![]() |
|
|
|||
Changing an incorrect call
Has anybody here ever called a b/c violation or an OOB violation, but quickly realized it was the wrong line? I'm assuming we can say IW & give the correct team the ball back in those senarios.
Just like we do if a coach says "five out" & we mistakingly grant a timeout. How about a situation where we call a goaltending but in reality he whiffed at the ball but did not touch it... he just hit the glass. Wondering if we can use the same principles in this situation to make it right OR is that one we have to eat. Thoughts??
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
As for the GT, if you realize you got it wrong, the only thing you can do is go to the arrow since no team has control (assuming it missed).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I once had a conversation with someone who said they felt they could use the correctable error rule to remedy and inproper GT call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I too was thinking about applying it to a CE (erroneously counting or canceling a score).
Most officials that I've spoken with say no, that CE only applies to a 2 or a 3 point basket. What became of your conversation?
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
The Defender tried to block the shot but missed and the referee blew his whistle thinking it was a GT? I certainly don't think you can use a CE for this type of error. CE's don't give us to ability to correct an incorrect violation. I think you just have to eat this one. IW would apply. |
|
|||
It was a few years ago with an NCAA-W female official so it was a situation she never had to deal with but her logic was that it falls under erroneously crediting a basket. Forgot how the convo ended and I've never had anybody else bring up that interpretation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
From the NFHS case book
Quote:
I'm going to go out on a limb and say we can but I'd also say we shouldn't make a habit of it. Toren, why wouldn't CE be accurate. 2-10-1e says "Erroneously counting or canceling a score." That's what this is, isn't it?
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) Last edited by JetMetFan; Wed May 09, 2012 at 03:52pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA-M has the following note with 2-12-1: Note: In order for this to be a correctable error, the official must have erred in counting or canceling a successful try for goal according to a rule (i.e., after basket interference or goaltending, incorrectly counting or failing to cancel a score or counting a three-point goal instead of a two-point goal). A correctable error does not involve an error in judgment. So it appears the CE rule only applies for GT or BI if the official fails to properly award or cancel a score after making GT/BI call. So A1 shoots, B1 goaltends, official blows whistle for GT call but doesn't direct scorer to award 2 points.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 09, 2012 at 04:00pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
No, the fact that you erroneously counted the score does make it a CE. Fix it and move on.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() And yes sir, I dont want to make that mistake again. Another reason why 3 trumps 2 IMO. The steal happened at mid-court, I was already setup on the endline as L by the time the play happened I was just crossing midcourt & it was on my side of the court (possibly straightlined) the C would have a great look. GTs & BIs on my opposite side are easier to see than the ones that happen on the same side that I'm on.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Speaking of changing the call | fullor30 | Basketball | 8 | Wed Mar 24, 2010 07:18pm |
Changing Call Outcomes | commcoach | Basketball | 12 | Mon Jan 18, 2010 03:17pm |
Changing a call... | blindofficial | Baseball | 19 | Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:53am |
Changing a call? | IamMatt | Softball | 3 | Sat Jun 04, 2005 08:56pm |
incorrect call | mgaeta | Volleyball | 3 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 08:06pm |