The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt...Again (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87801-backcourt-again.html)

Triad zebra Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:11pm

Backcourt...Again
 
A1 throw in to A2 in frontcourt near division line. A2 never has control and fumbles the pass into the backcourt and retrieves it. No violation.. correct? Even though the new rule says there is team control on throw in.

Raymond Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:13pm

Based on all the discussions we've had on this subject what element do you think is missing that prevents this from being a backcourt violation?

I know you were involved in one of the discussions.

Triad zebra Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821308)
Based on all the discussions we've had on this subject what element do you think is missing that prevents this from being a backcourt violation?

No team control?

McMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:29pm

Wasn't there a couple plays in NCAA in Nov/Dec where this exact scenario happened. They said that because there was no PC inbounds, FC status for the ball has not been established, therefore no BC violation. And by the Transitive Property (math teacher) the NCAA and NFHS rules are similar on throw-in provisions in this case, I say no violation.

Raymond Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821310)
No team control?

There is TC from the beginning of the throw-in. You even stated so above.

BktBallRef Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821307)
A1 throw in to A2 in frontcourt near division line. A2 never has control and fumbles the pass into the backcourt and retrieves it. No violation.. correct? Even though the new rule says there is team control on throw in.

Read 9-9-1 and then tell us what you think.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 08, 2012 03:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821329)
There is TC from the beginning of the throw-in. You even stated so above.

There may be tc, but not TC. :)

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821402)
There may be tc, but not TC. :)

"I like her, but I don't LIKE LIKE her."

letemplay Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:04pm

Correction?
 
Suppose in the OP the covering official mistakenly calls a bc violation. Can another/both come to discuss and change? If so, is ball given back to A at spot closest to the backcourt recovery? Suppose whistle comes on A2's first touch in backcourt, but almost immediately after, B1 slaps ball away and is heading for his goal?

Duffman Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 821581)
Suppose in the OP the covering official mistakenly calls a bc violation. Can another/both come to discuss and change? If so, is ball given back to A at spot closest to the backcourt recovery? Suppose whistle comes on A2's first touch in backcourt, but almost immediately after, B1 slaps ball away and is heading for his goal?

I don't see why this couldn't be "overturned" by another official. Depending on when the whislte occured you could find your self with an AP throw in which would be fun to explain. The likelyhood of that happening would probably be impacted by where on the court the initial contact occured.

I can't imagine too many situations in which I'd even have anything helpful for the T official, especially if I was L.

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duffman (Post 821585)
I don't see why this couldn't be "overturned" by another official. Depending on when the whislte occured you could find your self with an AP throw in which would be fun to explain. The likelyhood of that happening would probably be impacted by where on the court the initial contact occured.

I can't imagine too many situations in which I'd even have anything helpful for the T official, especially if I was L.

I know you put it in quotes, but please don't use this term. All you can really do, by rule, is give him information you have and give him the choice to make the change or not.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 821581)
Suppose in the OP the covering official mistakenly calls a bc violation. Can another/both come to discuss and change? If so, is ball given back to A at spot closest to the backcourt recovery? Suppose whistle comes on A2's first touch in backcourt, but almost immediately after, B1 slaps ball away and is heading for his goal?

Yes, it can be changed. It's then an IW. Give the ball back to A.

mbyron Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821594)
I know you put it in quotes, but please don't use this term. All you can really do, by rule, is give him information you have and give him the choice to make the change or not.

Exactly. "Hey Bill, I had B5 last touching the ball before it went into the backcourt." The next move is Bill's.

Triad zebra Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821329)
There is TC from the beginning of the throw-in. You even stated so above.

I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.

APG Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821788)
I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.

Basically all you need to know is that we handle plays, as it relates to backcourt violations, three second count and 10 second count the exact same way as before. The purpose of adding team control to include throw-ins was to not award bonus free throws if the throw-in team commits a foul.

BillyMac Thu Feb 09, 2012 06:58am

Ignorance Is Not Bliss ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821826)
Basically all you need to know is that we handle plays, as it relates to backcourt violations, three second count and 10 second count the exact same way as before.

I pity the 2011-12 rookie official.

Raymond Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821788)
I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.

TC does exist. TC does not end when the throw-in is released. It is not a BC violation because player control had not yet been established.

Adam Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821998)
TC does exist. TC does not end when the throw-in is released. It is not a BC violation because player control had not yet been established.

Partner yesterday said he was corrected by varsity officials after letting a play go. A2 tips the throw in into the bc where A3 retrieves it.

Some people are only reading the highlights of the rule changes.

letemplay Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:11pm

Sorry to bring this back
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 822000)
Partner yesterday said he was corrected by varsity officials after letting a play go. A2 tips the throw in into the bc where A3 retrieves it.

Some people are only reading the highlights of the rule changes.

but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?

APG Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 822517)
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?

You're right in that the throw-in exception does not apply, but it is not a violation as no player control had been established first. Just judge these throw-in plays like you would have last year.

Adam Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 822517)
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?

No, it's not.

Before this season, there was no team control established (in this play) until A3 controls the ball in the BC. When they added TC to the throw in, they (the rules committee) made it clear the BC rule was not supposed to change in application. To do this, they added the requirement for PC to be established in the FC (this changes a few other plays by literal reading, but that's another issue), so the play in question is still not a violation. The exception was never relevant to this play.

The end of the exception only applies to an airborne player jumping from the FC, catching the ball (establishing FC status and TC at the same time), and landing in the BC. This would always have been a violation without the exception.

letemplay Fri Feb 10, 2012 03:29pm

Got it now, I think. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1