The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   player control (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87715-player-control.html)

AKOFL Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:37am

player control
 
Having a discussion on weather you have player control on a throw in. the wording in the rule changed with team control on a throw in rule. To ahve player control you must be holding or dribbling a live ball. the old wording said inbounds. now it does not. What say u? player control on throw in?

PG_Ref Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 820866)
Having a discussion on weather you have player control on a throw in. the wording in the rule changed with team control on a throw in rule. To ahve player control you must be holding or dribbling a live ball. the old wording said inbounds. now it does not. What say u? player control on throw in?

Is it really relevant? I suppose if the foul occured on the thrower-in, u could rule player control. Whether player or team control, the outcome is the same ... no free throws if the other team is in the bonus.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 820866)
Having a discussion on weather you have player control on a throw in. the wording in the rule changed with team control on a throw in rule. To ahve player control you must be holding or dribbling a live ball. the old wording said inbounds. now it does not. What say u? player control on throw in?

I say yes.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 820866)
Having a discussion on weather you have player control on a throw in. the wording in the rule changed with team control on a throw in rule. To ahve player control you must be holding or dribbling a live ball. the old wording said inbounds. now it does not. What say u? player control on throw in?

Under the new rules changes, yes. Doesn't seem to really matter, though.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 820866)
Having a discussion on weather you have player control on a throw in. the wording in the rule changed with team control on a throw in rule. To ahve player control you must be holding or dribbling a live ball. the old wording said inbounds. now it does not. What say u? player control on throw in?

How is the thrower supposed to commit a player-control foul?

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821012)
How is the thrower supposed to commit a player-control foul?

Not as hard as you might think.

Although as soon as he touches the defender in bounds, he commits a throw in violation. So, the only way I'm calling the foul is if he goes intentional or flagrant.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821022)
Not as hard as you might think.

Although as soon as he touches the defender in bounds, he commits a throw in violation. So, the only way I'm calling the foul is if he goes intentional or flagrant.

Actually there's nothing under the list of throw-in violations in Rule 9 which deals with the thrower touching the defender, only the other way around. He/She can't leave the designated spot nor can they walk the ball onto the court so by the time they did either of those things they wouldn't have player control anymore.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821022)
Although as soon as he touches the defender in bounds, he commits a throw in violation.

Really?

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821035)
Actually there's nothing under the list of throw-in violations in Rule 9 which deals with the thrower touching the defender, only the other way around. He/She can't leave the designated spot nor can they walk the ball onto the court so by the time they did either of those things they wouldn't have player control anymore.

Read the note in 9-2-10. Also case 9.2.5B.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821035)
Actually there's nothing under the list of throw-in violations in Rule 9 which deals with the thrower touching the defender, only the other way around. He/She can't leave the designated spot nor can they walk the ball onto the court so by the time they did either of those things they wouldn't have player control anymore.

9.2.5 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance.

RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul shall be called. (9-2-10 Note)

SNIPERBBB Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821040)
Really?

See 9-2-10 note.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:34pm

I"m confused
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821044)
Read the note in 9-2-10. Also case 9.2.5B.

Didn't we just have a pretty lengthy thread about thrower-in A1 touching A2 with the ball and then pulling it back?

I thought the consensus was no violation. It appears Snags has some caseplays that would point to a violation now.

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 821052)
Didn't we just have a pretty lengthy thread about thrower-in A1 touching A2 with the ball and then pulling it back?

I thought the consensus was no violation. It appears Snags has some caseplays that would point to a violation now.

As I commented in that thread: the rationale given in the case for calling this a violation is that the player carried the ball into the court, which is absurd. Touching a player inbounds does not give the thrower inbounds status.

I'm fine with calling this a violation, but it will need to be defined independently.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 821054)
As I commented in that thread: the rationale given in the case for calling this a violation is that the player carried the ball into the court, which is absurd. Touching a player inbounds does not give the thrower inbounds status.

I'm fine with calling this a violation, but it will need to be defined independently.

Right. While it's hard for a near hand-off to occur without player-to-player contact, I see no reason to extend this peculiar rule to the play from the other thread. If A1 doesn't actually touch another player on the court before he releases the throw in pass; he hasn't done anything wrong.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821064)
Right. While it's hard for a near hand-off to occur without player-to-player contact, I see no reason to extend this peculiar rule to the play from the other thread. If A1 doesn't actually touch another player on the court before he releases the throw in pass; he hasn't done anything wrong.

Fine distinction. Ball v Hand I suppose. I can live with that. Putting it into my database that way.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821049)
9.2.5 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance.

RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul shall be called. (9-2-10 Note)

My mistake for not reading that thoroughly. But to get back to the original question, I still can't see how a thrower can commit a player-control foul.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821100)
My mistake for not reading that thoroughly. But to get back to the original question, I still can't see how a thrower can commit a player-control foul.

Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821106)
Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

Yep, I'd call the PC foul on this rather than the violation. Same concept as calling the foul when the defender reaches across the plane and fouls the thrower.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821106)
Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

So this is me becoming the Devil's Advocate: if the thrower and defender are that close that the thrower is able to push the defender, one of two things has happened:

1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).
2. The defender has moved too close to the thrower, in which case it's a warning or technical foul on the defense.

I can't see it happening in a situation where a team can run the endline - though I guess it could - because the thrower can run away from the defender.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821118)
So this is me becoming the Devil's Advocate: if the thrower and defender are that close that the thrower is able to push the defender, one of two things has happened:

1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).
2. The defender has moved too close to the thrower, in which case it's a warning or technical foul on the defense.

I can't see it happening in a situation where a team can run the endline - though I guess it could - because the thrower can run away from the defender.

It'd be very easy for my situation to occur...the defender can get right up to the throw-in plane, and the thrower can get close enough and still reach out without stepping inbounds. You just never see this play because a thrower's natural inclination when pressured like above is to step back away from the pressure rather than try to create more space.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821118)
So this is me becoming the Devil's Advocate: if the thrower and defender are that close that the thrower is able to push the defender, one of two things has happened:

1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).
2. The defender has moved too close to the thrower, in which case it's a warning or technical foul on the defense.

False choice. In this case, only one player is prohibited from breaking the plane. And even if he breaks it, we're told to call the foul if contact is the immediate result of the violation.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821022)
Not as hard as you might think.

Although as soon as he touches the defender in bounds, he commits a throw in violation. So, the only way I'm calling the foul is if he goes intentional or flagrant.

And in that case it's not a PC foul.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 821142)
And in that case it's not a PC foul.

Right, but I'm retracting that statement as of now. I can see calling a run of the mill PC foul if A1 pushes off to clear space (similar to a post player trying to create a shot).

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821160)
Right, but I'm retracting that statement as of now. I can see calling a run of the mill PC foul if A1 pushes off to clear space (similar to a post player trying to create a shot).

And I agree that calling the foul rather than the violation is justified by the same reasoning as calling an INT/T on B for contacting the thrower/ball instead of the violation for breaking the plane, though in each case technically the violation happened first.

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 06:56pm

Just My Opinion ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821106)
Thrower A1 pushes B1 in the chest to create more room for the throw-in.

Sounds like an intentional foul to me, not a player control foul.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821257)
Sounds like an intentional foul to me, not a player control foul.

Different/more severe than guard A2, without the ball, shoving their defender away to pop out and receive a pass? I've never called that intentional.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821257)
Sounds like an intentional foul to me, not a player control foul.

You can't envision a player pushing an opponent in the chest without it being an intentional foul? :confused:

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:20pm

Did I Actually Say Thrower-In-Er ??? Twice ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821261)
You can't envision a player pushing an opponent in the chest without it being an intentional foul?

Yes I can. But not when a thrower-in-er pushes the thrower-in-er's defender in the chest. It's not a "basketball play". I'm not going to bet my house on my interpretation, it's just my off the cuff opinion.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821267)
Yes I can. But not when a thrower-in-er pushes the thrower-in-er's defender in the chest. It's not a "basketball play". I'm not going to bet my house on my interpretation, it's just my off the cuff opinion.

Sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games. A player is in the way of the team/player that wishes to make a play and they use contact to get open and make the pass....that sounds like a basketball play to me.

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:13pm

Camron Rust, You're Probably Correct ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821275)
Sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games.

Fouling from out of bounds? 90%? Really?

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821267)
Yes I can. But not when a thrower-in-er pushes the thrower-in-er's defender in the chest. It's not a "basketball play". I'm not going to bet my house on my interpretation, it's just my off the cuff opinion.

It's an "uncommon play" but I'd say it's very much a "basketball play". If a player with the ball committed the same action at the top of the key because they've used their dribble and the defender is right on top of ballhandler one wouldn't bat an eye (assuming nothing excessive).

just another ref Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821295)
Fouling from out of bounds? 90%? Really?

The fact that he is out of bounds is totally irrelevant.

Sharpshooternes Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821118)
1. The thrower has moved too far forward during the throw-in, which is a violation (I'm basing this on the throw-in taking place at any time other than after a made/awarded field goal or free throw).

Why is this a violation? The thrower can only move 3 feet horizontally but they can move as far back or up as they want. Am I wrong?

Camron Rust Wed Feb 08, 2012 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821295)
Fouling from out of bounds? 90%? Really?

Why does the player location matter? Maybe it's 94.7%???

BillyMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:32am

It's The Black Line All The Way Around ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 821298)
The fact that he is out of bounds is totally irrelevant.

Hey. I'm not the one who said, and I quote, "Sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games".

99% of the foul calls that I make in my games are made involving players who are inbounds. And I still maintain that I may be wrong on my interpretation, so you don't have to convince me.

BillyMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:37am

I Maintain That It's A Much Smaller Percentage ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821405)
Why does the player location matter?

Maybe it doesn't. Probably doesn't.

The esteemed Forum member Camron Rust stated that when a thrower-in-er pushes the thrower-in-er's defender in the chest it "sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games".

just another ref Wed Feb 08, 2012 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821457)
Hey. I'm not the one who said, and I quote, "Sounds like about 90% of the fouls in most games".

99% of the foul calls that I make in my games are made involving players who are inbounds. And I still maintain that I may be wrong on my interpretation, so you don't have to convince me.

I think the push was the 90%, not the out of bounds.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 821477)
I think the push was the 90%, not the out of bounds.

Yup.

BillyMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 08:14pm

A Man Of Few Words, Actually, Two Men Of Few Words ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821591)
Yup.

Yup.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1