![]() |
I Was Embarrassed Last Night
Freshman Girls A/B doubleheader. Should have been an easy night, right?
It was for the most part...but my partner very nearly got us in some hot....no boiling....water. Final minute of the A game Team A up by 1. Team B fouls, A has a 1-and-1. I'm the lead, administering the free throw. Coach B is saying repeatedly to his team "Rebound, timeout". So I bounce the ball to A1, and she goes through her routine, and shoots, WHISTLE, shot goes in. I look at my partner and he's waving off the shot. I didn't see anyone in the lane early, so needless to say I was very confused. He tells everyone that Blue called timeout. He told Coach A that he thought B coach was calling a timeout, and that the request came before the shooter had received the ball from me. It still baffles me as to why he blew his whistle when he did...If I had the chance to speak freely on the floor he would have gotten an earful. It didn't sound to me like he wanted a timeout until after his girls got the rebound. LUCKILY, A1 bailed us out and made the first of the 1-and-1 after the timeout and made the 2nd. I say luckily because B1 hit a buzzer beater 3 to send it to overtime that otherwise would have been the game winner. Here's my questions about the situation. Should I have said uh, partner, I don't think he wanted a timeout there, ruled inadvertent whistle, counted the free throw, and proceeded with the second? OR...I know that once you grant a timeout request, the timeout must be administered, but does that apply only to cases where Team B calls timeout when they aren't in control? If that's the case, should we have counted the first free throw and resumed play with the second FT? I know, this stuff only happens during Freshman Girl's games. I was embarrassed with how the situation was handled, even though it wasn't my whistle. We're a team, and we look good or bad as a team. |
That's what the coach gets for trying to request it early.
|
You may be being too harsh on your partner. Maybe all he heard was "Timeout", not "Rebound. Timeout". If he truly did want a timeout and you didn't give it to him, he'd be livid. It doesn't seem all that embarrassing the way you told it. Like Snaqs said - he shouldn't say "Timeout" until he wants one, or if he does, he should make sure the official closest to him is aware he wants a timeout on a miss. This is more on the coach than your partner.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
For all your partner knows, the coach wanted to ice the shooter.
Yeah, he should have whistled sooner, and that's an issue, but it's not a huge issue. |
Quote:
Since players can request timeouts, the coach could have been giving instructions to his team. We should not act on an instruction like that. If I heard "rebounds, timeout", I would interpret it as the sequence of events that the coach wants, and not grant a timeout during the FT. A timeout request is not "rebound, timeout", just like it's not "foul, timeout" or "violation, timeout" or other. You could easily go with an IW and not proceed with the timeout, giving A1 her first FT. Yes, this is icing the shooter a bit, but there's not much you can do about that. |
Just noticed that it was Coach B who wanted the timeout as A1 is at the line.
Ooops. OK that one is a tad embarrassing. :o |
Quote:
Edit......oops also. B trying to get timeout. |
If I hear "timeout" at a valid time, he/she gets a timeout unless he/she clearly prefixes it with some words that make it clear that it is not a request.
If I hear "rebound, timeout", they're probably getting a timeout. If I hear, "if we get a rebound, timeout", not. |
Quote:
I've had coaches give me the "I want a timeout if we get the rebound" when I'm trail on a FT attempt, and I've granted them the timeout if, in fact, they get the rebound. Why wouldn't/shouldn't I? I did have one coach get mad at me for not granting him a timeout when I was trail near his bench and he was behind me yelling "Thirty.... Thirty..... Thirty". As I explained to him later: "Coach, I thought you were giving your team a play call. If you want a timeout, say 'timeout'". |
Quote:
|
When I'm asked for timeouts in advance, I just ask them to give a visual once they have control.
|
Quote:
Also, to stiffler3492 - why would this embarrass you? I get the fact that your partner screwed up, but I don't know anyone who has ever called a perfect game. Mistakes happen - deal with it and move on. If I am the one that screws up, I am embarrassed, but if it's my partner? That doesn't embarrass me at all. We will all learn from it together. |
Quote:
|
I could be mistaken, but I believe the embarrassing part was that it was Team B's coach who was saying "Rebound. Timeout" and Team A was shooting. And the timeout was granted. Could have resulted in a cluster had the game gone a different way because of the partner's f-up.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
What I don't get is why my partner whistled when he did. The coach was saying what he was saying definitely before the shooter had the ball, and the whistle came well after the shot was released.
If the whistle comes just after the shooter receives the ball from the L, that's one thing, but to wait until the shot is in the air makes us look horrible. |
Not Pointless
Quote:
That was a really late whistle (T hears the word Timeout - shooter receives ball - shooter takes typical 2 to 9.9 seconds and shoots the ball - T blows whistle) or some really quick thinking on the part of the T.:rolleyes: |
Relevent ???
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a) |
If i was on the floor and this scenario happened....and my partner granted the TO early...I would have simply corrected the situation by cancelling the timeout, scoring the made FT, and proceeding with the 2nd FT.
It only makes sense to correct the error that was caused by the officials in an equitable manner that is fair to both teams. Bring both coaches together, explain the problem, and tell them how you're going to resolve it using common sense.... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
See the case play posted above. |
Quote:
I had a FT shooter the year who would shoot almost instantly upon receiving the ball. I've never seen someone so fast with a FT. The first couple of times, I was still well into the lane when the shot went up. :eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I agree the coach could've worded his intentions differently, but I don't understand why some are saying the TO should still be charged. Just because the word was uttered, doesn't mean the request was being made to the official at that time. Granted, it gave the official the opportunity to make the mistake, but it still wasn't an actual request. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05am. |