The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   player control (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87715-player-control.html)

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821049)
9.2.5 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance.

RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul shall be called. (9-2-10 Note)

My mistake for not reading that thoroughly. But to get back to the original question, I still can't see how a thrower can commit a player-control foul.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821100)
My mistake for not reading that thoroughly. But to get back to the original question, I still can't see how a thrower can commit a player-control foul.

Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821106)
Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

Yep, I'd call the PC foul on this rather than the violation. Same concept as calling the foul when the defender reaches across the plane and fouls the thrower.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821106)
Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

So this is me becoming the Devil's Advocate: if the thrower and defender are that close that the thrower is able to push the defender, one of two things has happened:

1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).
2. The defender has moved too close to the thrower, in which case it's a warning or technical foul on the defense.

I can't see it happening in a situation where a team can run the endline - though I guess it could - because the thrower can run away from the defender.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821118)
So this is me becoming the Devil's Advocate: if the thrower and defender are that close that the thrower is able to push the defender, one of two things has happened:

1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).
2. The defender has moved too close to the thrower, in which case it's a warning or technical foul on the defense.

I can't see it happening in a situation where a team can run the endline - though I guess it could - because the thrower can run away from the defender.

It'd be very easy for my situation to occur...the defender can get right up to the throw-in plane, and the thrower can get close enough and still reach out without stepping inbounds. You just never see this play because a thrower's natural inclination when pressured like above is to step back away from the pressure rather than try to create more space.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821118)
So this is me becoming the Devil's Advocate: if the thrower and defender are that close that the thrower is able to push the defender, one of two things has happened:

1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).
2. The defender has moved too close to the thrower, in which case it's a warning or technical foul on the defense.

False choice. In this case, only one player is prohibited from breaking the plane. And even if he breaks it, we're told to call the foul if contact is the immediate result of the violation.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821022)
Not as hard as you might think.

Although as soon as he touches the defender in bounds, he commits a throw in violation. So, the only way I'm calling the foul is if he goes intentional or flagrant.

And in that case it's not a PC foul.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 821142)
And in that case it's not a PC foul.

Right, but I'm retracting that statement as of now. I can see calling a run of the mill PC foul if A1 pushes off to clear space (similar to a post player trying to create a shot).

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821160)
Right, but I'm retracting that statement as of now. I can see calling a run of the mill PC foul if A1 pushes off to clear space (similar to a post player trying to create a shot).

And I agree that calling the foul rather than the violation is justified by the same reasoning as calling an INT/T on B for contacting the thrower/ball instead of the violation for breaking the plane, though in each case technically the violation happened first.

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 06:56pm

Just My Opinion ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821106)
Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

Sounds like an intentional foul to me, not a player control foul.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821257)
Sounds like an intentional foul to me, not a player control foul.

Different/more severe than guard A2, without the ball, shoving their defender away to pop out and receive a pass? I've never called that intentional.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821257)
Sounds like an intentional foul to me, not a player control foul.

You can't envision a player pushing an opponent in the chest without it being an intentional foul? :confused:

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:20pm

Did I Actually Say Thrower-In-Er ??? Twice ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821261)
You can't envision a player pushing an opponent in the chest without it being an intentional foul?

Yes I can. But not when a thrower-in-er pushes the thrower-in-er's defender in the chest. It's not a "basketball play". I'm not going to bet my house on my interpretation, it's just my off the cuff opinion.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821267)
Yes I can. But not when a thrower-in-er pushes the thrower-in-er's defender in the chest. It's not a "basketball play". I'm not going to bet my house on my interpretation, it's just my off the cuff opinion.

Sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games. A player is in the way of the team/player that wishes to make a play and they use contact to get open and make the pass....that sounds like a basketball play to me.

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:13pm

Camron Rust, You're Probably Correct ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821275)
Sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games.

Fouling from out of bounds? 90%? Really?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1