The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat May 12, 2012, 12:31am
Official Forum Member

Economics of Officiating

I'm new at this, so this could be totally inaccurate. Let me know if what you think either way.

With unemployment/underemployment still high, most associations have as many officials, if not too many, for the season. Our association did not allow any new officials without prior experience.

It seems "try out" camps are getting overbooked, while "instructional" camps are having a harder time filling up. To get hired you'd better be at camp, but to learn... the thought process could lead you to saving money and pushing it off a year.

This will be regional, of course. Any local trends you've seen?
Old Sat May 12, 2012, 10:25am
Do not give a damn!!

We have noticed a few more officials coming into, but unlike what appears to be your situation, we do not turn people away. And our associations are training organization not assigning ones. Also the assignors are always looking for people to work. I have never heard them turning people away because they had too many for assignments. We are true independent contractors around here. We are responsible for getting our own games or working with assignors we want to, so we would not be in the business to turn people away just because. There is always a need for reliable people and competent officials to cover games. The same few cannot do the work for everyone.

Peace
Old Sat May 12, 2012, 11:09am
Esteemed Forum Member

Class Size ...

My local IAABO (high school) board limits the number of applicants each year to thirty. The training committee can't handle a larger number of applicants. The training classes have been "full" the past few years, probably, at least partially, due to the economy.