The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Answer me this OOB play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/9066-answer-me-oob-play.html)

justacoach Sun Jun 22, 2003 07:46pm

A1 has ball on sideline for throw-in, steps ON the line. Violation??

A1 has ball on sideline for throw-in, steps OVER line. Any difference?

Thanks all

rainmaker Sun Jun 22, 2003 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by justacoach
A1 has ball on sideline for throw-in, steps ON the line. Violation??

A1 has ball on sideline for throw-in, steps OVER line. Any difference?

Thanks all

Coach, if a player has the ball inbounds and steps ON the line, is it OOB? Okay, then it's still OOB to step ON the line. Inbounder is okay.

If inbounder is OVER the line, onto the floor, then he or she is inbounds and has committed a violation.

The trick is to remember that the line itself is always out-of-bounds.

Mark Padgett Sun Jun 22, 2003 08:08pm

If by "over" the line you mean the inbounder touches the floor inbounds before releasing the ball, then it is a violation. If by "over" the line you mean the inbounder has his foot in the air over the inbound area when he releases the ball, then there is no violation if he releases the ball before touching the floor inbounds.

BktBallRef Sun Jun 22, 2003 09:37pm

The actual "line" is the inside edge of the OOB border that meets the outer edge of the playing court. This is the OOB line, not the 2" or greater stripe that makes up the OOB portion. If the thrower simply steps on the stripe, he is still OOB. But if he steps on the inner edge of the stripe and inbounds, he has violated.

The simple answer is that if he touches inbounds while he still has contact with the ball, he has violated.

justacoach Mon Jun 23, 2003 07:23am

Answer me this OOB play
 
Thanks for the responses. Of course, my second scenario, OVER the line, refers to stepping onto the playing court.
Could you plz cite rule for this sitch????


JRutledge Mon Jun 23, 2003 09:09am

Re: Answer me this OOB play
 
Quote:

Originally posted by justacoach
Thanks for the responses. Of course, my second scenario, OVER the line, refers to stepping onto the playing court.
Could you plz cite rule for this sitch????


Rule 4-9. :D

Jurassic Referee Mon Jun 23, 2003 09:36am

Re: Answer me this OOB play
 
Quote:

Originally posted by justacoach
Thanks for the responses. Of course, my second scenario, OVER the line, refers to stepping onto the playing court.
Could you plz cite rule for this sitch????


NFHS rule 9-2-5--throw-in violations--"the thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court".

mj Mon Jun 23, 2003 09:39am

I once witnessed a junior official call a violation because the inbounder stepped on the line. After the game he was complaining that the coach was really ticked off about that call. So I "politely" told him the coach was right. So then he says "they can't step on the line when they throw it in". I said "OK what if the line is 20 feet wide and goes all the way to the wall." So then he replies well then in those cases you make an exception!

Alrighty then!

Nevadaref Thu Jun 26, 2003 02:24am

7.6.3 Sit B part (b) During an attempted throw-in, A1 steps through the plane (makes contact with the floor inbounds) before passing the ball to A2. Ruling: a throw-in violation
AND
9.2.5 Thrower A1 inadvertantly steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. Ruling: A violation in both (a) and (b).
Comment: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertant, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jun 26th, 2003 at 02:32 AM]

PGCougar Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Comment: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertant, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jun 26th, 2003 at 02:32 AM]

I understand the rule as you've referenced, but in practice it appears to me that oftentimes the violation is whistled after the inbound pass is made rather than at the moment the inbounder's foot touches the boundary. Just an observation...

Nevadaref Fri Jun 27, 2003 03:30am

For the record
 
That comment was not mine. It is a direct quote from the NFHS rulebook.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Jul 01, 2003 09:20am

I am not going to dig out my rules books for the year of the change, but it use to be if the out-of-bounds line was only two inches wide it was a throw-in violation to step on the out-of-bounds line. If the OOB line was wider that 2" and the thrower stepped on the line it was not a violation.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 01, 2003 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I am not going to dig out my rules books for the year of the change, but it use to be if the out-of-bounds line was only two inches wide it was a throw-in violation to step on the out-of-bounds line. If the OOB line was wider that 2" and the thrower stepped on the line it was not a violation.
Mark,please do look that one up.I have never heard of a rule like that ever being used-NFHS or NCAA.:confused: To the best of my recollection,the OOB line was always regarded as being OOB,no matter the width.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 01, 2003 09:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
it use to be if the out-of-bounds line was only two inches wide it was a throw-in violation to step on the out-of-bounds line. If the OOB line was wider that 2" and the thrower stepped on the line it was not a violation.
I'm glad they changed that. That's a stupid distinction. :confused:

A Pennsylvania Coach Tue Jul 01, 2003 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
it use to be if the out-of-bounds line was only two inches wide it was a throw-in violation to step on the out-of-bounds line. If the OOB line was wider that 2" and the thrower stepped on the line it was not a violation.
I'm glad they changed that. That's a stupid distinction. :confused:

Pack a ruler in your bag!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1