![]() |
Confused In Connecticut ...
AllPurposeGamer: Nice "pass and crash" video. Thanks for posting. There's a lot to learn in this video, and a situation that many of us see more than just a few times each season.
In real time, I've got a team control charge, no basket. Lead official gives player control foul signal (hand behind head), not the team control "punch"? Did he call the "offensive" foul before the ball was passed? I like the patience of the trail official, who puts up his fist but doesn't give a preliminary signal, thus avoiding the possible, dreaded, infamous, "blarge". Many years ago our local board used the "train wreck" mantra, "Lead has the pass, trail has the crash". Now we are taught to stay in our primary. |
Quote:
|
Player Control Foul Signal ???
Quote:
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7230/7...971ca927_m.jpg |
Quote:
|
Pictures Don't Lie ...
Quote:
http://ts1.mm.bing.net/images/thumbn...864c7557306b2f |
Good call by both officials. Definitely a team control foul by the ball handler.
I do not understand how someone would pass on this play....the ball handler went to AND thru the defender who had LGP. |
Quote:
If you think about it, the timing of these type of plays almost NEVER allows for this basket to count. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
When we get to a discussion of block/charge, I'll agree with you on the exception to the Dead Ball rule..... For the purposes of this thread...I'll repeat myself: the ball handler who makes a pass (in a pass-n-crash plays) virtually ALWAYS commits the foul before the receiver of his pass releases the ball. You will almost never count the basket in this type of play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I got a block, basket is good.
Hated the mechanic by the lead, loved the hold on the mechanic by the C. Now college rules are different than high school rules in how we adjudicate (if the call had been as I described?)? Good play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If I were the Lead in this game (or the center), I would have called a team control foul on the passer. Shot not released prior to the foul, therefore no basket. If you were the Lead in this gme (or the center), you would have called a blocking foul on the defender. If you deemed the foul to have occurred AFTER the natural shooting motion began, then you would count the basket. We each have the rule interpretation right....we just disagree on the blocking foul. IMHO, this is a pretty clear-cut team control foul on the passer. They could put the video of this play next to this rule in the online rule book as the "gold standard". |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm. |