The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T during a time-out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89784-t-during-time-out.html)

jTheUmp Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:13pm

T during a time-out
 
15U girls rec game. End-of-season league tournament semifinal. I was the only official because my partner didn't show up (that's a rant for another day). FED rules, with a few modifications (one that becomes VERY important to the story)

Team A, leading by one point with about 15 seconds left, has an endline spot throw-in under B's basket (on the bench-side lane line) after an OOB violation and a Team A timeout.

I hand the ball to A15 to start the throw-in. She immediately takes off running OOB towards the other lane line. I call the violation for leaving the designated spot (first time I've ever had to call that particular violation, incidentally). Conversation between myself and A15 goes like this:
A15: "You told me I could run the line!!!!!"
Me: "I told you that after a made basket early in the second half. This was not after a made basket"
A15: "But you told me.... blah blah blah" (I stopped listening at that point because Team B called a timeout, and I had other things to do).

I go to the table to report the timeout, A15 is still fuming, her coach starts talking to her, and then I hear her scream "F--- THAT!" loud enough to echo through the already-loud gym.

Whack.

Team A coach tries the "she wasn't talking to you, she was talking to me" line.... as if that matters.

Now, in this league, a technical foul results in an automatic 2 points + throw in for the other team. (no foul shots, just award the points and move on).

Now Team B is up by one, with a division line throw-in with 15 seconds left.

No other points are scored in the remaining 15 seconds, and Team B wins the game by 1 point.

Good times.

Anyway, my question: Is the time-out period considered an "intermission" for purposes of penalizing unsporting behavior (4-34-2)? If not, the T is charged to A15 only. If so, the T would've also been an indirect to the head coach.

The rulebook has several instances where rules mention activities during "a time-out or intermission", which, to me, implies that a time-out is not considered an intermission. But that feels wrong to me for some reason.

In this case it didn't matter... there's no coaching box, and no other technical fouls were directly or indirectly charged to the head coach over the course of the game... just wondering for future reference.

Toren Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:25pm

4.34.1 has your answer

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:33pm

A timeout is not an intermission, players are still players during a timeout.

By rule, after timeouts shouldnt we indicate to the offense & defense whether its a running or designated throw-in?

Smitty Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:14pm

If you had made the effort to tell her earlier in the game that she could run after a made basket, why in the world would you not tell her she had to stay on the spot with 15 seconds left in a 1 point game?

rockyroad Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 830501)
If you had made the effort to tell her earlier in the game that she could run after a made basket, why in the world would you not tell her she had to stay on the spot with 15 seconds left in a 1 point game?

Out of all the stuff in his post, this is what you zero in on??? Nice...

Smitty Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 830503)
Out of all the stuff in his post, this is what you zero in on??? Nice...

It would have avoided the whole thing. :rolleyes:

BillyMac Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:29pm

It's Not An Option ...
 
Here in my little corner of Connecticut, every single time we inbound the ball on the backcourt endline, we must tell the inbounder if they have a designated spot, or if they can run the endline, along with using the appropriate signals.

SmokeEater Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 830508)
Here in my little corner of Connecticut, every single time we inbound the ball on the backcourt endline, we must tell the inbounder if they have a designated spot, or if they can run the endline, along with using the appropriate signals.

+1 A good habit I have also adopted here in my neck of the backwoods.

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 830508)
Here in my little corner of Connecticut, every single time we inbound the ball on the backcourt endline, we must tell the inbounder if they have a designated spot, or if they can run the endline, along with using the appropriate signals.

On EVERY throw-in (following a violation, foul, timeout) whether its on the sideline or endline the administering official should designate the spot both visually & verbally.

just another ref Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 830505)
It would have avoided the whole thing. :rolleyes:

I don't think anybody is saying that it is a bad idea, but it is still a courtesy, like counting 6 players and notifying before putting the ball in play. It is still ultimately the responsibility of the player to know. And having said that, any sympathy I might have had goes out the window when the kid screams the F word.

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 830518)
I don't think anybody is saying that it is a bad idea, but it is still a courtesy, like counting 6 players and notifying before putting the ball in play. It is still ultimately the responsibility of the player to know. And having said that, any sympathy I might have had goes out the window when the kid screams the F word.

jar, I dont think this is an option, by rule, the administering official shall designate the throw-in spot.

just another ref Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830520)
jar, I dont think this is an option, by rule, the administering official shall designate the throw-in spot.


What rule?

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 830521)
What rule?

Perhaps its just an IAABO thing :confused:

Pg 124 of our manual under Throw-in (section C)
3. Official making the ruling SHALL indicate the throw-in spot.
4. Administering official SHALL designate throw-in spot.

BayStateRef Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:51pm

4-42-6

It is not just an IAABO thing.

APG Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830514)
On EVERY throw-in (following a violation, foul, timeout) whether its on the sideline or endline the administering official should designate the spot both visually & verbally.

I'll do it on every throw-in just to keep in the habit.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1