The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Stomach to back & vice versa... we cant expect a player to freeze on their side after going for a loose ball on the floor, can we?
But if an explanation is needed the easy out is, "coach in my opinion he didnt have control of the ball until his momentum carried him onto his butt."
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.
I guess there's a difference between CAN and SHOULD. One question - what part of rolling from side to sitting are you including in "attempt to get up or stand"?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I guess there's a difference between CAN and SHOULD. One question - what part of rolling from side to sitting are you including in "attempt to get up or stand"?
As I understand it, If one is touching the floor with anything other than hand or foot. The options are to either call a time, shoot, pass or start a dribble from that specific position.

In that case, "attempt to get up"
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
You can also....

Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
As I understand it, If one is touching the floor with anything other than hand or foot. The options are to either call a time, shoot, pass or start a dribble from that specific position.

In that case, "attempt to get up"
If you are on your back, you can bend at the waist to an upright sitting position and that is not considered getting up.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
If you are on your back, you can bend at the waist to an upright sitting position and that is not considered getting up.
rwest,

I am aware of that. Thanks for poking me in the eye even more.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.
Are you saying when a player is lying on the floor, sitting up would be a violation?

Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Seems like I type slower than others.

truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Seems like I type slower than others.

truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick.
I know. All these discussion does for me is to ensure I stay active in the rule/casebook and not totally rely on my memory. I do have C.R.S you know.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Are you saying when a player is lying on the floor, sitting up would be a violation?

Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.
Gosh, that would be rolling over
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Gosh, that would be rolling over
Or extremely painful, time to get a sub in. You calling a travel or getting the meds in to have this kid taken out on a stretcher?

haha
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.
Ah, ok.

The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over.

I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Ah, ok.

The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over.

I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.

This was the exchange between tref and myself.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
This was the exchange between tref and myself.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________
Well, if I would read the whole thread and not type so slow, I would've seen that.

I'm going back to the kitchen and make another batch of cookies.

Carry on.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2012, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.
Wheres the like button at?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting finish to a state tournament game buckrog64 Basketball 50 Fri Mar 09, 2012 02:49pm
What a finish wisc and mich state The_Rookie Football 12 Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:36am
TX/WVA what a finish! Nevadaref Basketball 2 Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:24am
State Government Defeated in Attempt to Control State Association mikesears Football 14 Wed Apr 20, 2005 07:35am
Finish with one? Throw-In? imagomer Basketball 11 Sun Dec 29, 2002 06:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1