block. Defender was not set..stepped in late. Brutal call on Pierce for a SIXTH foul. Overall, the crew seemed inconsistent. I saw a couple felonies (from both teams) go uncalled...and a couple minor brushes draw a whistle. Not a big fan of this crew.

I hope to see (Joey) Crawford & Co. in Miami Monday

What is this business about being set? :confused: How was this a "brutal call"? All the defender has to do is get his torso directly in the path of the offensive player and beat the player to the spot. The beginning of your post has all the ear marks of a fan.

IMO, it was a close play, but I think the defender, JUST, beat the offensive player to the spot and thus a correct call on the offensive foul.

BillyMac Sun May 27, 2012 12:55pm

Correct Interpretation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 843603)
I think the defender, JUST, beat the offensive player to the spot and thus a correct call on the offensive foul.

And I would concur.

BktBallRef Sun May 27, 2012 12:56pm

I've heard Ronnie Nunn say time and time again that when the guard and the dribbler arrive at the same spot at the same time, it's a block. I don't think the defender beats him to the spot. Tough call either way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1