The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS closely guarded rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89833-nfhs-closely-guarded-rule.html)

tref Thu Mar 15, 2012 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 832125)
It's never a good idea for a coach to whip out a rule book.

That's pretty much an automatic for me.

Coach: What was that for?

Me: 10-4-1 look it up!

BktBallRef Thu Mar 15, 2012 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 832129)
That's pretty much an automatic for me.

Coach: What was that for?

Me: 10-4-1 look it up!

Why? Coaches are allowed to go to the table for such a reason. Why would you get the red a$$ because he pulled out a rule book to show you where you misapplied a rule?

Welpe Thu Mar 15, 2012 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 832145)
Why? Coaches are allowed to go to the table for such a reason. Why would you get the red a$$ because he pulled out a rule book to show you where you misapplied a rule?

On a baseball field, pulling out a rulebook is considered showing up the umpire.

I'd consider it no different on the court. Whack-a-mole.

tref Thu Mar 15, 2012 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832153)
On a baseball field, pulling out a rulebook is considered showing up the umpire.

I'd consider it no different on the court. Whack-a-mole.

Im sure he knows that... he knows everything else :rolleyes:

Raymond Thu Mar 15, 2012 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832153)
On a baseball field, pulling out a rulebook is considered showing up the umpire.

I'd consider it no different on the court. Whack-a-mole.

How would we ever be in a position where the HC would even be able to show me a rule book or even have enough time to find the rule in question before dead ball period expired?

BktBallRef Thu Mar 15, 2012 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832153)
On a baseball field, pulling out a rulebook is considered showing up the umpire.

I'd consider it no different on the court. Whack-a-mole.

And that's just as much stupid macho BS on the field as it would be on the court. As long as the coach is professional about it, there's no need to let your ego get in the way.

Welpe Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 832155)
How would we ever be in a position where the HC would even be able to show me a rule book or even have enough time to find the rule in question before dead ball period expired?

I'm sure we wouldn't.

Tony, frankly this is about ego. I know that I know the rule and I may be charitable enough to tell him to put it away once but I'm not entertaining the idea of even looking in the book. He doens't get to use a prop to try and make a point with me and believe me, that's what he is doing.

BktBallRef Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832166)
Tony, frankly this is about ego.

That's sad. I hope my ego never gets that big.

Quote:

I know that I know the rule and I may be charitable enough to tell him to put it away once but I'm not entertaining the idea of even looking in the book. He doens't get to use a prop to try and make a point with me and believe me, that's what he is doing.
Even though the rules allow him to do it? I bet the three officials that misapplied the rule at the end of the 1st half of the UNCA - Syracuse game think they know the rule, too.

But they didn't. :(

Welpe Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 832169)
That's sad. I hope my ego never gets that big.

A little healthy ego is a good thing. You are free to ask anybody I work with, I do not have an inflated sense of self worth but I also have limits on behavior I tolerate. What works for you is fine, I'm not going to presume to tell you how to run your game.


Quote:

Even though the rules allow him to do it?
Where pray tell do the rules say he is allowed to? 5-8-4? There's nothing there explicitly allowing him to bring out a rulebook and this situation isn't a correctable error situation anyways.

truerookie Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 832121)
Gotta a rule reference that says that?

Once the dribbler is head/shoulders by the defender and moving away, the count should stop, as he's no longer in his path. North/South has nothing to do with it.

BBR,

the N/S reference was in relation to attacking the basket to score. An orientation aspect.

tref Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832176)
Where pray tell do the rules say he is allowed to? 5-8-4? There's nothing there explicitly allowing him to bring out a rulebook and this situation isn't a correctable error situation anyways.

Not sure where it says thats legal but 10-4-1a says its illegal IMO.

Bringing out a rulebook suggest that we shouldn't be getting paid for our work because we dont know the rules...

BktBallRef Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832176)
A little healthy ego is a good thing. You are free to ask anybody I work with, I do not have an inflated sense of self worth but I also have limits on behavior I tolerate. What works for you is fine, I'm not going to presume to tell you how to run your game.

Hey, you were the one who said, "...this is about ego."

I didn't tell you how to run your game. But I am of the opinion that anyone who gets the red *** just because a coach produces a rule book to try to correct a mistake, that's a lot more than "a little healthy ego."

Quote:

Where pray tell do the rules say he is allowed to? 5-8-4? There's nothing there explicitly allowing him to bring out a rulebook and this situation isn't a correctable error situation anyways.
He's allowed to go to the table to request a timeout for a correctable error OR a rule misapplication. The rules do not forbid him from having a rule book, nor have I ever seen any case play or interp supporting penalizing a coach who has a rule book and uses it in a professional manner. If he's going to address a rule misapplication, then he's going to have to be able to prove that he's right and you're wrong.

BktBallRef Thu Mar 15, 2012 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 832182)
BBR,

the N/S reference was in relation to attacking the basket to score. An orientation aspect.

Even so, you're still wrong. If he gets head and shoulders by the defender and is moving away from him, even if he's headed to the sideline the count should cease. The defender is no longer in his path.

truerookie Thu Mar 15, 2012 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 832191)
Even so, you're still wrong. If he gets head and shoulders by the defender and is moving away from him, even if he's headed to the sideline the count should cease. The defender is no longer in his path.

So you telling me, I can run from sideline to sideline and as long as you for example is trailing me. But is still within the 6' radius the count should cease( because I have my head and shoulder past you) with no attempt towards the basket. I truly don't believe that is the intent of the rule.


I just may be wrong show me a casebook play to back your statement up that I am wrong.

BktBallRef Thu Mar 15, 2012 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 832197)
So you telling me, I can run from sideline to sideline and as long as you for example is trailing me. But is still within the 6' radius the count should cease( because I have my head and shoulder past you) with no attempt towards the basket. I truly don't believe that is the intent of the rule.

4-23-1
Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent.

If I'm chasing you from behind (trailing), I am NOT in your path, am I?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1