The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   First Time For Me (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91022-first-time-me.html)

Adam Sat May 05, 2012 05:47pm

First Time For Me
 
Last night, working an AAU game, V1 fouls out. Coach has a sub ready, but decides to hold him there. I look at the table and he starts his timer. He gives me a horn at 5, then he gives the horn at 20. Sub isn't even moving, per coach's instruction, he's standing right next to him at the bench.

Good grief.

JetMetFan Sat May 05, 2012 05:57pm

So how fast did the T come after that nonsense? :)

Adam Sat May 05, 2012 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 840390)
So how fast did the T come after that nonsense? :)

As soon as I realized the sub wasn't even moving.

BktBallRef Sat May 05, 2012 08:06pm

Had a kid elevate and swat one into the beleachers. Then, he went Charles Atlas on me. Whack.

http://www.t-nation.com/img/photos/2...rles-atlas.jpg

bainsey Sat May 05, 2012 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 840389)
Coach has a sub ready, but decides to hold him there.

Holding him for instructions, or just holding him? If the latter, for what reason?

deecee Sat May 05, 2012 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 840413)
Holding him for instructions, or just holding him? If the latter, for what reason?

Does it matter? Sounds like the coach was "trying to make a point"

Adam Sat May 05, 2012 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 840413)
Holding him for instructions, or just holding him? If the latter, for what reason?

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 840416)
Does it matter? Sounds like the coach was "trying to make a point"

Yep. Not instructing at all; just 20 seconds of nothing but, "No, just stay here" to both the sub and the DQ'd player.

The PITA quotient had been rising as the game progressed, and I'd shut him down. This was his way of trying to protest without getting a T.

My guess is he didn't know the rule; thought that I would simply direct his sub into the game after 20 seconds or something.

I assumed he knew the rule because of the way he acted, I could tell he knew I'd have the timer start a 20 second clock.

We both learned something.

BillyMac Sun May 06, 2012 08:42am

Confused In Connecticut ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 840389)
Last night, working an AAU game, V1 fouls out. Coach has a sub ready, but decides to hold him there.

I'm a little confused. If the substitute for the disqualified player had already reported to the table, then I believe that the team does not get the twenty second "time out", the substitute is simply beckoned onto the court. On the other hand, if the substitute for the disqualified player had not yet reported, then I believe that the coach, even if he has already selected the substitute, has the twenty seconds to make the replacement, whether he is giving instructions, or not. On the other hand (I have three hands), if the twenty second replacement period ends, and the replacement player has not yet reported to the table, then the technical foul is certainly warranted, and in fact encouraged (he's being a jerk), in this situation. A reminder for rookies, the technical foul is charged to the head coach, who now gets to rest his aching feet, and take a seat.

JetMetFan Sun May 06, 2012 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 840437)
I'm a little confused. If the substitute for the disqualified player had already reported to the table, then I believe that the team does not get the twenty second "time out", the substitute is simply beckoned onto the court. On the other hand, if the substitute for the disqualified player had not yet reported, then I believe that the coach, even if he has already selected the substitute, has the twenty seconds to make the replacement, whether he is giving instructions, or not. On the other hand (I have three hands), if the twenty second replacement period ends, and the replacement player has not yet reported to the table, then the technical foul is certainly warranted, and in fact encouraged (he's being a dick), in this situation. A reminder for rookies, the technical foul is charged to the head coach, who now gets to rest his aching feet, and take a seat.

Billy, OP says the coach was keeping the sub next to him at the bench. You're correct: if he'd let the kid report Snaqs just beckons him in and the whole situation never develops. Had that been the case I imagine the guy would've said, "Hey, I have a time out to replace my player!" (if I had $1 for every time I've heard that one over the years...)

Snaqs, I'm going to disagree with you on one count: I think he knew he had 20 seconds to replace the DQed player and was just waiting to see if you would ring him up.

26 Year Gap Sun May 06, 2012 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 840407)
Had a kid elevate and swat one into the beleachers. Then, he went Charles Atlas on me. Whack.

http://www.t-nation.com/img/photos/2...rles-atlas.jpg

Did someone hack your account?

rockyroad Sun May 06, 2012 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 840420)
Yep. Not instructing at all; just 20 seconds of nothing but, "No, just stay here" to both the sub and the DQ'd player.

The PITA quotient had been rising as the game progressed, and I'd shut him down. This was his way of trying to protest without getting a T.

My guess is he didn't know the rule; thought that I would simply direct his sub into the game after 20 seconds or something.

I assumed he knew the rule because of the way he acted, I could tell he knew I'd have the timer start a 20 second clock.

We both learned something.

Well I guess he sure showed you, didn't he. Put you right in your place...wait. What's that T for??? Oops...guess he didn't know the rule as well as he thought he did. Silly coach.

Not much else you could do Snaqs...he thought he would one-up you and you dealt with it.

BktBallRef Sun May 06, 2012 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 840445)
Did someone hack your account?

Nope. A pic is worth a thousand words in showing you what the kid did.

Of course, the kid's daddy stepped to the edge of the court and yelled, "This is basketball!!" I have no idea WTH that means and promptly told him to take his seat before I had him removed.

I'm sure the kid has no idea who Charles Atlas is.

BktBallRef Sun May 06, 2012 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 840437)
I'm a little confused. If the substitute for the disqualified player had already reported to the table, then I believe that the team does not get the twenty second "time out", the substitute is simply beckoned onto the court. On the other hand, if the substitute for the disqualified player had not yet reported, then I believe that the coach, even if he has already selected the substitute, has the twenty seconds to make the replacement, whether he is giving instructions, or not. On the other hand (I have three hands), if the twenty second replacement period ends, and the replacement player has not yet reported to the table, then the technical foul is certainly warranted, and in fact encouraged (he's being a dick), in this situation. A reminder for rookies, the technical foul is charged to the head coach, who now gets to rest his aching feet, and take a seat.

Nowhere did he say the kid reported to the table.

BillyMac Sun May 06, 2012 11:33am

I'm Easily Confused ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 840452)
Nowhere did he say the kid reported to the table.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 840389)
Coach has a sub ready, but decides to hold him there.

I wasn't sure what "ready" meant, and I wasn't sure where "there", was, so, in my post, I covered all the bases on what could have occurred in this situation. Bottom line, if the buzzer sounds to end the twenty seconds, and the coach is trying to make some kind of passive aggressive statement, then it's time to whack.

Adam Sun May 06, 2012 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 840453)
I wasn't sure what "ready" meant, and I wasn't sure where "there", was, so, in my post, I covered all the bases on what could have occurred in this situation. Bottom line, if the buzzer sounds to end the twenty seconds, and the coach is trying to make some kind of passive aggressive statement, then it's time to whack.

Billy, allow me to direct you to the penultimate sentence in my OP:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 840389)
Last night, working an AAU game, V1 fouls out. Coach has a sub ready, but decides to hold him there. I look at the table and he starts his timer. He gives me a horn at 5, then he gives the horn at 20. Sub isn't even moving, per coach's instruction, he's standing right next to him at the bench.

Good grief.

Sorry for any confusion.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1