The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt...Again (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87801-backcourt-again.html)

BillyMac Thu Feb 09, 2012 06:58am

Ignorance Is Not Bliss ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821826)
Basically all you need to know is that we handle plays, as it relates to backcourt violations, three second count and 10 second count the exact same way as before.

I pity the 2011-12 rookie official.

Raymond Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821788)
I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.

TC does exist. TC does not end when the throw-in is released. It is not a BC violation because player control had not yet been established.

Adam Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821998)
TC does exist. TC does not end when the throw-in is released. It is not a BC violation because player control had not yet been established.

Partner yesterday said he was corrected by varsity officials after letting a play go. A2 tips the throw in into the bc where A3 retrieves it.

Some people are only reading the highlights of the rule changes.

letemplay Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:11pm

Sorry to bring this back
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 822000)
Partner yesterday said he was corrected by varsity officials after letting a play go. A2 tips the throw in into the bc where A3 retrieves it.

Some people are only reading the highlights of the rule changes.

but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?

APG Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 822517)
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?

You're right in that the throw-in exception does not apply, but it is not a violation as no player control had been established first. Just judge these throw-in plays like you would have last year.

Adam Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 822517)
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?

No, it's not.

Before this season, there was no team control established (in this play) until A3 controls the ball in the BC. When they added TC to the throw in, they (the rules committee) made it clear the BC rule was not supposed to change in application. To do this, they added the requirement for PC to be established in the FC (this changes a few other plays by literal reading, but that's another issue), so the play in question is still not a violation. The exception was never relevant to this play.

The end of the exception only applies to an airborne player jumping from the FC, catching the ball (establishing FC status and TC at the same time), and landing in the BC. This would always have been a violation without the exception.

letemplay Fri Feb 10, 2012 03:29pm

Got it now, I think. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1