The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oops, wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87460-oops-wrong-basket.html)

de la hoops Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:50pm

Oops, wrong basket
 
1:15ish remaining in a GV game. Team A is up 2 points and has the ball on the BC endline after a timeout. No defensive pressure. A1 inbounds to A2 who takes a dribble and attempts a layup at the wrong basket. The layup hits the backboard, rolls across the back of the rim, and A2 catches the ball on the other side of the lane. She immediately knew what had happened, so she starts a dribble in the correct direction. As this all happened a couple of defenders were rushing toward her, reaching her just as she starts her dribble. There is contact as she tries to split the defenders and the ball is knocked away.

What do you have?

tref Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by de la hoops (Post 819891)
1:15ish remaining in a GV game. Team A is up 2 points and has the ball on the BC endline after a timeout. No defensive pressure. A1 inbounds to A2 who takes a dribble and attempts a layup at the wrong basket. The layup hits the backboard, rolls across the back of the rim, and A2 catches the ball on the other side of the lane. She immediately knew what had happened, so she starts a dribble in the correct direction. As this all happened a couple of defenders were rushing toward her, reaching her just as she starts her dribble. There is contact as she tries to split the defenders and the ball is knocked away.

What do you have?

An illegal dribble...

Toren Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by de la hoops (Post 819891)
1:15ish remaining in a GV game. Team A is up 2 points and has the ball on the BC endline after a timeout. No defensive pressure. A1 inbounds to A2 who takes a dribble and attempts a layup at the wrong basket. The layup hits the backboard, rolls across the back of the rim, and A2 catches the ball on the other side of the lane. She immediately knew what had happened, so she starts a dribble in the correct direction. As this all happened a couple of defenders were rushing toward her, reaching her just as she starts her dribble. There is contact as she tries to split the defenders and the ball is knocked away.

What do you have?

Not enough information is what I have. Is the contact illegal?

tref Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 819896)
Not enough information is what I have. Is the contact illegal?

I know shes a hottie, but just how many times are you gonna let her begin her dribble :eek:

de la hoops Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:59pm

Thanks. That's what I had. I was confident I was correct, but ol' self-doubt started eating at me.

Needless to say there were some very confused coaches and upset fans. It didn't help that my call was a bit slow as my mind processed what was happening.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 819896)
Not enough information is what I have. Is the contact illegal?

Plenty of information presented -- and it's all before the contact happened.

As I read it, she dribbled three times.

Toren Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 819898)
I know shes a hottie, but just how many times are you gonna let her begin her dribble :eek:

I focused on the wrong part of OP.

After re-reading it, I'm going to need to find a rules reference. The player didn't attempt a try cause it was at the wrong basket, so the team control is there. She then caught the ball again and started another dribble. Yeah sounds like an illegal dribble.

Rules reference to come.

9-5. none of the exceptions applied. Illegal dribble

de la hoops Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:07pm

I used Case 9.5b, but it didn't stop me from doubting myself.

I could've (should've) made the call when the ball hit the backboard, I believe.

tref Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by de la hoops (Post 819906)
I used Case 9.5b, but it didn't stop me from doubting myself.

There it is, 3 dribbles just as bob stated. You guys know the drill... always listen to bob!!

Adam Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:12pm

Fundamental 19 is the key here.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 819908)
Fundamental 19 is the key here.

+1 -- and I think the same thing is in 4-Ball Location

de la hoops Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 819908)
Fundamental 19 is the key here.

So I should have stopped play when she collected the ball after the missed layup. Agree?

PG_Ref Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by de la hoops (Post 819906)
I used Case 9.5b, but it didn't stop me from doubting myself.

I could've (should've) made the call when the ball hit the backboard, I believe.

If A2 had not touched the ball again after it hit the backboard, no violation.

Adam Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by de la hoops (Post 819914)
So I should have stopped play when she collected the ball after the missed layup. Agree?

Yes, because it hit the backboard. If it only hit the rim, and she hadn't moved her pivot....

PG_Ref Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by de la hoops (Post 819914)
So I should have stopped play when she collected the ball after the missed layup. Agree?

Agree.

Toren Fri Feb 03, 2012 01:31pm

That's a tough play to get right live. Nice work.

Duffman Fri Feb 03, 2012 02:16pm

is there anywhere other than 9.5 I need to look to better understand this?

Toren Fri Feb 03, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by duffman (Post 819940)
is there anywhere other than 9.5 i need to look to better understand this?

4-4-5

Duffman Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:28pm

So am I to understand that in this situation...

A1 inboudns the ball to A2 near the corner of the end and side line. A2 under pressure attempts to pass the ball to A1 who is now standing under the basket. The ball stikes the side of the back board and comes back to A1.

A1 has now used his/her dribble?

APG Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:29pm

Yes

Raymond Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duffman (Post 819994)
So am I to understand that in this situation...

A1 inboudns the ball to A2 near the corner of the end and side line. A2 under pressure attempts to pass the ball to A1 who is now standing under the basket. The ball stikes the side of the back board and comes back to A1.

A1 has now used his/her dribble?

Think you mean A2 gets the ball back.


Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 819995)
Yes

Wouldn't A2 be able to continue his by batting the ball to the floor instead of catching it?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 820002)


Wouldn't A2 be able to continue his by batting the ball to the floor instead of catching it?

Using the language (or at least the concept) of the rule, let's change the question to " A2 throws the ball to the floor, then continues to bat the ball to the floor. Is that legal?"

I hope the answer is obvious.

Raymond Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 820003)
Using the language (or at least the concept) of the rule, let's change the question to " A2 throws the ball to the floor, then continues to bat the ball to the floor. Is that legal?"

I hope the answer is obvious.

It is and I was being rhetorical b/c APG answered 'yes' to the question of whether or not A2 had used his dribble. Whether A2 had used his dribble or was still dribbling depends on what A2 does when the ball returns to him.

APG Fri Feb 03, 2012 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 820002)
Think you mean A2 gets the ball back.




Wouldn't A2 be able to continue his by batting the ball to the floor instead of catching it?

I read that as the player catching the ball upon return. People usually don't ask if they've "used" their dribble unless they're holding the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1