The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oops, wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87460-oops-wrong-basket.html)

Toren Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:31pm

That's a tough play to get right live. Nice work.

Duffman Fri Feb 03, 2012 02:16pm

is there anywhere other than 9.5 I need to look to better understand this?

Toren Fri Feb 03, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by duffman (Post 819940)
is there anywhere other than 9.5 i need to look to better understand this?

4-4-5

Duffman Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:28pm

So am I to understand that in this situation...

A1 inboudns the ball to A2 near the corner of the end and side line. A2 under pressure attempts to pass the ball to A1 who is now standing under the basket. The ball stikes the side of the back board and comes back to A1.

A1 has now used his/her dribble?

APG Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:29pm

Yes

Raymond Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duffman (Post 819994)
So am I to understand that in this situation...

A1 inboudns the ball to A2 near the corner of the end and side line. A2 under pressure attempts to pass the ball to A1 who is now standing under the basket. The ball stikes the side of the back board and comes back to A1.

A1 has now used his/her dribble?

Think you mean A2 gets the ball back.


Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 819995)
Yes

Wouldn't A2 be able to continue his by batting the ball to the floor instead of catching it?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 820002)


Wouldn't A2 be able to continue his by batting the ball to the floor instead of catching it?

Using the language (or at least the concept) of the rule, let's change the question to " A2 throws the ball to the floor, then continues to bat the ball to the floor. Is that legal?"

I hope the answer is obvious.

Raymond Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 820003)
Using the language (or at least the concept) of the rule, let's change the question to " A2 throws the ball to the floor, then continues to bat the ball to the floor. Is that legal?"

I hope the answer is obvious.

It is and I was being rhetorical b/c APG answered 'yes' to the question of whether or not A2 had used his dribble. Whether A2 had used his dribble or was still dribbling depends on what A2 does when the ball returns to him.

APG Fri Feb 03, 2012 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 820002)
Think you mean A2 gets the ball back.




Wouldn't A2 be able to continue his by batting the ball to the floor instead of catching it?

I read that as the player catching the ball upon return. People usually don't ask if they've "used" their dribble unless they're holding the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1