![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I seen the rule and the casebook play. I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
I am aware of that. Thanks for poking me in the eye even more. ![]()
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Seems like I type slower than others.
truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick. ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Big time,
It is not legal if you are going from stomach to sitting.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Gosh, that would be rolling over
|
|
|||
Or extremely painful, time to get a sub in. You calling a travel or getting the meds in to have this kid taken out on a stretcher?
haha ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over. I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
This was the exchange between tref and myself. tref, I seen the rule and the casebook play. I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out. __________________
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm going back to the kitchen and make another batch of cookies. Carry on. ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Yet, not everyone agrees with what "over" means. Some insist that it mean from full stomach to full back. Some insist that it means from one body surface to another with the side being a different surface than the back or front. (I'm in the latter camp).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interesting finish to a state tournament game | buckrog64 | Basketball | 50 | Fri Mar 09, 2012 02:49pm |
What a finish wisc and mich state | The_Rookie | Football | 12 | Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:36am |
TX/WVA what a finish! | Nevadaref | Basketball | 2 | Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:24am |
State Government Defeated in Attempt to Control State Association | mikesears | Football | 14 | Wed Apr 20, 2005 07:35am |
Finish with one? Throw-In? | imagomer | Basketball | 11 | Sun Dec 29, 2002 06:11pm |