The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Flagrant 1 Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86393-flagrant-1-technical-foul.html)

stiffler3492 Sun Jan 22, 2012 08:15pm

I didn't know they could call a technical after video review.

bob jenkins Sun Jan 22, 2012 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 815797)
I didn't know they could call a technical after video review.

I'm not up on all the monitor rules, especialy for NCAAM, but I think you can go to the monitor to see if it was a Flagrant 2 T. If it's not, but you then observe a contact dead-ball T, you can assess that.

zm1283 Sun Jan 22, 2012 08:37pm

I've got nothing during the dead ball.

dahoopref Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 815795)
Actually it is a "Contact dead ball foul" (4-29-3g) which is specific to this kind of play if the ball was ruled dead. That is of course if we want to play the semantics games. ;)

Peace

The "semantics" are important as to which foul to access.

A Contact Dead Ball Technical counts toward an ejection if the player picks up another Class A Tech or 2 Class B Techs.

A Flagrant 1 PF counts only toward the players allotted 5 PFs.

JRutledge Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 815815)
The "semantics" are important as to which foul to access.

A Contact Dead Ball Technical counts toward an ejection if the player picks up another Class A Tech or 2 Class B Techs.

A Flagrant 1 PF counts only toward the players allotted 5 PFs.

Yes but the action we are discussing is a Flagrant 1 equivalent the only difference it is a dead ball foul. Because it is not supposed to get called a Flagrant 1 Technical, the language as to if a foul is called is very similar. And in the rule they say, "but does not rise to the level of a Flagrant 2." Any dead ball foul in NF rules is still a Technical, no matter what you want to call it.

Peace

Camron Rust Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 815815)
The "semantics" are important as to which foul to access.

A Contact Dead Ball Technical counts toward an ejection if the player picks up another Class A Tech or 2 Class B Techs.

A Flagrant 1 PF counts only toward the players allotted 5 PFs.

What if the fouls are inaccessible?

BktBallRef Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 815789)
According to the NCAA rule book, there is no such thing as a flagrant 1 technical. There is a flagrant 1 personal foul and a Class A technical foul. Don't know why they went that way with the terminology.

I really don't givea$hit. I just went with the terminology APG posted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1