![]() |
|
|
|||
Rotating as Lead in 2 Man?
The last half of this season, I've found that when I'm the L, the ball is on the opposite wing, and there's a player posting up ball side, I rotate over to the ball side to get a better look at the post matchup.
This sort of happened instinctively, didn't really think about it the first time it happened. Anyone else do this? |
|
|||
My advice is be careful about this. You can miss just as much by being too close as too far. And now if the ball swings back to your wing it will be more difficult to cover the sideline.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Absolutely. I would never rotate....just "cheat" no farther than the lane line extended on ball side. Still gives you a good look to your secondary and a quick turn, 2 step, and look back to your PCA if there is a quick swing.
|
|
|||
Good advice.
|
|
|||
Yes I'll rotate over if the majority of the players are on the other side with post action. Rotating in two man is a compromise that gives up sideline coverage with superior post coverage. Getting a feel for a team's offense, you can get a sense of whether the ball will go into the post or whether the offense tends to throw skip passes or move the ball around on the perimeter.
This is also something you have to pregame with your partner so he knows to to expand his coverage area appropriately. I wouldn't rotate over without first telling my partner.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, I do. And why? Because if one reads the NFHS Officials Manual or and of the old CCA Two-Person (Men's or Women's) Manuals you will read about the mechanic called: Going Ball Side. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I've noticed a lot of newer officials don't do it for some reason - regardless of whether we pregame it. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think this is a mechanic better picked up after a couple years on the court. Your first couple seasons should be dedicated to recognizing fouls/violations, court positioning and mechanics. I would consider this an advanced mechanic. |
|
|||
Look, But Don't Touch ...
Agree. We don't teach this to rookie officials that just passed the written test in November. We will introduce it the second year, at the voluntary "Bread and Butter" clinics.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
||||
Quote:
I'd consider it a second level mechanic. Once a new official figures out the coverage areas, I'd introduce this mechanic.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Again you can pick your spots as if you know the ball is going to the post and staying in the post. But if the ball just goes there and comes out, then you may not need to do it at all. But it is a much better look than looking through a defender. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Yes....go ball side.
The trail can't cover a contested on-ball play in the corner, maybe another match up at the FT line extended, and the post action. If the ball is in the trail's corner, the most likely pass is to the post or back to the other pair in the trails primary. You get over there and turn back to cover the post but look through the post to keep your eye on the few players on the weak side. The on-ball official should very rarely be left covering the 6 players most involved or likely to be involved in the play. And if the lead stay's home, they can't see that post across the key and the other 4 players on their side anyway....the angles don't work.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Lead, follow, or get out of the way | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 4 | Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:55am |
Rotating Field Umpires | Jim Porter | Baseball | 7 | Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:25pm |
Retouch on Lead-off? | rwou812 | Baseball | 7 | Mon May 23, 2005 08:36am |
Lead throw-in | RookieDude | Basketball | 4 | Fri Dec 31, 2004 01:31pm |
Does lead show 3? | hardwdref | Basketball | 9 | Wed Dec 08, 2004 09:08am |