The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You Make The Call: Pass And Crash (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91377-you-make-call-pass-crash.html)

APG Sat May 26, 2012 01:36pm

You Make The Call: Pass And Crash
 
<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2IGwCpoAr9A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Camron Rust Sat May 26, 2012 01:38pm

1st view...block...and count the basket.

2nd view....same.

3rd view...same.

Scrapper1 Sat May 26, 2012 03:00pm

Block, not sure about the basket. Hard to tell if he started the motion. Probably would give the benefit of the doubt to the shooter.

JugglingReferee Sat May 26, 2012 03:15pm

Block and count it.

bainsey Sat May 26, 2012 03:59pm

I see things differently here. What did the defender do wrong?

canuckrefguy Sat May 26, 2012 04:38pm

Block. No basket.

Defender moved into the passer.

Camron Rust Sat May 26, 2012 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 843506)
Block. No basket.

Defender moved into the passer.


And, since the passer was moving and didn't have the ball, the defender had to be in his path with time/distance.

APG Sat May 26, 2012 05:46pm

Personally, I don't think the contact warranted a foul.

Lotto Sat May 26, 2012 05:52pm

I looked at this frame by frame. When the defender comes into view, the offensive player still has the ball and the defender has LGP - two feet down and facing the dribbler, who still has the ball so no time and distance applies. From that moment on, the defender retreats a half step and then straightens up. So, this looks to me like either a no call or a charge.

Terrapins Fan Sat May 26, 2012 06:47pm

At game speed, block, no basket.

JetMetFan Sat May 26, 2012 06:56pm

At first glance: no call and let them play through. For me it looked like the defender embellished the contact...probably because he was moving into the offensive player's path when contact was made.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat May 26, 2012 07:51pm

I have a block by Green because he stepped to his left with his left foot into White's path after White had releashed his path.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Sat May 26, 2012 08:00pm

I need a better computer, because with the angle we have, I'm not seeing the same thing. I want either the lead's angle or a better computer with more definition; or both.

APG Sat May 26, 2012 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 843522)
I need a better computer, because with the angle we have, I'm not seeing the same thing. I want either the lead's angle or a better computer with more definition; or both.

I agree that the lead's angle on this would be best. Assuming the defender had/maintained legal guarding position, I'd still go with a no call.

Raymond Sun May 27, 2012 12:54am

Either a no-call and allow offense to score or block on B1 before A2 gained PC. Not giving Team A a basket and a foul.

BillyMac Sun May 27, 2012 05:24am

Confused In Connecticut ...
 
AllPurposeGamer: Nice "pass and crash" video. Thanks for posting. There's a lot to learn in this video, and a situation that many of us see more than just a few times each season.

In real time, I've got a team control charge, no basket.

Lead official gives player control foul signal (hand behind head), not the team control "punch"? Did he call the "offensive" foul before the ball was passed?

I like the patience of the trail official, who puts up his fist but doesn't give a preliminary signal, thus avoiding the possible, dreaded, infamous, "blarge".

Many years ago our local board used the "train wreck" mantra, "Lead has the pass, trail has the crash". Now we are taught to stay in our primary.

Rich Sun May 27, 2012 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 843570)
AllPurposeGamer: Nice "pass and crash" video. Thanks for posting. There's a lot to learn in this video, and a situation that many of us see more than just a few times each season.

In real time, I've got a team control charge, no basket.

Lead official gives player control foul signal (hand behind head), not the team control "punch"? Did he call the "offensive" foul before the ball was passed?

I like the patience of the trail official, who puts up his fist but doesn't give a preliminary signal, thus avoiding the possible, dreaded, infamous, "blarge".

Many years ago our local board used the mantra, "Lead has the pass, trail has the crash". Now we are taught to stay in our primary.

Watch the video again. The lead is signaling a push. No hand behind the head.

BillyMac Sun May 27, 2012 10:21am

Player Control Foul Signal ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GROUPthink (Post 843583)
Watch the video again. The lead is signaling a push. No hand behind the head.

I did. The lead's right hand is behind his head. It's the player control foul signal.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7230/7...971ca927_m.jpg

Jay R Sun May 27, 2012 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 843585)
I did. The lead's right hand is behind his head. It's the player control foul signal.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7230/7...971ca927_m.jpg

Maybe he has his hand behind his head for a half second but he definitely comes out with a push signal after.

BillyMac Sun May 27, 2012 10:52am

Pictures Don't Lie ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 843587)
Maybe he has his hand behind his head.

Maybe? And maybe bears defecate in the woods. Maybe the Pope's Catholic. Maybe the sky's blue. Maybe a one legged duck swims in a circle. Maybe a frog has a waterproof butt. Maybe chickens cross the road to get to the other side. Maybe water is wet. Maybe, just maybe, Elvis is dead.

http://ts1.mm.bing.net/images/thumbn...864c7557306b2f

twocentsworth Sun May 27, 2012 12:39pm

Good call by both officials. Definitely a team control foul by the ball handler.

I do not understand how someone would pass on this play....the ball handler went to AND thru the defender who had LGP.

twocentsworth Sun May 27, 2012 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 843501)
Block, not sure about the basket. Hard to tell if he started the motion. Probably would give the benefit of the doubt to the shooter.

Keep in mind that the ball has to be released by the shooter (not simply starting the act of shooting) when a teammate commits a foul in order for the basket to count.

If you think about it, the timing of these type of plays almost NEVER allows for this basket to count.

APG Sun May 27, 2012 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843597)
Good call by both officials. Definitely a team control foul by the ball handler.

I do not understand how someone would pass on this play....the ball handler went to AND thru the defender who had LGP.

See, I don't think he really went through the defender...I have the offensive player pulling up...then going to the side of the defender. The defender, IMO, embellished the amount of contact there was on the play.

Camron Rust Sun May 27, 2012 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 843501)
Block, not sure about the basket. Hard to tell if he started the motion. Probably would give the benefit of the doubt to the shooter.

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843599)
Keep in mind that the ball has to be released by the shooter (not simply starting the act of shooting) when a teammate commits a foul in order for the basket to count.

If you think about it, the timing of these type of plays almost NEVER allows for this basket to count.

Except (if you have a block), the foul is by an opponent of the shooter and the cutoff point is being in the act, not the release.

twocentsworth Sun May 27, 2012 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843618)
Except (if you have a block), the foul is by an opponent of the shooter and the cutoff point is being in the act, not the release.

How'bout we just focus on the topic of this thread, the corresponding video in OP, and assume that is what my post was commenting on?

When we get to a discussion of block/charge, I'll agree with you on the exception to the Dead Ball rule.....

For the purposes of this thread...I'll repeat myself: the ball handler who makes a pass (in a pass-n-crash plays) virtually ALWAYS commits the foul before the receiver of his pass releases the ball. You will almost never count the basket in this type of play.

Camron Rust Sun May 27, 2012 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843624)
How'bout we just focus on the topic of this thread, the corresponding video in OP, and assume that is what my post was commenting on?

When we get to a discussion of block/charge, I'll agree with you on the exception to the Dead Ball rule.....

For the purposes of this thread...I'll repeat myself: the ball handler who makes a pass (in a pass-n-crash plays) virtually ALWAYS commits the foul before the receiver of his pass releases the ball. You will almost never count the basket in this type of play.

Except he did not commit the foul, the defender did. So, my comment was about the video in the OP. The shot counts if the foul occurs after the receiver of the pass has started his act of shooting.

Raymond Mon May 28, 2012 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843599)
Keep in mind that the ball has to be released by the shooter (not simply starting the act of shooting) when a teammate commits a foul in order for the basket to count.

If you think about it, the timing of these type of plays almost NEVER allows for this basket to count.

Scrapper says he has a block on this play, so how would the release be relevant to your response to him?

Toren Mon May 28, 2012 11:01am

I got a block, basket is good.

Hated the mechanic by the lead, loved the hold on the mechanic by the C.

Now college rules are different than high school rules in how we adjudicate (if the call had been as I described?)?

Good play.

Adam Mon May 28, 2012 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 843700)
I got a block, basket is good.

Hated the mechanic by the lead, loved the hold on the mechanic by the C.

Now college rules are different than high school rules in how we adjudicate (if the call had been as I described?)?

Good play.

Pretty sure the rules are the same, regardless if one goes with a block or a charge on this play, between NCAA and NFHS.

twocentsworth Mon May 28, 2012 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843630)
Except he did not commit the foul, the defender did. So, my comment was about the video in the OP. The shot counts if the foul occurs after the receiver of the pass has started his act of shooting.

this few series of posts is a classic example of what happens on a message board....usually it's two different people both "arguing" their point of view....and they don't realize that they are each right...yet continue arguing for many pages....

If I were the Lead in this game (or the center), I would have called a team control foul on the passer. Shot not released prior to the foul, therefore no basket.

If you were the Lead in this gme (or the center), you would have called a blocking foul on the defender. If you deemed the foul to have occurred AFTER the natural shooting motion began, then you would count the basket.

We each have the rule interpretation right....we just disagree on the blocking foul.

IMHO, this is a pretty clear-cut team control foul on the passer. They could put the video of this play next to this rule in the online rule book as the "gold standard".

Camron Rust Mon May 28, 2012 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843705)
this few series of posts is a classic example of what happens on a message board....usually it's two different people both "arguing" their point of view....and they don't realize that they are each right...yet continue arguing for many pages....

If I were the Lead in this game (or the center), I would have called a team control foul on the passer. Shot not released prior to the foul, therefore no basket.

If you were the Lead in this gme (or the center), you would have called a blocking foul on the defender. If you deemed the foul to have occurred AFTER the natural shooting motion began, then you would count the basket.

We each have the rule interpretation right....we just disagree on the blocking foul.

IMHO, this is a pretty clear-cut team control foul on the passer. They could put the video of this play next to this rule in the online rule book as the "gold standard".

Fair enough...but your reply to whether the shot should count was to a post (that you quoted) ruling that it was a block...so that was the context. I can't read you mind if you want to flip the call without saying so.

As for it being clear cut, I called it a block because the defender stuck their shoulder out moved into the passer.

How can I tell? The directions the two players go after contact. The passer was deflected 90 degrees towards the sideline. The defender went mostly straight back but also slightly towards the sideline. The only way that happens is if the defender was moving towards the sideline at the time of contact AND into the side of the passer. The passer didn't go through the defender. If the passer had gone through the defender, the defender would have been knocked the opposite direction of the passer....certainly not in the same direction.

JetMetFan Mon May 28, 2012 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843711)
How can I tell? The directions the two players go after contact. The passer was deflected 90 degrees towards the sideline. The defender went mostly straight back but also slightly towards the sideline. The only way that happens is if the defender was moving towards the sideline at the time of contact AND into the side of the passer. The passer didn't go through the defender. If the passer had gone through the defender, the defender would have been knocked the opposite direction of the passer....certainly not in the same direction.

I thought I was the only one who used this logic on block/charge situations :)

It's physics, folks, pure and simple.

BillyMac Tue May 29, 2012 06:10am

Rocket Science ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 843760)
It's physics, folks, pure and simple.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/1p6fTDGLHGQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JetMetFan Tue May 29, 2012 07:35am

Awesome! I went to a science high school (yes, this song was popular when I was there). We think about these things :)

Raymond Tue May 29, 2012 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843711)
... I called it a block because the defender stuck their shoulder out moved into the passer.
...

How can I tell? Not as complicated as your answer. I can tell b/c I observed B1 step towards A1 and make contact with his shoulder into A1's chest.

Welpe Tue May 29, 2012 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843498)
1st view...block...and count the basket.

I've clearly not had my head in basketball at all because at first I thought you were crazy on both points but after reading the discussion here, realized I wasn't looking at this right. :(

JugglingReferee Tue May 29, 2012 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by billymac (Post 843588)
maybe? And maybe bears defecate in the woods. Maybe the pope's catholic. Maybe the sky's blue. Maybe a one legged duck swims in a circle. Maybe a frog has a waterproof butt. Maybe chickens cross the road to get to the other side. Maybe water is wet. Maybe, just maybe, elvis is dead.

:d

Camron Rust Tue May 29, 2012 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 843803)
How can I tell? Not as complicated as your answer. I can tell b/c I observed B1 step towards A1 and make contact with his shoulder into A1's chest.

That too, but that point was essentially already covered and some just couldn't see it.

Even if you can't "see" it, you can use basic physics to tell what happened from the results.

Think billiards....can you ever hit a stationary ball on the left side and have it go left? No, not possible. The only way that the target ball can go left is if it was moving left before impact with more momentum in that direction than the other ball had in the opposite direction.

You can use these concepts to know who was moving into who without ever seeing the contact. (You have to see it enough to rule out flopping, of course).

BillyMac Tue May 29, 2012 06:44pm

But Still, I'm Glad That You Got A Kick Out Of It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 843798)
Awesome!

You really shouldn't encourage me. bob jenkins would be very disappointed in you.

JetMetFan Wed May 30, 2012 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 843921)
You really shouldn't encourage me. bob jenkins would be very disappointed in you.

It's only because you picked a song I like.

rsl Wed May 30, 2012 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 843882)
Even if you can't "see" it, you can use basic physics to tell what happened from the results.

Think billiards...

Unlike billiard balls, humans can change their direction. I think at least part of the passer's 90 degree exit on this play was because he had turned to make the pass and it was natural to step straight back. I agree with BadNewsRef- you need to see the defender step forward to get the call right. You can be fooled by physics.

JetMetFan Wed May 30, 2012 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 843988)
Unlike billiard balls, humans can change their direction. I think at least part of the passer's 90 degree exit on this play was because he had turned to make the pass and it was natural to step straight back. I agree with BadNewsRef- you need to see the defender step forward to get the call right. You can be fooled by physics.

It's not foolproof but it does work most of the time.

If I'm moving towards you and you're either not moving or moving away from me and I hit you, my momentum will take both of us in the direction I was going. If I'm moving towards you and you even move a little towards me, we're going to bounce off each other and head in different directions.

hoopguy Wed May 30, 2012 08:51am

For me, a no-call. I felt like the defender flopped. I think in an away from the ball, take 2 points away situation, to get a team control call it must be very clear. This is not clearly a team control foul, obviously, from all the disagreement.

Camron Rust Wed May 30, 2012 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 843988)
Unlike billiard balls, humans can change their direction. I think at least part of the passer's 90 degree exit on this play was because he had turned to make the pass and it was natural to step straight back. I agree with BadNewsRef- you need to see the defender step forward to get the call right. You can be fooled by physics.

Yes, people can add their own movement to the collision....but that doesn't make both people move differently. The key is not so much the offensive player's direction but the defender's. With your statement that the passer stepped that way, then the defenders subsequent fall in that same direction is even stronger evidence that it was a block....if he still fell that direction, he could have only done so if he was moving that direction.

And yes, you need to see it, but the reactions tell a lot....a confirmation that, yes, he did step into the passer.

Jeremy Hohn Wed May 30, 2012 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 843599)
Keep in mind that the ball has to be released by the shooter (not simply starting the act of shooting) when a teammate commits a foul in order for the basket to count.

If you think about it, the timing of these type of plays almost NEVER allows for this basket to count.

I was thinking the same thing. And MAN does that lead need to SLOW DOWN HIS MECHANICS. Too much Starbucks. Must have been an 8:00 a.m. tip..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1