The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I Was Embarrassed Last Night (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86682-i-embarrassed-last-night.html)

Adam Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 816934)
In the OP, it seems that the Coach was telling his players what to do, not talking to the officials at all...

Also, to stiffler3492 - why would this embarrass you? I get the fact that your partner screwed up, but I don't know anyone who has ever called a perfect game. Mistakes happen - deal with it and move on. If I am the one that screws up, I am embarrassed, but if it's my partner? That doesn't embarrass me at all. We will all learn from it together.

I agree, and most of us would have known. However, if, for whatever reason (loud gym), I didn't hear the "rebound" part (our ears are more tuned to hear "timeout" than "rebound" from a coach), I'd be inclined to grant the TO right away.

Smitty Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:19pm

I could be mistaken, but I believe the embarrassing part was that it was Team B's coach who was saying "Rebound. Timeout" and Team A was shooting. And the timeout was granted. Could have resulted in a cluster had the game gone a different way because of the partner's f-up.

Adam Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 816944)
I could be mistaken, but I believe the embarrassing part was that it was Team B's coach who was saying "Rebound. Timeout" and Team A was shooting. And the timeout was granted. Could have resulted in a cluster had the game gone a different way because of the partner's f-up.

I was assuming the "request" was made prior to the shooter getting the ball.

Smitty Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 816950)
I was assuming the "request" was made prior to the shooter getting the ball.

Re-reading the OP - you could be right. I'm just gonna shut up now. :o

Camron Rust Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 816944)
I could be mistaken, but I believe the embarrassing part was that it was Team B's coach who was saying "Rebound. Timeout" and Team A was shooting. And the timeout was granted. Could have resulted in a cluster had the game gone a different way because of the partner's f-up.

In the OP, he said the "request" was made before the shooter had the ball so the fact that team B got the timeout with A shooting is not an issue...A was not shooting yet. The whistle was late, but it wan't an improper time for the request to be granted.

Smitty Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 816957)
In the OP, he said the "request" was made before the shooter had the ball so the fact that team B got the timeout with A shooting is not an issue...A was not shooting yet. The whistle was late, but it wan't an improper time for the request to be granted.

OK not shutting up just yet. If that's the case, and it certainly is written that way, then this whole thread is rather pointless.

stiffler3492 Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:42pm

What I don't get is why my partner whistled when he did. The coach was saying what he was saying definitely before the shooter had the ball, and the whistle came well after the shot was released.

If the whistle comes just after the shooter receives the ball from the L, that's one thing, but to wait until the shot is in the air makes us look horrible.

Scuba_ref Thu Jan 26, 2012 03:49pm

Not Pointless
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 816957)
In the OP, he said the "request" was made before the shooter had the ball so the fact that team B got the timeout with A shooting is not an issue...A was not shooting yet. The whistle was late, but it wan't an improper time for the request to be granted.


That was a really late whistle (T hears the word Timeout - shooter receives ball - shooter takes typical 2 to 9.9 seconds and shoots the ball - T blows whistle) or some really quick thinking on the part of the T.:rolleyes:

BillyMac Thu Jan 26, 2012 05:16pm

Relevent ???
 
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;
or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)

twocentsworth Thu Jan 26, 2012 05:30pm

If i was on the floor and this scenario happened....and my partner granted the TO early...I would have simply corrected the situation by cancelling the timeout, scoring the made FT, and proceeding with the 2nd FT.

It only makes sense to correct the error that was caused by the officials in an equitable manner that is fair to both teams. Bring both coaches together, explain the problem, and tell them how you're going to resolve it using common sense....

rockyroad Thu Jan 26, 2012 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 817002)
If i was on the floor and this scenario happened....and my partner granted the TO early...I would have simply corrected the situation by cancelling the timeout, scoring the made FT, and proceeding with the 2nd FT.

It only makes sense to correct the error that was caused by the officials in an equitable manner that is fair to both teams. Bring both coaches together, explain the problem, and tell them how you're going to resolve it using common sense....

Yeah that's a nice, logical way to handle it...but it's not what the rules say. Once the TO has been granted - even erroneously - we go with the time-out.

Nevadaref Thu Jan 26, 2012 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 817012)
Yeah that's a nice, logical way to handle it...but it's not what the rules say. Once the TO has been granted - even erroneously - we go with the time-out.

Only if the coach/team was actually requesting a time-out at that moment.
See the case play posted above.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 26, 2012 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scuba_ref (Post 816963)
That was a really late whistle (T hears the word Timeout - shooter receives ball - shooter takes typical 2 to 9.9 seconds and shoots the ball - T blows whistle) or some really quick thinking on the part of the T.:rolleyes:

Agree...the specific timing aside from the order isn't conveyed.

I had a FT shooter the year who would shoot almost instantly upon receiving the ball. I've never seen someone so fast with a FT. The first couple of times, I was still well into the lane when the shot went up. :eek:

rockyroad Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 817017)
Only if the coach/team was actually requesting a time-out at that moment.
See the case play posted above.

Which he was in the OP...no need to see case play posted above.

M&M Guy Fri Jan 27, 2012 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 817094)
Which he was in the OP...no need to see case play posted above.

I'm confused, I thought the coach was talking to his players? If so, it seems like it's an easy inadvertant whistle call, the first FT counts, and we move on to the second FT, as per the case play, part (b).

I agree the coach could've worded his intentions differently, but I don't understand why some are saying the TO should still be charged. Just because the word was uttered, doesn't mean the request was being made to the official at that time. Granted, it gave the official the opportunity to make the mistake, but it still wasn't an actual request.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1